We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have not stayed at the Cottonwood but have eaten there on a number of occasions. Most recently in the wonderful sunny weather we have dined on the balcony with great views of the sea. The menu is good, with specials of the day and a good selection of other dishes available.

Over the last few visits we have had the tuna nicoise salad with the tuna cooked to perfection, the home made burger, liver and bacon and venison sausages all of which are very good indeed. Lighter bites include Eggs Benedict and fish finger sandwich.

Deserts are good with an excellent pineapple carpaccio.

There is live music on Fridays and Saturdays.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fkw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a week at this lovely hotel from 13th July and loved it. The room was perfectly adequate as were the facilities and the staff very friendly.

The food in the restaurant is lovely and the terrace is a relaxing place to sit and take in the beautiful views.

Our stay was helped by the glorious weather but all in all we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacksyDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nicely situated just next to the beautiful Beach of Bournemouth this hotel is a good choise if you want great views and easy access to the main attraction of the area. The room was old and the bathroom even older, but it was clean! The interieur of the hotel was apparently recently updated but made totally tasteless with Strange colors and choice of furnitures. We had a light evening meal which was okay. Breakfast limited but okay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Cottonwood Boutique hotel purely for the views and the quieter location it offers.
I would agree that the hotel is probably trying hard to boutique itself but shocking pink is more kitsch than boutique..... Style is more Dubai chic than boutique!!
Fantastic food, small but well chosen wine list and superb panoramic views helped complete an enjoyable stay... Aided by some remarkable weather!!
We recommend the hotel to others looking for well priced, accommodation in a quieter location just a short walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirKipinCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The decor didn't live up to expectation, more kitsch than boutique. The only attempt to make our sea view bedroom 'boutique' was a Perspex chair and matching bed throws. Having said that it was a large room and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful although they did attempt to clean our rooms before 9am each day. Not being particularly early rises this wasn't appreciated. The breakfast was good and it was great to have the use of pool and sun loungers at the sister hotel next door which we took full advantage of. Overall it was OK but they should market themselves more realistically.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a lovely find. Great location, good parking, very friendly and lovely staff, nice breakfast, comfy bed, pleasant surroundings, all in all they have got it right. We stayed for one night, but wished we had gone for two. We could have done with a bit more tea/coffee sachets, but I'm sure if we'd asked they would have obliged. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lucyeric2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Well what a very pleasant surprise. A last minute booking through booking.com. A big room at the rear of the hotel and very, very warm. Window open to sleep let in some of the neighbouring noises most of which quietened down by 10:00. An afternoon snack turned into a very agreeable evening meal, excellent "real" burger. Bar service was quick and efficient. Breakfast was similarly good although @ £10.95 a bit on the high side. Overall thank you Cottonwood.

Room Tip: perhaps avoid top floor in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gunnerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £46 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing