We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic hotel, food and staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked our mums surprise 60th meal here and from start to finish the service we received was outstanding..
They helped us keep it a secret and helped set up the perfect evening for her..
The food was fantastic.. Everybody enjoyed their meal.. Some said it was one of the best meals they have ever had..
The staff were incredibly helpful and nothing was to much of a problem..
The hotel looks great in it's trendy vintage chic look..
Great location.. Great hotel.. Great staff.. Great food..
What more could you want???
Amazing!!
Highly recommend this hotel to all.. FANTASTIC!! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Delighted to learn that your Mums birthday all went to plan, so pleased that you all had a wonderful time and it was kept a secret. She must have been overwhelmed.

We look forward to welcoming you all be back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

The lack of colour on the dinner plates left a lot to be desired the 2 vegetables served were both pale in colour and the meat was on the plate covering the 2 measly potatoes that you got had to ask for extra gravy and for the horseradish sauce for the beef, service is adequate but I would of expected better from a hotel like this.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle7416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding Mothers Day lunch and we're disappointed to learn that you didn't find your meal up to standard. I am a little surprised as we didn't have any other complaints but of course our Chef has been made aware of your comments.

We've just launched our new menu do perhaps you could be tempted to give us another go? Should you wish to book a table please contact me directly and I will personally oversee your booking.

Best wishes
Jo Pow
01202 553183

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just got back from a 2 day break at the Cottonwood. Lovely relaxing stay. Staff very helpful and pleasant , drinks reasonably priced with a 2 for 1 on most cocktails served from 4 till 7. Rooms clean and bright cleaned on both days of stay. Nice breakfast. Comfortable bar area with outside decking. Close to bournemouth pier with loads of places to eat (15 mins stroll). On site beautician Definitely value for money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAB105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood and would return.

You may want to sign up to our newsletter to receive all our latest offers and local events on in Bournemouth. There are some great events on throughout the summer so well worth a visit.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I booked this hotel for my boyfriends 40th birthday weekend and was called by the manager the night before our stay to advise the boiler had broken and decided to go ahead and stay as I'd chosen the hotel because of its reviews and lovely boutique decor.
We found the hotel easily using sat nav.
We stayed in room 20 which was very modern and spacious. Room and bathroom was very clean and was cleaned both days we were there. The bathroom had a shower cubicle which was a surprise as the website said the rooms had baths but showers are my preference!
The sea view was barely obscured by the scaffolding an this was being taken down as we were leaving.
I'd ordered the romantic package so had wine, handmade chocs and flowers in the room on arrival and this was a great touch.
The food at this hotel is outstanding!
Service in the bar area was a little slow but this didn't bother us at all. The barmaid was very friendly and went out of her way to ensure everyone was happy.
A few could be overheard moaning about the service and the lack of hot water and I understand this is disappointing but we're more the type to make the most of what you have so this became a little boring to listen to after they told the same story to anyone that would listen!
We loved our stay at this hotel. It's 10-15minute walk to the pier and is a few minutes from slopes down to the beach.
The decor is fantastic and just like in the pics. We will be returning to this hotel later in the year. Thank you cottonwood :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmal02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your positive comments and I'm really pleased to learn that despite the boiler problems you still had a lovely stay.
Bournemouth has some exciting events coming up over the summer months so a great time to visit; the Wheels Festival 24-26 May and Air Festival 28-31 August. Do keep us in mind as we are ideally located for both events, with a prime position on the East Cliff.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I went for dinner with my parents, sat out on the balcony enjoying the sun. Really enjoyable food, service a little slow at times and they could do with putting on another member of staff but due to the setting and surroundings it doesn't matter. Child friendly and good food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeyjane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and delighted that you enjoyed your lunch. We are rather spoilt with the views aren't we, roll on the sunny weather and more alfresco dining.

Valuable feedback regarding the staffing and this will be addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Cottonwood in the near future.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a weekend away months ago for my wifes birthday, based on the the quirky decor and the then good reviews and the promise of a sea view. On arrival we struggled initially to find it as the building was covered in scaffolding. When we checked in we were told there was an issue with the boiler the night before but a temporary fix was done and all should be ok. As we entered the room I tripped on the ill fitted carpet that also lookes so dirty my wife refused to take off her shoes, the promised see view was ruined by scaffolding, and the bathroom looked like it had been thrown together by an apprentice bathroom fitter on his first day of training. Nevertheless we decided to press on and try not start our weekend on a low. Had lunch which was actually nice but the decor in the bar and dining area was shabby and didn't live up to the pictures on the website. Stayed the night in the very small bed that was so soft it was like a pile of blamange to find no hot water in the morning. The hotel gave us no warning to the fact. Checked out after a full refund after refusing to take their initial offer of an insulting 20% discount. Realised after reading more recent reviews the boiler issue has been going on since the beginning of march. Although the day to day staff were friendly and helpful the top dogs behind the scenes are obviously robbing, deceitful and moral less fat pocketed idiots who think they can run a hotel in this manor. I hope they dont get away with it for to much longer. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your current stay at the Cottonwood Boutique.
I am really sorry about the poor experience that you have had during your stay especially as it was for such a special occasion.
I would like to assure you that our guests’ comfort is our priority and whilst we always do our best to ensure that our Hotel and Team exceeds guest’s expectations, some incidents are out of our hands and we must rely on 3rd party companies to help us in rectifying the situation. The scaffolding (which is now being taken down) was erected at our Hotels (as many others in the area) having been badly affected by the severe weather this winter. It was our intention to have it all done immediately after the damage happened but was hampered by the weather as well as a long waiting time for any companies to become available for the repairs. The time scale of painting works were additionally extended by strong winds which made it dangerous for workers to carry out their tasks for few days which extended the repairs to much longer period of time. With regards to boilers we did indeed have a few issues with a boiler at the beginning of the month which was rectified, although when you have arrived at the Hotel we were very unfortunate that we had a separate issue with the hot water boiler. Unfortunately we were only able to give as much information as we were given by the maintenance company working on the boilers and rely on them to give us reliable answers. The Hotel has been closed to the public for a few as the new boiler is being fitted today and therefore we should not experience any of these issues in the future.
I completely understand that you feel very disappointed although I can assure you that this was just a very unfortunate coincidence and our Management was working very hard to rectify the situation as quickly as it was physically possible. I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you to our Hotels in the future and restore your faith in our hospitality and value,

Kind Regards,

Anna Szczudlo
Group Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went here for a special family meal in the garden room. The starter was inedible and the main course cold and poor quality. There was a singer in the room who couldn't sing would have been much better if there was just music playing, Extremelly slow service wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NJC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £47 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing