We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #37 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Travelled planning to stay 3 nights but cut to one lovely hotel with great public areas however I was given possibly the smallest single room I have ever had. Stuck at rear of hotel with tea tray on window ledge a small dining chair and single bed. Why someone had put a tv on a table when it could have gone on wall and freed up some space.Very stuffy could have done with a fan.
The staff are excellent especially in restaurant and bar the food was wonderful I had brunch, breakfast and evening meal all of which could not be faulted but insist on pouring you a cup of tea which was very weak and making you wait for another, why no teapot? ?
Was glad the weather was good so I spent time on terrace and in garden enjoying the sea view.
my score would have been a 5 but was let down as a lone traveller being given a basic room.
would suggest you ask for a seaview when booking

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank annielow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
There are newer reviews for The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend are staying here for 2 nights. It is a great hotel in a good location. The room is large and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and the food in the restaurant is excellent and good value. We would definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had our wedding reception at the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel on Sat June 28th 2014. We chose the hotel because of the great location and décor. We had the most amazing day, all the staff were great and helped to make our day so special. The food was fabulous and many of our guests commented on how great the food was. The hotel could not have done any more to accommodate our special day and Liz, the wedding organiser was great. 4 Star hotel with 5 star food and service..................THANK YOU. Helen and Shaun x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at the Ocean View hotel next door, and was given a 10% voucher for dinner at the Cottonwood.
This is a pleasant looking 'boutique' hotel (although we found the decor, although immaculate, was slightly pretentious)
Gorgeous food, though, and extremely well presented too. Unfortunately, we dined rather late, at a time when there seemed to be a staff changeover. The first course arrived quite quickly, seeing as it was freshly cooked, but after that, our friendly and attentive waitress disappeared. No-one enquired if everything was ok, and no-one asked if we wanted a sweet. It appeared that we, along with another couple, had simply been forgotten about. It was only when my partner got up to go and find someone, that we got any further service. Quite shocking, and spoiled what would have been a lovely meal.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sue8868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sue
Thank you for your comments and I'm glad that you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant. A real shame though that your experience was let down by the customer service.
Your feedback has been discussed with the restaurant team and should eliminate this happening in future.
I do hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Bournemouth.
Best wishes
Jo
Jo Pow
Head of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a two-night stay here, which started off with a delay to check-in which for some reason had us waiting 15 minutes in the bar (the offer of a cup of tea would have been nice!) The staff were however friendly and apologetic for the delay, and it was swiftly forgotten when we got up to our room and got a look at the lovely sea view. The room was nicely decorated, clean and tidy. The tv is a little small for usual standards these days, and the telephone didn't work, but the free wi-fi was a great bonus (though it was a bit unreliable). It was good to have a bathtub, but we missed having a proper shower affixed to the wall rather than just the shower attachment.
Our stay included dinner on the first night, which was delicious. Breakfasts were also included and were nice, though there was a bit of a misunderstanding about our order which could perhaps have been avoided if the tables had been numbered (as we witnessed a couple of other rogue orders as well).
The staff that we came into contact with were all very friendly and trying their best. In our view this positive attitude was the best thing about the hotel and our stay. There were a couple of mistakes and a bit of a lack of knowledge sometimes, but the staff were all well-meaning and tried to be helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheekyweelassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We'll be sure to address the few negative comments, most of which can easily be addressed.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next trip to Bournemouth.

Best wishes.

Jo
Jo Pow
Head of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

When planning our wedding, the easiest was the venue for the reception, where else but The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel right on the east over cliff.

The friendly staff allowed me to take the surprise wedding cake the day before so that the restaurant staff could place it on the table before we arrived.

We chose from the excellent choices on the a la carte menu, an excellent idea as there were vegetarians in the small wedding party. Speaking to all the guests afterwards each and everyone was completely satisfied with their individual choices, much better than a set meal served at other wedding venues they had been to in the past.

The meal was not hurried with ample time between courses to allow the wedding guests to socialise with one another. Our choice of wine from the bar selection gave us good quality wine to compliment the menu choices.

After the meal and the obligatory cake cutting, we all enjoyed the late afternoon outside on the veranda with views of the sea beyond the cliff top across the over cliff. Sampling the delicious range of cocktails available all of our wedding guests continued to enjoy the early evening.

One of our witnesses and her boyfriend chose to stay in the hotel, from our recommendation, as they had travelled from Jersey to be present on the day. The following morning we met up with them and the congratulated us on our choice saying they had a wonderful well appointed room with excellent sea views. We were pleased for them.

Room Tip: If you intend to come to our lovely resort, then choose the Cottonwood Boutique hotel and you won...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Colin

Thank you for your comments and I am delighted that you had a wonderful wedding at the Cottonwood.

We completely appreciate that it is your day and are more than happy to tailor each element and do everything we can to exceed your expectations. I'm glad we were able to do this for you.

Have a wonderful start to your marriage and we look forward to welcoming you back to your 1st year anniversary dinner if not before.

Best wishes.

Jo
J. Pow
Head of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for one night and had a fantastic time. The hotel was conveniently located for the beach and restaurants. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the added bonus of a stunning sea view. The food was lovely and reasonably priced. Would definitely stay again. Very greatful to Tom for all his help as well

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Debbie

Many thanks for your feedback and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

You may want to sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with all our latest promotions. You can find this on the accommodation page of our website.

Best wishes.

Jo
J.Pow
Head of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 67 in Bournemouth
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £56 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing