We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norfolk Royale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location and nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Not entirely sure this merits a 4 star AA rating, but a pleasant hotel if a little dated. Very good location close to the main shopping area of the town. Not much parking space, but we went by train so it wasn't an issue
Good points ? Nice friendly staff and a nice big comfortable reception and bar area. Quite good value for money if you book through Trip Advisor.
Bad bits ? No air con so rooms can get hot. The TV was absolute rubbish and despite 3 complaints nothing was done. Breakfast was ok but they got our order wrong 3 times which can get annoying. Seems like a breakdown of communication between waiters and the kitchen.
Would i go there again ? Yes.

Room Tip: We had a basic double room which was decent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    630
    264
    110
    63
See reviews for
387
760
38
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

So, what made me, lover of luxurious yet minimalist modern hotels, book 3 nights at the big old rambling Duchess of a hotel, The Norfolk Royale? I was attending The Beach Polo at Sandbanks, and hotels in the area were booking up rapidly. My friend found this hotel at a bargain price on one of those booking sites online, and as she'd already booked in, I followed suit. See? The decision was made for me.

I arrived Thursday afternoon to see a big old PINK hotel. The car park is underneath the hotel, & you need to telephone reception to get the entry code. Be aware you'll need to drag your suitcase up the stairs from the car park to gain access to the hotel. If you're travelling with a partner, make sure you pick the lighter bags & leave him with the heavier ones! Why keep a dog & bark yourself eh? ;-)

The hotel itself is huge. Well, it seemed huge. I never did explore it properly. The gentleman on reception was friendly and efficient, and checked me into a third floor Deluxe room, then directed me to the elevator.

If you're not a fan of elevators, avoid this. It's all wibbly wobbly and judders about a lot. It then stops. Goes quiet. Then sinks suddenly before opening the door. It also takes about 64 days to go to the third floor so only use this if you can't face the stairs. You know how it is with these old hotels. They can't do much with the elevator speed.

The room itself was lovely (Room 319, a garden facing room). OK, well more of a room that overlooked a large tree and the corner of the swimming pool, but it's classed as overlooking the garden. There were two windows, that I kept open at all times as the room does not have air con. I chose three of the hottest days of the year to stay here, so I did suffer from the heat. The room itself was, however, a tad dark due to the tree outside blocking the light.

The room was decorated in neutrals, so a mixture of modern with a nod to the more old fashioned furniture. The lighting was poor, and as the room was dark anyway, you would need to get ready for a night out in the bathroom where there are spotlights and decent natural light. The bed was huge & comfortable, but I have a sneaking suspicion, was two beds pushed together. My body kept lying on the join. Another Princess & The Pea moment. There was a mini bar and you could also store your own items in here too. Tea and coffee making facilities were also in the room, a rather large flat screen TV, and an average amount of plug sockets (always important to know how many plug sockets are in a room.) There was also a full length mirror, a mirror over a vanity area (which was useless as the room was too dark really) and a sofa and chair. All in all, a nice spacious room.

The bathroom was long and thin and facing the front of the hotel, so had good natural light. The window latch was broken though so you couldn't open the window and keep it open. The bathroom was fairly modern, with a shower over the bath, but yet again this is another hotel that favours fabric shower curtains. Ugh. The toiletries were Molton Brown full size items.

My friend stayed on the lower floor. Her corridor suffered from rude sounding floorboards and her room was a lot smaller, yet brighter than mine. Not sure if it was deluxe or standard? But also faced the garden and had a nice modern bathroom. That was room 110.

What else can I tell you? I didn't eat here so cannot comment on the food, but we did sit outside on the last day and it's very peaceful and relaxing. Well, until the waiter comes to tell you (at 11.30am) that the table you are sitting at is reserved and he needs it at 2pm. We left shortly afterwards.

Other random facts:

The staircase is wide and the steps are shallow so easy to use. Avoid the elevator unless you really need it or have luggage, then pray for a safe elevator journey when in it.

There were no bathrobes or slippers in the deluxe room so bring your own.

My Welcome message displayed on the room TV was directed at the previous guest, Evelina Rosensrein, & my friend's welcome message was also directed at someone with a different name. Not really an issue, but doesn't seem particularly welcoming.

Apparently the hotel was a scene of a horrific murder (according to the taxi driver). I can't seem to find anything about it though, & the hotel has a lovely atmosphere.

The town shops are 2 minutes from the hotel, with the park also 2 minutes away (where there is a cute mini golf course). Perfect location. There's a Tesco Metro down the hill and to the right so you can stock up on supplies while you stay too.

To summarise, I enjoyed my stay. It's not really my style of hotel, but it was peaceful, relaxing and pretty. I think it attracts the older guest so choose here if you want a relaxing stay in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a bright room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwick
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

A lovely hotel but the restaurant is like a school canteen with hard tables and asda value range thick wine glasses. The chairs are mismatched and the staff badly trained.
The issue however was the food, a pretentious menu which is beyond the catering staff we had cold pepper soup which was ghastly and unseasoned with massive chunks and the sole main course was swimming in lime and nothing else could be tasted. The next day we kept to prawn cocktail and steak and whilst the meat was good the veg were overcooked and the oil needed changing on the chips.
Breakfast was no better the staff were unable to understand orders and got them wrong and everything was overcooked. It took 20 minutes to even get undercooked toast. They need to go buffet or get better trained staff.
So stay at the hotel but avoid the restaurant.
Also annoying that all the tables in reception offer afternoon tea but when you try to order it I was told I had to book in advance and we had walked back from the beach for it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FishingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed there on the 8th July in room 120 the room was really nice and big the floor boards need looking at squeaky in the corridors Lucy and Emma stood out the most and could not do enough for you they both work on reception went for breakfast we where greated at the door to the restaurant by a nice member off staff when we sat at our table we where asked if we wanted toast and coffee which was a good start .but when we got in there there was six people on and it took them 15 minutes to take our full English breakfast order but other then that what a brilliant hotel and worth a look up great location

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a very nice hotel to stay in if, like us, you like a bit of character with all mod cons and a convenient location. We found a deal on the hotel website which none of the staff seemed to be aware of until pointed out and which was better than other sites - just goes to prove you should always check lots of booking options. This meant we had a Delux room at the front of the hotel with a seating area on the balcony which we used a lot. In spite of concerns about being opposite a pub/restaurant, we were not disturbed at all by noise at night although we acknowledge that ours was a weekday visit so weekends may be different. The furnishings were of a high standard and the bathroom was excellent. There is a large lounge with lots of differently grouped seats, a ground floor enclosed balcony and a separate bar area. The spa and garden are great for relaxing in and we imagine that rooms in the side extension to the main building would benefit from lovely garden views. We found the choice and quality of the food at breakfast excellent and service good. However, although the majority of the dishes ordered at dinner were hot, cooked well and beautifully presented, we were a little disappointed in the choice available as this became rather repetitive. You certainly had to like fish! Fish and chips was on the menu every night plus another fish dish, one meat choice and one vegetarian. The slow cooked lamb was delicious but surely not necessary twice in four days which, with the daily fish and chip option didn't leave much left to choose between. One pasta dish was a large serving of tagliatelli with (bottled) sun-dried tomatoes, (bottled/tinned) olives and one piece of artichoke. Not very appetising. A rhubarb fool consisting of lumps of rhubarb and a huge dollop of cream - not folded together or mixed in any way - fooled no-one. We would go again but maybe opt for B&B, find a decent restaurant in town for dinner and use the nearby car park rather than pay the £13 per night charge for parking.

Room Tip: Opt for a side room overlooking the garden for guaranteed quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mundaych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed 1 night (7th July) with my wife and grandson in a family room (RM106). Nice large room with king size bed, bunk beds, ensuite and in a quiet part of hotel. Yes, the corridor floorboards are squeaky in places but not near this room. Nice garden area, outside seating area and small conservatory style swimming pool. Did not use pool as we spent the 2 days on the beach which was a 5-10 min walk through the Bournemouth gardens. Car parking is good value (£13) for 24 hour parking and the hotel is not stringent on an exact 24 hours, we needed 26 hours. Very friendly staff. Great central location for all amenities. Although the menu looked good, I cannot comment on the restaurant as we chose to eat out with our 4 year old grandson on the 1 night and 1 morning that we were actually in the hotel. I have stayed in and around Bournemouth many times and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: RM106 and vicinity is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed with friends for a single Saturday night, we found it very hard to find a hotel that does just a Saturday night without having to have a minimum 2 night stay, so from that perspective it met our criteria. We booked 3 executive rooms, and 1 deluxe, with parking at the hotel for £13 a night which seemed reasonable for city centre prices. The 3 deluxe rooms were very modern, very clean and hard large flat screen TV's. Some rooms were very hot with no fan to help cool at night. The deluxe room was supposed to be higher quality, however it was in need of updating, and although the booking description said it would have a large flat screen tv there wasn't and had a very fuzzy picture. This was mentioned to reception who said that they did not realise that any old TV's were left, no mention of knocking the price down. The room was very large, with plenty of space a nice covered balcony to look out over the front of the hotel and street below. The breakfast was ok but the resturant had very tired decor and furniture. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing