We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel is in a lovely location. We visited this hotel on the hottest day of the year and the view of the sea front from our room was delightful. The room was comfortable and clean (room 34). We were bed and breakfast but decided to eat in the restaurant for our evening meal. The food was excellent, we chose the a la carte menu, the steak was superb and the presentation was first class, highly recommend. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossyBognorRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. I do hope you didn't have the joy of being stuck in the traffic on your journey home as there was such an influx of visitors into Bournemouth.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

we had a lovely one nights stay,arrived at the hotel after spotting it on booking .com.lucky for us there was a room with a sea view,greeted by a friendly lady that made our room avaiable within the hour, weather was amazing we sat on the top terrace with many other people having high tea,gorgeous and great value,with a light bit of music just perfect and relaxing..( our..room was very big and bright,and lovely furnished,in the morning we had a fantasic breakfast again with friendly smiles, there was only one small thing i could fault we brought many cocktails we found them very basic considering they were £7 each other wise a perfect night away at short notice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bromley4393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Bromley 4393
Delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for your positive feedback. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the Bars Manager to see if he can extend his collection. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Bournemouth.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Thank you to Gary Wicker the Chef of The Garden Restaurant at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel. It was a glorious sunny Sunday afternoon where we had tables set up for us on the lawn on the terrace. There were 17 of us celebrating a friends birthday. The atmosphere was lovely and relaxed, a little live music in the background, the sun shining. Then the jugs of Pimms arrrived. Perfect start. Followed by an exquisite tiered plate of afternoon tea. Lovely fresh, soft generously filled, tasty sandwiches. A perfect fruit scone, slightly crunchy on the outside and loveyl and soft on the inside, with a helping of jam and clotted cream. Followed by a slice of plum tart and a decadent rich but not too rich, piece of chocolate brownie/cake. All this with a tea or coffee. Fantastic value and beautiful setting. Thanks to all staff, who were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jennie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Jennie D - thank you so much for your feedback and we're delighted that you had such a wonderful afternoon. The Cottonwood is such a great choice of hotel to enjoy afternoon tea and the sea as your back drop. Keep us in mind if you plan to watch Bournemouth's Air Festival this year, we have some superb packages available on all four days and free live music in the evenings too.
We do hope to see you all soon.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Booked into this hotel for Red Letter special occasion stay and paid in advance for extra night and room with sea view. On arrival we were allocated room 3 on ground floor. It was to say the least "compact" and had to squeeze past chest of drawers and bed to other side of room. We were right next door to main bar and over the top of restaurant where there was entertainment on each night so subject to lot noise. From our small window the balcony from the bar was right outside so people could easily see in. The room next doors balcony was half way across our window so if we could open the window we could have a conversation with them. No privacy whatsoever. We were so disappointed we were going to book out and look else where. The young guy on reception was very helpful and moved us to their other hotel "Ocean View" next door., This is a lower grade hotel and although the room was bigger it was very tired with sticking windows, cracked sink, paper thin curtains, compulsory creaking floor boards etc but we had to make the most of it.

It was a special two day break for us but the only thing special was coming back home.

Perhaps if we had a room on another floor the experience would have been better but have stayed in far superior Premier Inns than this so wont be coming here again

Room Tip: Make sure you don't end up on ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOIHN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Joihns
Thank you for you feedback on Trip Advisor and disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I'm glad that you advised the team that you were unhappy with your room and such a shame we were unable to move you to a different floor. Unfortunately we were full that evening hence the move to the Ocean View Hotel next door. Due to the age of the building we do have a mixture of bedrooms in terms of size and shape and are unable to do anything about this. Premier Inns are often purpose built and uniform in size and shape - something you will not find at the Cottonwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I often go to Bournemouth for a mini break as it is only a 2 hour drive from our home city of Bath. We have stayed in a few different hotels in the area all of which have been very good. The Cottonwood is no exception being a a lovely hotel giving an excellent service. On our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of the reception staff who took our details (we had already booked) and guided us to our room (No.11 on the first floor). The room was a twin exactly as we had asked for, it was very clean, nicely furnished, comfortable beds and a fantastic shower unit in the en-suite room. A colour TV was provided and of course tea and coffee making facilities, and free WiFi (which worked very well). As we were using the hotel as a base we did not use the restaurant for evening meals, however, we did for the breakfasts and they were fantastic with a large variation of food and a lovely friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel as I would think one of the best in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuxorAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Luxur Adventurer
Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Bournemouth and decide to have dinner in the Garden Restaurant. We have some super offers at the moment; 2 courses and a glass of wine for £14.95 per person. You may want to join our monthly newsletter and be kept up to date with our latest events and offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I visited the Cottonwood Boutique with my girlfriend for a lunchtime drink (she works at Bournemouth Uni) and was thoroughly impressed at the effort they showed towards offering the worst customer service on the South Coast.

We should have known better to waste her hour long break when we saw a couple give up on ordering a sandwich due to there not actually being anyone behind the bar to serve them.

We gratefully took their place in queue to the empty bar and despite frequent calls for assistance, we waited a full fifteen minutes for a drink. I know, I know, we should have gone somewhere else, but when you are on an hour time limit, it really is a case of stick or bust.

When we were eventually served, we were delighted to be in the company of a waiter (he couldn't give a toss how long we had been waiting) who proceeded to behave if he was embarking on a deal that would involve doing us a favour.

It is difficult to say what this Hotel (The Bar area is how you would imagine a 19th century Parisian Brothel) like overall as we didn't stay long enough, but if the attitude towards customer service is anything to go by, it would be bloody awful.

Good luck

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Bob L
Thank you for your feedback and disappointed to learn that you did not experience good customer service. I am disappointed to learn of your experience and a little surprised as we rarely hear negative feedback our levels of customer service. I will be sure to advise our Head of Operations who will closely monitor the situation. In regards to the décor of the hotel, we get very mixed feedback on the décor, the majority of people love it, some don't. Must say I've never heard it described quite as you did.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

we loved the décor, it was so uplifting and cheery, the staff were pleasant and helpful. gemma on the bar and a delightful german lady at breakfast. we had room 19 and the towels on the bed were in the shape of swans, we loved this touch, and the last time had this was in a five star hotel. so really nice touch thank you. the room was splendid with fab sea views, we so enjoyed our short break and really look forward to a return visit. food was very good value for the quality provided. the bacon and sausages were tastyand.delicious.
our only negative was upon returning to our room at about 10pm there were other guest enjoying a drink and cigarette on the terrace underneath our windows, it wasn't the noise, but the smoke, it was coming directly up in through our windows. we are certainly not anti smoking as we have both been smokers at one time or another. but it was a warm evening and we had to close our windows as we could not sleep with the smoke coming in the window. perhaps it could be a possibility that the smokers use the grassed area below the terrace, especially in summer months when guests are more likely to leave the windows open .Another guest did also comment ,to us about the same thing.

Room Tip: book a sea view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyboo737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear baby737

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Cottonwood and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team members you mentioned. Thank you also for your feedback on the smoke coming into your room from the terrace, I will discuss your comments with our Operations Manager and see if this can be introduced.

Do keep an eye on our website for all our special deals, you may want to join our newsletter which comes out on a monthly basis and details all of our events and promotions.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Cottonwood in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 67 in Bournemouth
625 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 67 in Bournemouth
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £47 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing