We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating exam success in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A few people from my course celebrated the end of our exams in the sun one afternoon. We all had a lovely chilled glass of wine and club sandwiches in the sun overlooking the sea which was lovely. The waitress was friendly and kept checking if we'd like more drinks (although not too invasive). So all in all delicious food, cold wine and fun sat in the sunshine with lovely views.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayMakerBmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear HolidayMakerBmth
Delighted that you had a wonderful afternoon and thank you for choosing to celebrate with us at the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel. Every day should involve a trip to the Cottonwood and a cheeky glass of vino, particularly when the suns out! We have some superb packages available during Bournemouth's Air Festival, including cocktails, BBQ's and afternoon tea. It would be lovely to see you there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Originally asked for a double room but were surprised to find that not only did we have a king-size bed but also a small single bed in the corner of the room. Very comfortable beds and room was always very warm. Bar food was excellent and portion size was ideal. Issues regards the buffet breakfast. Small cooked (what looked like new potatoes with their jackets on) were always cold despite being held in heater trays and the toaster didn't work properly. My wife put the bread through once and it simply warmed the bread but if we put it through twice, it came out near to burnt. With the jugs of various fruit juices, you don't get a separate jug of milk if you just want cereal. Instead you have to use the milk you receive with either your tea/coffee which isn't much. If there was additional milk jugs available, we were not advised.

With that small issue aside, I'll still consider it for my holiday next year. There's a good walk downhill to the sea front so if you have a large meal whilst out, you'll walk if off by walking back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms 1-4 then you don't hear the clattering or banging of what appears to be staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and would stay with us again.

In regards to your feedback on breakfast, rather than have lots of the buffet hot items being put out in the trays at once the dishes are replenished more frequently, keeping the food fresher. Perhaps the potatoes were cold because the lid to the tray had been left off for a while, we will add another burner to see if this helps. I'm unsure why there wasn't any milk out by the cereals as we do provide a separate jug for this purpose. The toaster has a variety of settings which can be adjusted quite easily; we will ensure that it is set at the correct level each morning and a notice requesting that people do not change it.

Thank you once again for your feedback, much appreciated as it helps us to constantly improve upon our guest experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel in the near future. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Great location, good food, staff very pleasant. Unfortunately the room we were given was not good at all, extremely small for a double room. The bathroom was so small superman would have had a problem changing in there, he would never have been able to turn round in there as his cape would have got caught up in the shower screen or the toilet flush and the people of Bournemouth would not be safe. Would we go back, probably not, unless we were offered a different room.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view and check out room before opening your luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor and I'm glad that you had an enjoyable stay at the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel.

We have a mixture of sized bedrooms and bathrooms at the hotel; each room is different which is very much due to the age of the building and the majority of a good size. I can appreciate that some of the bathrooms are small but I'm positive Superman would have had no problems!

I'm not sure if you called Reception and asked to move rooms but we would have tried our best to accommodate this if we are made aware, although as we move into the summer months we are extremely busy.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Loved the decor . Cerise pink and gold with flamboyant furniture. Staff welcoming. Advertised live music Friday night. This stopped at 9.00pm .. Loved the old style lift . Small and can be tricky but it added to the quirkiness of the hotel . Overall a nice break with lovely sea views

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear buzzys - delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood and I do hope that you will choose to stay with us if you are visiting the area again. You may want to subscribe to our monthly newsletter to be kept up to date with our latest events and promotions. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

my husband and I were in this hotel for 3 nights, the room was large and comfortable with a beautiful sea view but the noise from the bar downstairs let us not sleep, the curtain was very clear and thin and does not obstruct the light in the morning.
The attendance of the bar, the food and the staff are great but the breakfast lounge has no variety,and is not clean after dinner the night before leaving the carpet with food debris and walls with cobwebs.
The stairs also dirty, the elevator was very old which held my finger 2 times.
We leave the hotel at 7am and nobody was there to talk with us...Luck we paid the bill the night before..
We did not like the Hotel and we do not recommend..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenhi_roseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Many thanks for your comments and I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy all the aspects of your stay. I'm surprised that no one was there when you left at 7am as would you have been met by either the Night Porter, just finishing their shift, or the Receptionist staring their early shift. Very bizarre. We have never had complaints before about food debris on the floor in the restaurant or cobwebs but will be sure to mention it to the Head of Departments so they can spot check over the coming weeks. Thank you once again for your comments and although I am disappointed that you did not like the hotel and would not recommend us, I am confident that we do have many guests who have had enjoyable experiences and choose to stay with us again. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Me and My Partner stayed here for 1 night and were very impressed. We had this hotel on a deal and therefore had low expectations upon arrival.

The interior of this hotel is very jazzy and well kept. The room was absolutley massive, nice shower and toilet area. They were lovely.

The staff were very helpful

This hotel comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was very very large, clean and very well kept
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burg1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Many thanks for your positive comments and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope when you are planning your next trip to Bournemouth you will come and stay with us again. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just returned home yesterday from our little weekend break at The CottonWood & already planning our next trip back. My fiancé booked the Bridal Suite with a sea view for a relaxing weekend & too my surprise to also propose to me on the beach. The hotel was quirky, beautiful & everything it had promised to be. The staff were outstanding & made sure we were comfortable & happy on our stay. The staff in The Garden Restraunt were fantastic with my 2 year old daughter, nothing was too much trouble. Overall a great, little hotel bursting with character.. I fell inlove with the place. Highly recommendable & a 10/10 for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Lana M - congratulations! That's very romantic of your partner, how very lovely. 10 out of 10 for him.

We're delighted that you had a wonderful stay and one that will remain in your memories for years to come I'm sure. Perhaps you might also want to consider the Cottonwood hotel for your wedding. :-)

I see you're not local to Bournemouth so perhaps you could hire the venue exclusively which would include all 31 bedrooms and the entire hotel all to yourselves! We're fully licensed for wedding ceremonies and can seat up to 100 guests for a wedding breakfast.

We would be delighted of the opportunity to put a quote together for you, Sarah is our Wedding Planner and can be reached on 01202 405010 or events@quantumhotelgroup.co.uk if this is of interest to you.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Cottonwood in the near future.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £47 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing