We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well run traditional hotel by the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Well run traditional hotel by the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed one night after Christmas. Had a double & twin rooms. Was upgraded to a sea view, without asking - very impressive!
On arrival reception efficient but could have been a little more welcoming.
Boutique is probably a disguise for a traditional decor! However, hotel is in very good order and very clean. Bedrooms are a reasonable size and have all the facilities - tv; tea/coffee making, with nescafe & quality tea bags. Beds & pillows very comfortable.
Bathrooms a little small, but they were certainly no smaller than some of the budget hotels! Facilities in good order and clean, although the showers lacked power.
Public rooms spacious of traditional style [1980's] but all in good order. Lounge bar overlooks the sea.
Breakfast, again, welcome could have been more outgoing - I had to say "hello" first! That aside, the staff were efficient and the quality of breakfast very good. Buffet style, full English, with a good choice. Food quality excellent.
This is an old building, so it will be quirky and floor boards will creak, but it has character, it is well run and offers good value. Will certainly return and a pleasent change from standard chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_ATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Richard

Many thanks for your constructive feedback and delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Keep an eye on our website or maybe even subscribe to our monthly newsletter to find out about our latest offers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cottonwood in 2014.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    247
    139
    59
    40
See reviews for
124
360
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Booked for Christmas day lunch with family for a party of 9, having never been to the Hotel before. I know the Cumberland, so I hoped it would be good, and we weren't disappointed. The staff worked incredibly hard to ensure everyone had good service and the food was overall very good and everyone was pleased. There was a good atmosphere and a cosy lounge for drinks before and after our meal. It definitely made a really pleasant and relaxing change for Christmas day and I liked the Boutique decor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosegoesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Rosegoesagain
Delighted that you and your party enjoyed Christmas Day at the Cottonwood. It was a lovely atmosphere wasn't it. Do keep us in mind next time you are thinking of heading out for a bite to eat, we have a wonderful menu for Valentines Day and our famous amorous afternoon tea!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

After an extensive search for the perfect hotel to have our wedding reception in we came across the Cottonwood hotel and fell in love with it instantly. We chose to go for the exclusive use option so that all of our friends could stay and share our special time right through to the next day. The wedding coordinator was very efficient and put us at ease throughout the whole process. We would like to say a special thank you to Manager Garry and Chef Gary for pulling out all of the stops for us. We were thoroughly impressed with the service that we received and for their flexibility and recommendations.
The wedding breakfast three course meal was absolutely fantastic, Gary the chef and his team are absolutely top class. We had so much positive feedback after the meal, i dont think that they will forget it for quite some time! Many of the guests said that it was truly the best wedding they had ever been to. We cant recommend this hotel to have your wedding ceremony/reception in highly enough, you will be well taken care of by all of the staff. Thank you to all of you for making our wedding so special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi Jodie
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your exclusive use wedding at the Cottonwood in October. I'm so pleased that we were able to make your dream wedding come true and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in 2014 for your anniversary dinner!
Wishing you a wonderful Christmas and New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

These friendly people made my husband (and my occasional visits) stay during his transfer to a new job very pleasant. During an emotional uncertain time, they went out of their way when he books at last minute (nature of his job) to give him the room of his choice, making him feel like he is returning home every time he checks in. Thank you! BIG value for MONEY!

Room Tip: Big open bay windows to see the ocean. Some mattresses bit soft but nothing that could put you off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Wanda
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, I'm delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us over the coming months. I do hope that we will continue to welcome you to the Cottonwood in 2014 and would like to wish you a very happy Christmas and new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We booked The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel as a mutually convenient location to meet up with some friends that we haven’t seen for a while. Our friends arrived late on Friday night but as we couldn’t get away until the Saturday morning arranged to meet up with them at midday saturday. The weekend weather was very cold.

We arrived at The Hotel at 12.00noon and tried to check in; we were told that our room wouldn’t be ready until “check-in time” which is 2.00pm, fair enough.

We returned to reception at about 2.30pm checked in, and were directed to our room which was at the rear of the hotel, across the car park and in a two storey annex over a former garage building. The room was very large with a double and two single beds and had a view overlooking the car park and road to the rear. The décor was quite shabby and the en suite bathroom was ancient and dilapidated. Prior to checking in I overheard a staff member telling a colleague that that heating was now off and wouldn’t come on again until 4.00pm so the coldness of the room didn’t bother me.

During checking in we were advised to book a table in the restaurant if we wanted to eat in the hotel, after consulting with our friends we decided to book a table but were told that as the restaurant had many prior bookings our table could not be assured. After some deliberation a staff member came to us to advise that a table would be available for 7.30.

We returned to our room at 6.00 to freshen up prior to eating and found our room to be freezing cold, It had only one very small radiator that was luke warm, I called reception to report our disappointment and asked for some supplementary heating and was told that they would see if something could be found. After about half an house someone arrived with a fan heater and the offer of a warmer room in the adjoining Ocean View Hotel, We declined the offer as we were staying at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel to be with our friends and had unpacked and didn’t want the disruption of relocating.

The restaurant was very quiet so the inquest over whether we could be accommodated is a mystery. Some of the meal was cold when first served but having put this right the meal was quite nice. Although the menu is limited and the daily special didn’t quite turn out as described. The service was indifferent and we had to remind the waiter that we waiting for his attention on several occasions.

On returning to our room it was still very cold despite using the fan heater. We used the duvets from the unused beds as extra covers for our double bed and this kept us warn during the night.

Breakfast was a buffet arrangement and was very good.

We won’t be returning to the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel. The reception and bar staff were excellent, the restaurant staff mediocre, but the hotel bedroom that we had and in particular the en suite bathroom was long overdue for a serious makeover and heating upgrade.

Room Tip: If you chose to stay here be sure to ask for a warm room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagpuss62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have just stayed at this hotel, what a wonderful experience. Lovely, helpful and friendly staff. Room was spotless and we had a wonderful nights sleep. Food in the restaurant was excellent, especially the scallops with sweet potato puree. We will definitely be back another time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My partner and I booked to stay here for three nights last week. As we have stayed here before a couple of times, we thought we would not look anywhere else as we have had a lovely stay previously. On the booking form I asked for a room on the second floor as the floors are very creaky, I appreciate this is an old building, I also put on that if possible a room at the front of the hotel, I had a call the day before from the hotel saying if I wanted a sea view I would have to pay a supplement of £15.00 per night. When I stayed previously we had a sea view room for no extra charge, room 31 so I declined the upgrade. So on arrival, we was greeted by the receptionist, her uniform left nothing to the imagination, as her breast area was on show only being covered by a flimsy t shirt material. Maybe appropriate for a night out but not for greeting customers. I was still hoping for a room on the second floor, but alas no was given Room 4, I must say it was a huge room with a queen size bed, small table and chairs, a wardrobe and a single bed. The room and separate bathroom were spotlessly clean. The only downsize is that there wasn't a proper shower, I had to bath every morning, which having a dialysis fistula in my arm found it difficult to manoeuvre in and out of a high sided bath. The room we noticed was very cold, the radiator was luke warm, we were above a storage room and people was in and out and shouting quite loudly and slamming doors at 1am in the morning and it started again around 6 am in the morning. Also not sure if we were by the kitchen as there was some kind of fan which continually on all through the day and night, never went off at all. The breakfast staff was amazing, food as always excellent.
Will have to seriously think about staying here again.

Room Tip: Do not have room 4 very cold and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear EmmaCSmith
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at the Cottonwood and for your mixed comments. All aspects of your feedback will be investigated and we hope to be able to improve upon most, if not all of your comments.
To guarantee sea view rooms we do charge a supplement; however if we have the availability we will always try to upgrade our guests on a complimentary basis. It seems like that the first time your stayed with us we had the availability to upgrade you free of charge, however this last time it would seem that we were almost full hence the need to pay a supplement if you wanted a guarantee of a sea view.
I'm delighted that you once again enjoyed breakfast and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to once again welcome you back to the Cottonwood.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Property: The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing