We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not outstanding”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, they were accomodating when we wanted to check in early, and come and go as we pleased.
The room itself, whilst nice (and a lovely view over the cliffs), was a twin room although we had requested a double. Otherwise it was clean, well decorated/maintained, nice bathroom (although shower could be better!). A breakfast buffet was included- nice food and plenty of choice, no complaints there.
Overall a nice hotel and we would stay again, although nothing made this hotel particularly stand out over the many others in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Specify double/twin! Sea view from the front is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ell3n_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    256
    147
    62
    41
See reviews for
132
380
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Having enjoyed our stay at this hotel a year ago we decided to return for another girly catch up. It is just the place for such a thing & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay again! We ate in the bar on the first evening & the chef was happy to cook for us despite our late arrival which meant placing our order at 21.10. The live music was very good too (on 25th). Breakfast was great - especially the sausages & potatoes & we were able to sit at a table for two by the window each day. It was particularly windy overnight & obviously the hotel is at the mercy of the elements. However, I did report at check out that there seemed to be something unsecured on the roof above room 31- it banged in the wind all night long. However, that is my only grumble & hopefully this will be attended to promptly now it has been brought to their notice & not affect anyone else's stay. Well done Cottonwood - we will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My partner and I were double charged for a round of drinks at the bar. My partner paid cash for the round and I was also charged via the bill. I called the hotel on my return home and spoke to the Duty Manager on several occasions. He assured me that he would check the bar camera and get back to me. Unfortunately he has not come back to me even after promising to do so. This could all be entirely innocent. Alternatively, it does need to looked at, in case customers are being taken advantage of....you would think that the hotel would want this cleared up but it does not appear that they are too bothered. Take care....

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Drawn in by the Boutique Hotel labelling and fond memories of some lovely Boutique Hotels in London I thought it seemed amazing value at £50 for the night.

The only thing remotely Boutique is the owners attempt to spruce it up with some very garish colour schemes and wallpaper? and even wallpaper on the ceiling. What the hell the two suits of armour were about by the main reception I really don't know

The room was very small and surprisingly dated.

I must say I did enjoy the food from the after 9pm snack menu in the bar as the chef stopped cooking at 8.55? Nachos and BBQ Chicken Wings were very good. The Latvian Barman was good and attentive to keep the beers coming.

Breakfast in the morning was of a reasonable standard and on a help yourself buffet basis.

If you want a Boutique Hotel then I am sorry but this not for you. If you want a Hotel that is very good value at £50 per night then this might just be the one.

Could be a very nice hotel but it needs to decide what it wants to be?

Room Tip: Front rooms do offer a Sea View. Size of rooms is not too big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rushyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this via Superbreaks for Easter break and my birthday ,reviews were favourable and photos appealing...requested double rm and sea view. When we arrived receptionist said the room would be a twin with sea view. We advised we wanted a double and if that meant no seaview was fine. She said we should have read small print and was adamant that no doubles were available. We were very unhappy and told to wait in bar then after few minutes were told a room was available! That isn't service we have been used to and marred the beginning of our break. Breakfast table following morning wasn't big enough for 2 people plus they seemed bemused that we asked if there was any skimmed milk and had to ask the chef(it was a no). Next morning was even worse as it was lovely weather we asked if we could take our breakfast outside and were told categorically no as they don't serve outside even though it was self service..we said were other people outside already and the woman then said yes yo can go in a rude manner..we walked outside and another woman came and told us we had to bring in our used plates! There is more but I don't have time or inclination to expand further suffice to say we won't be returning to the Cottonwood again..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SteffiBuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The view is fantastic, the staff are friendly and helpful apart from the duty manager 15/04/14, who was rude and argumentative when we said that we had been unable to have our preferred bottle of wine or cocktails as it had been sunny!! No I'm not joking he blamed the sunshine! We could not sit by the window as they had no clean table clothes!I could not have a decaff coffee as they had run out although I suspect it is not offered.
It is a shame that the hard-working staff are not supported by management.It is not enough to have a lovely view.

Room Tip: Take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanW52_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

A great hotel, in a perfect location overlooking the sea. The beach is only a 10 minute walk away, with the pier and the main attractions a short stroll along the sea front.

The hotel itself has everything you could want, for a reasonable price. We stayed in the family room, which has more than enough space for a family of four. There is a decent choice for breakfast and the bar is well stocked for the evening. The freely available wifi throughout the hotel was also a welcome touch.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank K771114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood. Such a lovely spot isn't it and wonderful views. Definitely worth upgrading to a sea view if you have the opportunity.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Property: The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing