We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place to be for the air show”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed here 29th to 31st August 14 to watch air show. Chose hotel because of the good views it advertised. At no point were we told that the tables outside we're being sold to people not staying at the hotel so they could watch the air show and that residents could not use them!
The wifi in the hotel was very poor an hardly worked, shower ran hot and cold while you were under it. Hotel is advertised as recently refurbished. If that's the case I would have hated to see it before hand!
Very glad we did not book for dinner more than one night as they appear to have lost their award winning chef.
All in all the hotel is not what I expected from the description given.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Although there was nothing really wrong with the hotel, I did find it quite expensive for what it was. Staff were good, food was good (buffet breakfast was excellent) view was good. Our room was quite small though, with limited space for suitcases and unpacking, and everything seemed to squeak and creak.

Sleep quality was good and I couldn't notice any noise from other guests or from outside.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crieffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

booked with last minute.com first mistake, had to wait for an hour to get into our room due to a wedding the previous day thus late leavers, the twin bedded room with sea view (£20/night extra)
was so small you had to take turns to go to the wardrobe. the food was OK the service and staff good the decor reminded us of an Indian restaurant 8o`s style will not be returning.
,

Room Tip: see the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a very brief overnight stay here and overall the hotel was very good. If the weather had been better we may have stayed longer as the location was ideal. If I was being picky them the room could have done with a bit of tlc but the size of the room was great. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank oztraveller050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Sister hotel to the Ocean View next door.

Great afternoon teas. We highly recommend the ‘Sparkling Cream Tea, which comes with for each person; tea, round of sandwiches, scone, clotted cream, jam and cakes plus the sparkling wine – It was delicious.

The hotel also does evening meals and Sunday Roast dinner and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike888Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Have just visited this hotel. On arrival just as well we insisted on seeing rooms before payment.As 3 single ladies, who are doing research into how well hotels respond to our requests for good rooms for single occupancy.Having to pay £135 per person BB, doesn't come anywhere near expectations. We were shown dismal, damp rooms which we rejected, but then we were found better rooms, which were ok. Staff mainly very friendly and hotel and rooms clean, but alot of updating needed for those prices. I am afraid europe does much better in adapting any rooms for single people for a significant drop in the £135 price tag. Shame

Room Tip: ask to see rooms first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a great location- only a 10 minute walk along the beach into town. On site parking with a warm, friendly, professional welcome. The decor was great fun, with clean good sized rooms. The food was exceptional, all local produce and there was a great selection for breakfast and different specials every evening in the restaurant. The bar is great with brilliant cocktail barmen and 2 for 1 cocktails 5-7pm. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicHamley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
941 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £44 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing