We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uninspiring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Greenford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“uninspiring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

found parking very difficult as all the hotel parking spaces seemed to be taken by locals watching the friday night fireworks checked in though what felt like the back door ! reception ok friendly but the lift is like something from a horror film the room more shabby than chic, floor very uneven carpet an advert for slippers very badly stained you didnt want to walk with nothing on your feet the clear plastic chair unusable bed small average 2star would recommend sea view must be better than the view we had the chef knows how how to poach eggs the rest was below average
including the evening meal.

Room Tip: try sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    247
    139
    59
    40
See reviews for
124
360
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Apparently it means pink rose-patterned paper on the ceiling in the restaurant, a pair of quirky multi-coloured chairs in the lobby, two suits of armour, and a library with photographs of shelves full of books....but no books. Very strange. Other than that, and a preponderance of pink in the public areas, it appears to be much like any other hotel.

Well, that's not strictly true. It is unusual these days to have to struggle up some stairs with one's cases and then fight with the front door to get inside a hotel. The check-in process was easy and pleasant but the next battle was with the lift. No automatic doors here. Instead, a heavy outer door to pull open and then a heavy sliding metal grille gate to open. Must be careful not to trap my fingers, I thought. Success! First bags safely taken to our room so down the stairs for the second lot. Back into the lift where I promptly trapped my finger as the metal grille slid closed. That was the last time I used the lift.

So much for first impressions. Fortunately we had booked a sea view room which was adequately-sized, comfortable, with a decent en suite, and with splendid views across Bournemouth bay from the Isle of Wight in the east to the Purbeck hills in the west. Things were looking up.....until dinner.

It's not that there was anything very much wrong with the food, indeed the breakfasts were very good. The problem was with the table d'hote dinner menu to which we were entitled on our half board package. It seems the chef does not approve of vegetables or salads. Only one main course on the limited and unchanging menu included any vegetables other than potato. It was possible to switch to a sort of a la carte menu (but with fixed prices for two or three courses subject to surcharges for some dishes) or to ask for extra vegetables or a salad but what a performance that was. Everything came at a price. Fair enough but even the friendly foreign waiting staff did not seem to know how to calculate what the extra prices were. Add to that the fact that the table d'hote menu included a glass of wine and the a la carte didn't and confusion reigned. All rather irritating. The message for guests is probably to book B&B and then choose each evening which menu you want to go with (or eat out). You only save a pound or two each night by booking HB anyway. The message for hotel management is to rethink their dinner menus and pricing strategy!

Apart from these fairly minor irritations this is not a bad hotel and we would probably stay there again (if they will have us). The staff are friendly and helpful and the place is well kept. Like us, though, it is showing its age.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are probably worth the extra cost but noise from the bar terrace below can be a nuis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Dorsetlad
Many thanks for your feedback and pleased to learn that you would choose to stay with us again. Of course we will have you back!
Boutique is one of those words isn't it, wide open for interpretation and quite personal to each individual. As well as using it to describe our unique décor, we also use it to differentiate ourselves from other types of hotels in Bournemouth; such as the larger, impersonal and corporate hotels.
Your comments regarding the menus are much appreciated and will be discussed with the Management Team later this month.
Unfortunately the lift is not the most modern and there are no imminent plans to change this, we will however look to see if there is anything we can do to avoid fingers any other fingers being caught.
Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the Cottonwood over the coming months.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast of England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed last night 27-09-13 and booked in on the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal - we also got a free bottle of wine thrown in as we booked directly with them. The accomodation was good, the bed firm and the room was adequate in size for our stay; the only negative about the room was the bathroom had a fusty smell, though the shower was hot and powerful.

The bar, where we had a few (several) of the happy hour cocktails was excellent with the bar man being very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful in the selection of our drinks - and I must say all the staff were very friendly.

The meal was good for the value, nothing outstanding but we were more than happy with all 3 courses.

The evenings entertainment was better than expected, again nothing outstanding but very good as it was thrown in for free.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will be back again, if you want the Ritz, then pay the Ritz prices; if you want a good value honest hotel that will provide you with good service and good food then enjoy your stay at "The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel."

Room Tip: We had a top floor sea view room which we enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My partner booked a triple room for us and our 10 year old for £260 for 2 nights....not cheap! Upon arrival, check in was fine, we were shown across the car park upstairs into a room which can only be described as a hostel. Dingy, old fashioned beyond belief, brown/ khaki green old decor, hard beds, a tv you can hardly see it was so small, a depressing bathroom and a view of, well, the car park of course. My partner immediately asked to change rooms and we were shown another room in the next door hotel, same standard so we declined and decided just to stay with what we had been given .....walking back through the car park, opening the door to the rooms we were met with a horrendous smell, they were emptying the bins....below our room. The crashing of bottles and the stench was all we need to get a refund and make a quick get away. For an extra 40 per night we were lucky enough to get an amazing sea view/ balcony room at the Menzies Carlton just down the road. A world of difference. Don't stay here, it's really not worth it. Even if it was a quarter of the price I still wouldn't. ...oh and the wifi didn't work.

Room Tip: If you really must stay here Don't stay in the rooms above the bins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

A very pleasant hotel with very good staff. However a few 'quirks'.....the lift is the old fashioned gated type which, if you had cases needed two of you to load and get in with doing yourself a mischief. Our first room was a double which yes, had a double bed in but otherwise was very cramped (and looked over the car park). We upgraded to a sea view which was a bigger room and well worth the extra £20 we had to pay. I don't understand why the shower head in the bath didn't have an attachment on the wall which meant you had to hold it in one hand whilst trying to wash and the towels are the thinnest I've ever seen in a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, the extra money is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I went here to look at the hotel as a possible wedding venue. Whilst we waited for the wedding coordinator, we were offered a drink. The bar staff were very friendly and helpful. I asked if they had soya milk, and the bar lady did her upmost to find out for me, sadly they did not. Which I think they should have. The surroundings and decor of the hotel are beautiful. Lovely bright colours but all bought together with pretty accessories. The only problem was the reception area is quite dark and small.
When Sarah came to greet us, she was well presented, friendly and very helpful. We discussed what we would like for our wedding and she listened and took into consideration what we wanted, talked through everything and explained prices well and clearly. We were given a tour of the wedding rooms, to say they're beautiful is very apt. Big and well lit, and the reception room has its own bar and is bright and spacious. After our tour, we sat back down and were given a price for what we wanted for our day. It is very reasonable indeed.
Afterwards we decided to eat there, to try the food. The menu is small not to much to chose from, which I prefer as to much choice is daunting. The food was well priced, and was served quickly. It was lovely, well presented and good portion.
The view of Bournemouth beach is fantastic, and the garden out the front could do with some TLC but still decent.
We were so impressed, we have chosen to have our wedding here and am very much looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunbeamsfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex/London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great hotel, lovely interior, perfect location for the beach and in easy reach if the town and station. Could do with better wifi, blackout blinds/curtains and stand up showers (not just shower head on the taps with no hook for overhead)

Staff exceptionally welcoming and fantastic food!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy_Chelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Property: The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing