We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect weekend”

Review of Houghton Lodge

Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool
Houghton Lodge position 
and Back Garden Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Swimming Pool
Houghton Lodge position 
and Back Garden
Lounge
Snugly after a Long cold walkies!
Candle lit evenings
Dining and open plan Kitchen
Kitchen overlooking the Garden
Kitchen
Back garden 
There is also a half acre field for the use of guests just to the right
Games Room
Houghton Lodge right of image
Bedroom 4 (en-suite)
Aqua Room 
sleeps 2
Bedroom 3 
library room 
Sleeps 2
Bedroom 5 
Little lilac room 
Sleeps 2 
Double/Twin
Bedroom 2
. The Red Room  Sleeps 2-3 with extra single , plus  bed can also become super kingsize .
Lounge
Bedroom 1 (First Floor)
en-suite
Sleeping 2-4 
On extra sofa bed , suitable for 2 children or 1 adul
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bournemouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
W L
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overall a relaxing break.”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Location good and lovely pubs in the area, annoying that a few things were not explained before arrival ( ie ) wifi and I did find Lucy quite rude at times, my main problem was the booking in the first place after several messages left and emails finally I had a response.
The house and facilities are good for group bookings.
The owners do need to accept constructive criticism they are not as professional as one should be.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
I am so sorry but we do not have a record of your stay with us in 2015 ?
I think you may have the wrong house ?
It is now 2017 ?
Please by all means do contact us , we will be only too pleased to help you .
Regards Claire Donovan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xjokx
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A large group of family all gathered at Houghton Lodge for an early christmas celebration. Everyone instantly felt at home, there was plenty of space for everyone and kids never got bored. The owners had set up a beautiful Christmas Tree and laid the table all ready for our festive feast.
The area was beautiful and many of the group enjoyed some lovely walks. Garden was enclosed to keep children and dogs safe. Plenty of toilets and showers so no one had to wait. Very comfortable, very cosy and we cant wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Thank You Jo
For that lovely review .
We are so glad you all had a nice time .
It will be a Pleasure to look after you all again.
Merry Christmas xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy J
Thurnham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic house! Clean, well equipped, warm and cosy. Perfect for a family celebration or group of friends. The owners are lovely and put a great amount of effort into ensuring that guests feel welcome. I would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank You
Joy for taking the time to write your review .
Your Group were a Pleasure to serve .
We would more than Welcome you all back to stay with us x
Lucy and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the place
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank You So much To all of you for being such lovely Guests.
Glad you found the beds comfy.
Look forward to having you all to stay again.
Regards lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Borislava...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just got home from a wonderful Girlie Break at Houghton Lodge .
We were quite a Demanding party of Girls and Lucy and Matt were absolutely Brilliant and catered to our every need .
Nothing was too much trouble .
The House was spotless , as was the Pool and Hot-Tub .
The Area was Perfect for Pubs and long Walks .
And we had a Wonderful Pamper Day With the lovely Beauty Therapists .
Thank You Lucy and Matt for a Well needed Break .
See you next year xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Hello Ladies
How lovely of you all x
You were no Trouble at all , it was a Pleasure to look after you .
Look forward to your next visit .
Lucy and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnette...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“10TH Annniversary of coming!”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After trying to show our friend where we stay and expecting fantastic reviews, I was horrified and shocked to see negative reviews for this place and felt that I needed to put a few things straight. It was like the bad reviews were writing about somewhere else!

Our family has been coming to Houghton Lodge and Downview Farm every year since 2006. Infact my youngest daughters swam without armbands for the first time in the pool there, so in holds special memories.

The last time we came was in July 2016. We had a large party as it is the annual get together holiday for my family. The Mother in Law and Mothet came too so the ages in oir party were from 6-70. They all love it here. We come here because the accomadation is big enough that we are not under each others feet and small enough to be together.

The accomadation is to die for. Very "boutique". It is decorated beautifully and very well equipted. The gardens are stunning and there is plenty of parking. It is also enclosed so our children can play outside safely. There is also a fantastic bbq area, which is perfect whilst watching the sun go down over the downs.

I have never in 10 years had a problem with cleanliness. It has always been spotless and believe me I am abit OCD about these things!

The pool area is wonderful. You have your own locked entrance, so not sure what the other reviewer was talking about. It is clean and very warm (much to the delight of the MIL!)

We have always found the management to be really helpful and can't do enough for you.

I would strongly recommend Houghton Lodge and indeed I have done over 10 years. None of my friends have had any problems either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Bless You Lynnette xx
You are all like Family to Matt and myself .
A complete pleasure to serve you all x
Much Love Lucy and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisydoo1...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Setting, Fabulous House, Just A Perfect Place To Stay.”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is my second stay here, my first visit was with a large group of friends and we stayed at Down View Farm, we wanted to come back as we so enjoyed the first time but just with a couple of friends and a little bit more calmer.
The lodge is simply beautiful, clean, and homely. We just love the village as well and surrounding areas. I have no hesitation in recommending this place and the owners are so lovely and helpful, everything again was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank You
So much Daisy for taking the time to write your review .
We do appreciate your kind comments .
it makes it all worthwhile .
You were a lovely group of people again the second time.
Please do come and let us look after you again.
Regards Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing