We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

we return to the Norfolk for a weekend for the 4th year in a row, cannot fault it at all, our room was lovely, light and tastefull decor,no flatscreen tv as mentioned in a previous review but really not an issue with us as we dont go away to stare at the googlebox 24/7. The staff are attentive and pleasantly cheerfull and the meals were lovely , we recommend the plaice the lamb and the Thai curry. Even though there were weddings in the hotel Fri and Sat night plus a hen party group there was minimal noise and still the good service from staff at what must have been a very busy time for them.As for the previous moans about the lift being slow, for goodness sake people whats the rush? I think that some just moan for moaning sake!

Room Tip: rooms at the front first floor have verandas that are little suntraps, some rooms on ground floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    668
    278
    121
    67
See reviews for
422
812
40
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I found the hotel very tired in its decor, the rooms badly needed updating . Our room was at the back of the hotel which was incredibly noisy. The service in the resturant was very slow indeed. The breakfasts were of very poor quality. I would not consider staying at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room at the back of the hotel as very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed 27/7/12 for 2 nights with our 10 year old daughter. Our room had a lump of plaster out of the wall. The blind for one of the windows did not work. The bath was too small and the curtain pelmets appeared to be made of fabric glued to MDF. The carpet was a little worn too. Our bed was ok but or daughters bed had a fold in the middle which made it very uncomfortable for her. We were in room 221 and the noise from the club/pub opposite went on into the early hours of the morning. We were also woken by the dustcarts at 5.00am ish on both mornings. The service was disjointed e.g tea for our room was requested it arrived with the most delicious shortbread biscuits but no sugar. Breakfast was a hurried affair and the bread for the toast not edible. The lobster meal was beautifully presented but slightly overcooked and not enough new potatoes. The deserts was lovely but the portions were small. My daughter enjoyed her soup but the baked potato was forgotten and although it was taken off the bill by the waitress without request it was hard and appeared to have been cooked in a microwave. The swimming pool was beautiful but too small to do any lengths. Staff looked too busy most of the time but were friendly. The towels were also hard and a bit smelly.The whole trip was overpriced and it's put me off English hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

2 adults, 3 young children. Wife lost her diamond ring - it was found by one of the staff and returned to us. We can not thank the staff enough nor the management for fostering a team of such integrity.

Highlights:
Proximity to the town centre and the excellent Lower Garden and the beach. Breakfast is of a good quality and the staff were very friendly towards our children - always a notable point in non-resort hotels.

Rooms were a good standard and well equipped although we could have done with less noise on the Richmond Hill road side of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSLAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Great location in Bournemouth a 5 minute walk away to shops and 10- 15 to beach. The room was very nice, however no air con! we asked for a fan but unfortunately none were available, until further notice. Luckily we spotted one in the corridor we were able to use! The pool is small but very warm and the jacuzzi was very hot, like a bath! There is a steam room and sauna also. The car parking is additional £12.00 on top of your room rate, which we thought was a bit steep. We order room service which you pay a £5.00 tray service. The breakfast was buffett, however they did have a menu you could order from. All in all it was a nice hotel, very good location and but quite expensive.

Room Tip: be careful of car parking charge and room service charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuttsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel with the kids. They had very nice purpose built bunk beds. They looked sturdy. The TV was an old Philips Box (no flat screen here). Tea and coffee supplied in a cupboard. Molton Brown supplied in bathroom - pleased about that as it is my favourite. Beds comfortable although my husband had a squeeky one so every time he moved we knew about it!! Traffic quite noisy outside during the night. Needed the window open to keep the room cool. Breakfast was OK. Loved the black pudding. They struggled a little keeping on top of demand with the cooked items but it was enjoyable. Only comment about breakfast room is it was hot. I know we had had a sudden change in the weather but could have done with a little more cool air. It got quite hot. The pool was disappointing. I think three strokes would have got you from end to end!! Did not bother using it even though we had taken swimmers with us. Bar area was cosy with loads of cushions on all the seats. Reception staff were pleasant. Major down was the car park. Extremely tight spaces. Drivers needed a spare space on one side to be able to get out of the car!! To leave the car park you had to negotiate a massive lump of concrete low down on the drivers side and a wall on the left. The air was blue whilst trying to leave. You have to be a very competent driver to make it out of here without scratching the car! Several people had obviously not made it!!! The wall had the scars to prove it! The location of the hotel was brilliant in the heart of the shopping and not far from the gardens and beach. If you wanted a car free holiday this would be the place.

Room Tip: You do not want to be at the front of the hotel. There is a late night bar opposite. Could be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here on Saturday, and this hotel was a real surprise. Looking at the pink exterior, patterned hall carpets, and experiencing the slowest lift I think I've ever been in, didn't prepare us for the bedrooms. This is a lovely hotel - super king beds (if not 2 queens put together), modern decor in the rooms, proper hairdryer, thick towels etc etc=,. a pool and sauna, and the tinkling of ivories in the lounge whilst you have your pre-going out drink....and it's quiet even thought it's in the centre of town. All that you would expect from a quality hotel. We even tried their summer lobster bbq special - delicious.

Down side - the senior receptionist came across as a bit of a frosty pants but I think that's just her general demeanour, and the bar and waiting staff more than made up for it. Besides which, she did crack a smile when we checked out (late)..... This hotel we like. If we go back to Bournemouth we will stay there again. Get their earlier and get up earlier in the morning so we can have a swim..... Fab.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPTall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing