We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by the Boutique label!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the Boutique label!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Drawn in by the Boutique Hotel labelling and fond memories of some lovely Boutique Hotels in London I thought it seemed amazing value at £50 for the night.

The only thing remotely Boutique is the owners attempt to spruce it up with some very garish colour schemes and wallpaper? and even wallpaper on the ceiling. What the hell the two suits of armour were about by the main reception I really don't know

The room was very small and surprisingly dated.

I must say I did enjoy the food from the after 9pm snack menu in the bar as the chef stopped cooking at 8.55? Nachos and BBQ Chicken Wings were very good. The Latvian Barman was good and attentive to keep the beers coming.

Breakfast in the morning was of a reasonable standard and on a help yourself buffet basis.

If you want a Boutique Hotel then I am sorry but this not for you. If you want a Hotel that is very good value at £50 per night then this might just be the one.

Could be a very nice hotel but it needs to decide what it wants to be?

Room Tip: Front rooms do offer a Sea View. Size of rooms is not too big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rushyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    247
    138
    59
    40
See reviews for
124
359
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baldock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this via Superbreaks for Easter break and my birthday ,reviews were favourable and photos appealing...requested double rm and sea view. When we arrived receptionist said the room would be a twin with sea view. We advised we wanted a double and if that meant no seaview was fine. She said we should have read small print and was adamant that no doubles were available. We were very unhappy and told to wait in bar then after few minutes were told a room was available! That isn't service we have been used to and marred the beginning of our break. Breakfast table following morning wasn't big enough for 2 people plus they seemed bemused that we asked if there was any skimmed milk and had to ask the chef(it was a no). Next morning was even worse as it was lovely weather we asked if we could take our breakfast outside and were told categorically no as they don't serve outside even though it was self service..we said were other people outside already and the woman then said yes yo can go in a rude manner..we walked outside and another woman came and told us we had to bring in our used plates! There is more but I don't have time or inclination to expand further suffice to say we won't be returning to the Cottonwood again..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SteffiBuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The view is fantastic, the staff are friendly and helpful apart from the duty manager 15/04/14, who was rude and argumentative when we said that we had been unable to have our preferred bottle of wine or cocktails as it had been sunny!! No I'm not joking he blamed the sunshine! We could not sit by the window as they had no clean table clothes!I could not have a decaff coffee as they had run out although I suspect it is not offered.
It is a shame that the hard-working staff are not supported by management.It is not enough to have a lovely view.

Room Tip: Take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanW52_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

A great hotel, in a perfect location overlooking the sea. The beach is only a 10 minute walk away, with the pier and the main attractions a short stroll along the sea front.

The hotel itself has everything you could want, for a reasonable price. We stayed in the family room, which has more than enough space for a family of four. There is a decent choice for breakfast and the bar is well stocked for the evening. The freely available wifi throughout the hotel was also a welcome touch.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank K771114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood. Such a lovely spot isn't it and wonderful views. Definitely worth upgrading to a sea view if you have the opportunity.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, from Colin in the dinning hall to the very helpful barstaff, nothing was too much trouble, and it was good to see everyone with a smile, food very tasty, would definitely go back again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DW1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood.

We get many positive comments about our members of staff and are proud to have a team who care about their guests and are committed to exceeding their expectations. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to in the near future.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOURNEMOUTH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Visited the cottonwood with a group of clients as they were looking for a new venue for a number of functions for during the year. The staff and service was excellant and as their new menu had just been launched their was plenty to choose from. As it was a friday night there was also live music which was a added bonus. Well worth a visit we will all be back again very soon.

Room Tip: did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DERLBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and I'm delighted to learn that you all had a wonderful time. We would be delighted of the opportunity to welcome you back and with our range of functions rooms I'm sure we should be able to help you with the majority of your meeting requirements.

The Events Team can be contacted directly on 01202 405010 should you need any further assistance.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just got home after a weekend stay at The Cottonwood although we had a nice stay and the staff were pleasant the only down side was room the double room we stayed in was very small, the bed took up most of the room, you couldn`t wander around the room we had to wait while one of us passed the bed then you could pass ! there wasn`t a dressing table or chair so you had to stand while drying your hair and applying your make-up, the bathroom was small and cramped there wasn`t enough room to stand and dry yourself you had to stand in the small walk way to do that. The overall size of the room is for single occupancy only if you do stay here avoid room 12.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay. I'm disappointed to hear that you weren't happy with you room but admittedly it is a small double room. Unfortunately we were full when you stayed otherwise we would have tried to allocate you a different room, unfortunately there was no opportunity to do this.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Cottonwood on your next visit to Bournemouth.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Property: The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing