We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out”
Review of Oceanarium

Oceanarium
Ranked #7 of 72 things to do in Bournemouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Oceanarium is the perfect all weather attraction - discover the mysterious beauty of our watery world in a spectacular underwater journey. From stunning sharks, curious rare green sea turtles and brightly coloured clownfish, to menacing piranhas, venomous lionfish and the weirdly wonderful octopus – they are all waiting to be discovered!Experience the world's first virtual Interactive Dive Cage and take a magnificent adventure without getting wet.... Then discover the interactive Global Meltdown to unveil the potential effects of climate change. Be enchanted by two very cute Oriental small clawed otters, watch them swim, splash, feed and play in their exotic, naturally themed oasis.Open daily from 10am. Closing times vary throughout the year – please check before visiting. Closed Christmas Day. Tickets valid all day with nine daily feeding presentations.Book tickets online to make great savings.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We took our 3 and five year old's here whilst we were on holiday in New Milton during the Easter holidays, we booked online to get a cheaper deal. There was a wide range of aqua life to see and lizards especially Ziggy (who the kids loved). There are a couple of activities which the children could join in with and they loved watching the two turtles being fed but the star attraction for our 6 year old was the interactive fish tank especially when the big whale appeared to consume the cage. We returned later in the day as the ticket is valid all day and they enjoyed going around the second time. All in all a good experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicolag1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    792
    453
    138
    46
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“In need of updated”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked a few days in Bournemouth, and of course it was raining! So we came here just as something to do for an afternoon, and it was okay. The whole place looked a bit grubby and in need of updating.

The feeding shows and talks were informative and fun.

Being attacked by a photographer on entrance, not so much.

It was also really busy and packed, for a week day afternoon during term time...

Apart from that the prices were average, and it was perfect to kill time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton,UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we visited and truly enjoyed ourselves although as it was half term it was a little packed with little people and we had to wait for them to have their fill before we could have a look it was never the less an enjoyable experience

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MariaBBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spooner St
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Kids enjoyed, but over too quickly”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

An Easter Day visit went well. But I'll explain why only 3/5 later.

A queue stretching out the front door into the rain was dealt with quickly by the admissions counter inside.
The fixed path around the facility was a little crowded but nothing ridiculous.
Nothing really stood out as showstopping in terms of exhibits. The turtles/sharks/fish centrepiece was ok but small. The rays gliding around the edges of the tank near the end was pretty cool.

Everything appeared clean which was positive. The only oddity was what looked like a dying mouldy fish gawping at the bottom of the turtle pool. Very bizarre to watch!

Why only 3/5?

Too short an experience which did not justify the expense.

Helpful?
Thank TAMember06062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice to go to with the kids”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Small and fairly pricey but fun, especially with young children. The animals are well kept and happy. The underwater tube that puts you in amongst the big fish including sharks is inspirational, and the otter pen is wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LordOfMerlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oceanarium also viewed

 

Been to Oceanarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing