We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, just watch out for the rock club next door!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant, just watch out for the rock club next door!”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here as a family of 4 (two adults two kids- 7yrs and 17months). The good bits:
The family room was huge, and I mean huge! \
-It had been recently decorated and was very clean.
-Parking is on site but £12 per day (worth it for the convenience)
-Breakfast was great for us and the kids. Lots of choice and fresh
-Go for the packed lunches if you have kids. £4 for a great kids lunch was a job well done for us.

The only down side is the street noise. I guess this is only a problem if you have a room facing the street. The hotel is very near a rock club. This is ok if you are up for a big night out but no good if you've got kids who sleep at 7pm. Even with the windows closed we could hear the music. Things got worse at last orders. Drunken shouting and a fight one night kept us awake until 2am. The hotel appear aware of this issue and I believe are trying to work towards resolving it. But be warned. Steer clear of street facing rooms if you want a decent sleep.

Despite the noise, I would recommend this hotel. It is clean, well appointed and stylish whilst being really family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmhpsychology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    652
    272
    116
    65
See reviews for
408
791
39
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We took the family to the Norfolk Royale to celebrate our Ruby Wedding. We have stayed there before and knew what to expect but they surpassed our expectations. All of the rooms are now excellent from the standard rooms, club rooms or suites. Our children and grandchildren have never been there but were overjoyed with the standard.

Room Tip: ALL rooms are excellent. I prefer farden view but some front view rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealist999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My boyfreind and i stayed in this hotel over the bank holiday weekend. Our room was lovely with a big super king bed, huge flat screen tv, spa bath and shower. The room was very clean and well maintained, there was plenty of room. We stayed on the 2nd floor and it was very peaceful at night. The food was great although a little expensive perhaps. Breakfast was great also and the hotels location is very convenient. We will be returning soon. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We made a return visit to the Norfolk Royale and were very impressed with the improved quality of the service - the staff were particularly welcoming and attentive, our room was delightful and the food excellent. It has a wonderful position in the centre of the town.

The new General Manager is certainly making an outstanding impact on the Norfolk Royale which we are sure will soon be the number one hotel in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor overlooking the garden and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeybridgeDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

excellent hotel location, less than 100 yards to all the main attractions, bars,pubs etc. good onsite parking.
stayed just one night on business and found room to be more than adequate, had a double bedded room for single occupancy on the top floor - although well appointed it was very hot (unlike the weather) and would benefit from air conditioning as had to sleep with the window open all night.
I did not realise how much traffic noise there would be and this did make for a disturbed nights sleep.
Apart from this point, the hotel was excellent, along with the room, service and breakfast.
Would recommend avoiding the top floor rooms in the summer months.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed here for one night with work, rooms were clean and comfortable, good buffet breakfast selection, secure underground car parking. Overall, this is a good hotel and in a prime location for those visiting Bournemouth and easy to get to from the railway station and main roads in/out of the town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed here with my husband and 2 year old, also staying were my parents and also my sister her husband and their 2 boys.
Firstly the location of the hotel is excellant we couldn't have asked for better, walk 100 meters and you were in the centre! The hotel itself is nice the staff are all very friendly. Our room had a big bed (2singles together) and then another single for our son, the room itself was a really good size although the floorboards left a lot to be desired! the were very creaky all over the hotel but I suppose it is one of the oldest hotels in Bournemouth!
The bathroom was lovely a good size and the Molton Brown products were just lovely!! My parents room was smaller but equally as nice. My sister had 2 interconnecting rooms, the boys room was big but her room was smaller but led on to a sort of veranda/conservatory (is the only way I can describe it!) that over looked the front of the hotel which was lovely.
Now the restaurant..........restaurant itself was quite small for the size of hotel, the staff were friendly BUT it was not run very well at all especially for a 4 star hotel! Because we were a large table we had to wait ages between courses (we were half board) which wasn't great for the kids as they got really bored. The food was very nice but the portions were inconsistent we assumed they must have had different chefs on on different nights. Breakfast was a bit of a shambles, we had to ask for tea/coffee, hot milk etc when we sat down and also they weren't that fast as replenishing the food.
All in all it was a nice hotel, fab location, although I definately think they need to find a good restaurant manager to sort out the restaurant! but we had a lovely stay anyway however I think we would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittykat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing