We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fun,floating around!”

Bournemouth Balloon
Ranked #4 of 12 Tours in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good fun,floating around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Bournemouth ballon is a tethered helium balloon which gives a birds eye view of the city and the coast line from around 500 feet. It costs £12.50 for adults,Child (Aged 2 years to under 14 years) - £7.50 and free for under 2's. Bit expensive i would say for the whole affair. As always i would recommend online booking. The tickets can be purchased from the snck/ticket shop near by.
We enter the balloon along with others and a company guide. A voice commentary starts and lasts till we descend about the local sights.
The balloon do do quite a bit of swinging up in the air as per wind spped but it does feel quite stable up so we do not feeling much. The views are really quite good except for near the balloon were there was some construction going on.
Takes probably 15 minutes for the whole trip.The staff were quite nice volunteering to have your pictures taken before the ride started. Unfortunately there isn't much in terms of souvenirs except a flight certificate(!) offered in the ticket/snack/souvenir shop.
On the whole loved it except for slightly expensive tickets.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harigovind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    52
    11
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“bournemouth baloon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

It is an interesting attraction of bournemouth. Costs £12 for adults and free for chldren under 2 years. It rises to a height of 500 feet above sea level and gives a birds eye view of the bournemouth town, the sea piers and on clear days you can even see the Poole harbour. It is 15min ride and is quite safe. I enjoyed it with my 18 months old son and my wife.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank drpratap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chafford hundred
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

What a view, defo worth the price, the 'pilot' even took photos for us on my phone, very good and the views are amazing

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauldee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Up Up and Away! Such fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I really enjoyed the experience of going up in the balloon and looking at the coastline and Town from that height. I will definitely go up again when I'm in Bournemouth.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EM_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a memorable day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The weather was kind to us; hot sunshine at ground level, cool breezes 500 feet up and great views in any given direction for our high level experience in the skies of bournemouth. It was an event i would recommend to friends and family for something unusual to do.
My only grumble would be that the staff could be clearer in their language to customers at the ticket booth and generally more friendly and welcoming.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bournemouth Balloon also viewed

 

Been to Bournemouth Balloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing