We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

A great hotel, in a perfect location overlooking the sea. The beach is only a 10 minute walk away, with the pier and the main attractions a short stroll along the sea front.

The hotel itself has everything you could want, for a reasonable price. We stayed in the family room, which has more than enough space for a family of four. There is a decent choice for breakfast and the bar is well stocked for the evening. The freely available wifi throughout the hotel was also a welcome touch.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank K771114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood. Such a lovely spot isn't it and wonderful views. Definitely worth upgrading to a sea view if you have the opportunity.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    246
    138
    59
    39
See reviews for
124
359
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, from Colin in the dinning hall to the very helpful barstaff, nothing was too much trouble, and it was good to see everyone with a smile, food very tasty, would definitely go back again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DW1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood.

We get many positive comments about our members of staff and are proud to have a team who care about their guests and are committed to exceeding their expectations. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to in the near future.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOURNEMOUTH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Visited the cottonwood with a group of clients as they were looking for a new venue for a number of functions for during the year. The staff and service was excellant and as their new menu had just been launched their was plenty to choose from. As it was a friday night there was also live music which was a added bonus. Well worth a visit we will all be back again very soon.

Room Tip: did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DERLBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and I'm delighted to learn that you all had a wonderful time. We would be delighted of the opportunity to welcome you back and with our range of functions rooms I'm sure we should be able to help you with the majority of your meeting requirements.

The Events Team can be contacted directly on 01202 405010 should you need any further assistance.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just got home after a weekend stay at The Cottonwood although we had a nice stay and the staff were pleasant the only down side was room the double room we stayed in was very small, the bed took up most of the room, you couldn`t wander around the room we had to wait while one of us passed the bed then you could pass ! there wasn`t a dressing table or chair so you had to stand while drying your hair and applying your make-up, the bathroom was small and cramped there wasn`t enough room to stand and dry yourself you had to stand in the small walk way to do that. The overall size of the room is for single occupancy only if you do stay here avoid room 12.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay. I'm disappointed to hear that you weren't happy with you room but admittedly it is a small double room. Unfortunately we were full when you stayed otherwise we would have tried to allocate you a different room, unfortunately there was no opportunity to do this.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Cottonwood on your next visit to Bournemouth.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the cottonwood for a bite to eat on a Sunday afternoon with my mum and boyfriend. The hotel is really different, I like the way it's been decorated. It was a nice day so we sat outside on the terrace which is a real sun spot and has a view of the sea, we had a light lunch which was tasty and reasonably priced. Would visit again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dorsetcamper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Really pleased you enjoyed your lunch at the Cottonwood, did you also get to enjoy the live music?

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked our mums surprise 60th meal here and from start to finish the service we received was outstanding..
They helped us keep it a secret and helped set up the perfect evening for her..
The food was fantastic.. Everybody enjoyed their meal.. Some said it was one of the best meals they have ever had..
The staff were incredibly helpful and nothing was to much of a problem..
The hotel looks great in it's trendy vintage chic look..
Great location.. Great hotel.. Great staff.. Great food..
What more could you want???
Amazing!!
Highly recommend this hotel to all.. FANTASTIC!! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Delighted to learn that your Mums birthday all went to plan, so pleased that you all had a wonderful time and it was kept a secret. She must have been overwhelmed.

We look forward to welcoming you all be back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The lack of colour on the dinner plates left a lot to be desired the 2 vegetables served were both pale in colour and the meat was on the plate covering the 2 measly potatoes that you got had to ask for extra gravy and for the horseradish sauce for the beef, service is adequate but I would of expected better from a hotel like this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle7416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding Mothers Day lunch and we're disappointed to learn that you didn't find your meal up to standard. I am a little surprised as we didn't have any other complaints but of course our Chef has been made aware of your comments.

We've just launched our new menu do perhaps you could be tempted to give us another go? Should you wish to book a table please contact me directly and I will personally oversee your booking.

Best wishes
Jo Pow
01202 553183
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Property: The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Booking.com so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing