We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea to die for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Lovely afternoon tea with my mum today! An amazing array of sandwiches, scones and cakes! Blooming lovely! We could not eat it all and our lovely waiter boxes up the leftovers for daddy! Will definately be back again soon and recommend to my friends and family!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyinred123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Went for sunday lunch ans found the unexpected bonus of live music. The meal was excellent allthough the portions were very small, the ambience and musice were both first class. The bill was also very reasonable, will definately be back

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalymnosPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed overnight at the Cottonwood whilst in the area visiting friends. We booked a sea view room which was very large and spacious. Compared to the rooms shown on the website our room was very bland - plain emulsion walls, no "boutique" decor etc. The bathroom was basic too with small, rough towels. The wi-fi did not work. When I asked for peppermint tea I was told the hotel did not have it. On the plus side, the breakfast was good and so was the view from our room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine50C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Due to storm damage to its sister hotel, our party were upgraded to the Cottonwood - Although the rooms are basic and somewhat small, they are clean. Our breakfast was very good (Our 2 year old Granddaughter loved it) and the staff friendly and helpful. The Saturday night saw the hotel busy with live music and a murder mystery dinner. The weekend stay was very good value.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the ancient lift, which is somewhat noisy.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We went to the cottonwood with our children for their wine and dine evening meal.
I can honestly say the food at this hotel is fantastic and such great value for money.
You can have one/two or three courses up to you £18.95 for 3 is great value for money they could double the price and still be worth it high standard of food. We have been on numerous occasion and each time excellent standard.
Great location and views of bournemouth cliff. And the beautiful deco in the hotel is boutique luxury.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Joannaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

stayed at the cottonwood on 3rd Jan for three nights,stayed in room 32,lovely sea view,room spacious and clean nice large bath,a good hearty breakfast staff helpful,just love the ambiance of the bar and library,will deffo be back in a couple of months,just hope weather picks up ,well done Cottonwood..........n.frampton.

Room Tip: room 32 ,sea view,2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Nigel
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood, we'll look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel over the coming months. Bournemouth has some exciting festivals coming up this summer, with the Wheels Festival at the end of May and the Air Festival in August. Our location is superb if you want to experience these events to the full. Keep an eye on our website for more information.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We treated our daughter and son in law to a night at Cottonwood with us. First impressions were delightful, the décor is lovely. We were given a sea view room which was lovely, clean and comfortable. We had a very nice lunch in the bar and a walk along the nearby beach. We booked an evening meal at Cottonwood and everything was well at that point. Then things went down hill. We had 1 packet of biscuits between us (2 biscuits) and we needed more milk. I asked on reception, we were given more milk but told they do not replenish the biscuits and I could not have any even when I offered to pay because they were in the store cupboard. The chap had no idea who was providing the entertainment for the evening when asked and the Wi-Fi did not work. Our evening meal however was superb we could not fault it, it was delicious. On returning to our room our entire stay was to be ruined. The people above us were continually walking around treading on every creaky floor board, we could hear them talking coughing and banging about. It was relentless, the chap got in bed then up again to the toilet so many times we lost count, we were worn out, 2am things finally eased and the toilet visits lessoned but did not stop. A good sleep in a nice room to me is the main part of the stay if not the whole experience is ruined. We did not ask to move and were told on checkout we could not have moved anyway. The only explanation for our horrific night was "its an old building" This is not a good enough reason. The problem could be addressed with sound proofing and the floorboards replaced. We do not agree the Hotel is 4 star for several reasons, there was no shower cap, only enough shower gel and shampoo for one bath/shower, 1 packet of biscuits no WI FI, the radiators were not warm enough and the windows very draughty. All this on top of no sleep = 3 STAR. Since returning home I have seen no end of the same complaints about the sleepless nights on reviews, I only wish I had seen them before I booked!

Room Tip: Definitely choose an upstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Jacquie840
Thank you for your feedback and disappointed to learn that you didn't have a good nights sleep.

We are currently testing new flooring in some of the bedrooms to see if these changes improve the squeaky floorboards; if so we hope to gradually upgrade each floor.

The request for more biscuits should have been met. We now ensure that spare biscuits are behind the Reception desk and available if a request is made.

I am however pleased to learn that you very much enjoyed breakfast, dinner, the décor and our location. If you can be tempted to come back perhaps request a top floor room and then you shouldn't have the worry of people walking about above you.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £45 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing