We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A different experience”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Went for sunday lunch ans found the unexpected bonus of live music. The meal was excellent allthough the portions were very small, the ambience and musice were both first class. The bill was also very reasonable, will definately be back

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    253
    142
    59
    40
See reviews for
130
372
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed overnight at the Cottonwood whilst in the area visiting friends. We booked a sea view room which was very large and spacious. Compared to the rooms shown on the website our room was very bland - plain emulsion walls, no "boutique" decor etc. The bathroom was basic too with small, rough towels. The wi-fi did not work. When I asked for peppermint tea I was told the hotel did not have it. On the plus side, the breakfast was good and so was the view from our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine50C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Due to storm damage to its sister hotel, our party were upgraded to the Cottonwood - Although the rooms are basic and somewhat small, they are clean. Our breakfast was very good (Our 2 year old Granddaughter loved it) and the staff friendly and helpful. The Saturday night saw the hotel busy with live music and a murder mystery dinner. The weekend stay was very good value.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the ancient lift, which is somewhat noisy.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We went to the cottonwood with our children for their wine and dine evening meal.
I can honestly say the food at this hotel is fantastic and such great value for money.
You can have one/two or three courses up to you £18.95 for 3 is great value for money they could double the price and still be worth it high standard of food. We have been on numerous occasion and each time excellent standard.
Great location and views of bournemouth cliff. And the beautiful deco in the hotel is boutique luxury.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Joannaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Well, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

stayed at the cottonwood on 3rd Jan for three nights,stayed in room 32,lovely sea view,room spacious and clean nice large bath,a good hearty breakfast staff helpful,just love the ambiance of the bar and library,will deffo be back in a couple of months,just hope weather picks up ,well done Cottonwood..........n.frampton.

Room Tip: room 32 ,sea view,2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Nigel
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood, we'll look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel over the coming months. Bournemouth has some exciting festivals coming up this summer, with the Wheels Festival at the end of May and the Air Festival in August. Our location is superb if you want to experience these events to the full. Keep an eye on our website for more information.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We treated our daughter and son in law to a night at Cottonwood with us. First impressions were delightful, the décor is lovely. We were given a sea view room which was lovely, clean and comfortable. We had a very nice lunch in the bar and a walk along the nearby beach. We booked an evening meal at Cottonwood and everything was well at that point. Then things went down hill. We had 1 packet of biscuits between us (2 biscuits) and we needed more milk. I asked on reception, we were given more milk but told they do not replenish the biscuits and I could not have any even when I offered to pay because they were in the store cupboard. The chap had no idea who was providing the entertainment for the evening when asked and the Wi-Fi did not work. Our evening meal however was superb we could not fault it, it was delicious. On returning to our room our entire stay was to be ruined. The people above us were continually walking around treading on every creaky floor board, we could hear them talking coughing and banging about. It was relentless, the chap got in bed then up again to the toilet so many times we lost count, we were worn out, 2am things finally eased and the toilet visits lessoned but did not stop. A good sleep in a nice room to me is the main part of the stay if not the whole experience is ruined. We did not ask to move and were told on checkout we could not have moved anyway. The only explanation for our horrific night was "its an old building" This is not a good enough reason. The problem could be addressed with sound proofing and the floorboards replaced. We do not agree the Hotel is 4 star for several reasons, there was no shower cap, only enough shower gel and shampoo for one bath/shower, 1 packet of biscuits no WI FI, the radiators were not warm enough and the windows very draughty. All this on top of no sleep = 3 STAR. Since returning home I have seen no end of the same complaints about the sleepless nights on reviews, I only wish I had seen them before I booked!

Room Tip: Definitely choose an upstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Jacquie840
Thank you for your feedback and disappointed to learn that you didn't have a good nights sleep.

We are currently testing new flooring in some of the bedrooms to see if these changes improve the squeaky floorboards; if so we hope to gradually upgrade each floor.

The request for more biscuits should have been met. We now ensure that spare biscuits are behind the Reception desk and available if a request is made.

I am however pleased to learn that you very much enjoyed breakfast, dinner, the décor and our location. If you can be tempted to come back perhaps request a top floor room and then you shouldn't have the worry of people walking about above you.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Arrived at the Cottonwood on a Friday for two nights stay with my partner after being told by phone the day before that we had been moved form The Ocean View hotel as it had storm damage and that the Cottonwood was an upgrade at no extra cost so all seemed well. Oh boy were we wrong. Arrived at hotel and were given card key for room. Room 14. Entered room and it just felt cold and damp with a lovely view of a flat roof and a generator which was lovely and loud. We made a cuppa and the water was orange when put in kettle. Went to go and complain and fair enough we were moved to front of hotel. room was smaller but felt so much better. Room 20. Bathroom was very small though and you could just about reverse onto toilet and if you wanted, brush your teeth at same time. Sink and toilet were really that close. Shower was spotless but nowhere to put your toiletries in there ie no shelf. Décor was real 1970's as was most of hotel.. A very ahem lovely pink. Yes it was cheapish but wouldn't stay there again

Room Tip: Avoid room 14 like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilergsxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear DorisH100
Delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. I do hope you will consider staying with us again when you are planning another trip to Bournemouth; perhaps a Mothers Day treat or a long weekend break this summer? You might want to sign up to our monthly newsletter to find out more about our special offers and upcoming events.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#10 of 66 in Bournemouth
741 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Property: The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing