We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norfolk Hotel (change of Name)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Norfolk Hotel (change of Name)”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have recently revisited The Norfolk. Much the same as we have been twice a year for the past seven years. Handy location for shops park and beach. We first went the Hotel when it was part of the Rose royal group. And it was bought by the peel group. The rooms can vary from very plush updated, flat plasma screens etc. to basic family rooms . The staff are excellent friendly (especially Francis who remembered my Granddaughters name and always has a smile. The food is excellent! The Pool is small but could do with a bit of maintaining.

The hotel can be a bit expensive but used to have good deals. The have many weddings and business functions.

Sometimes staff stay for a number of years and other times there is a quick turnover. Many off the staff are students learning English. Bournemouth has many Language colleges.

We can not flay the food even though the staff may be a bit slow at times.

Would go again!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the Hotel,as there can be trouble with fights after people have been in ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    668
    278
    121
    67
See reviews for
422
812
40
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Having stayed here before we book this again Via LastMinute.com and ended up getting it half price for 4 days. the room we had was nice, this time we ended up with a room with a balcony. On arrival and entering the room we went onto the balcony to find the windows of it wide open and the chairs soaking wet along with the carpet in here all due to the heavy rain.

A few minutes later my boys came to me having found some small change under one of the fold out beds along with a load of rubbish stuffed under there.

The bathroom was very nice on the surface but i wouldn't advise trying to have a bath since the hot water tap dribble hot water slower than a dry river... However the shower was very nice hot and powerful.

After a nice day out in bournemouth we arrived back to try and put on the tv but unable to find a remote anywhere in the room, which we put up with for one night, when asked at the front desk i was asked how long i was staying before they would arrange for it to be sorted out. The day after it was sorted out as promised.

Every day our whole room was reset back to how it was the day we arrived which was nice and seemed very efficient, except one day we returned midday to find our room door open and unlocked with no one visible out in the corridor, which was very concerning especially with the amount of people coming and going from the hotel.

on our second to last day we tried out the swimming pool area, it was easy enough to find lockers cost us £1, but after getting changed we were surprised to find a code lock on the door and we were unable to get in, no one had mentioned this to us at any point, luckily a kind gentleman let us in. The Pool was nice, but when we got into the Jacuzzi i was surprised to find over 10 tiles scatter loose in the bottom of it which was pretty dangerous.


Overall a very mixed stay on our second visit to this hotel. The hotel is old so i wouldn't except perfection, but i do expect cleaners to clean under things moveable things as well as on top and that anything that is for our use to be in good and safe working order. Also an list of things in your room to about the pool lock code and wifi codes etc would be a nice addition.


to finish off our stay, on our arrival home my 7year old son came screaming down stairs @ 9 pm crying his eyes out having realised he had left his rabbit teddy which he had had since he was born on his bed in the hotel. So i called the hotel and the receptionist was very nice and offered to get room service to check the room first thing the next morning. Which she did and returned the call (which i missed) saying they were unable to find it, So i called back and spoke with a guy this time who basically told me they had checked and if they couldn't find it it wasn't there. The only thing i can think is either room service had binned this the day we had left or when asked to check they hadn't checked underneath things as we knew they don't when cleaning after the rubbish we found on our first day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TReviewer3077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night and found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating but the hotel was tired and needed some updating or a lick of paint in places.
The biggest gripe I have is that we were charged £13 to park our car in the hotel car park which is situated in the basement actually on site. I could understand it if the hotel was having to pay for vehicles to be parked off the premises and away from the hotel but to charge us for using their own car park is not ethical in my eyes. Furthermore the entrance/exit is angled at a position that attempting to exit in anything other than a small car will result in either wheel or body damage which is borne out by the paint from numerous vehicles left on the concrete extrusions at the exit. Disappointing stay, we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary3716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Enjoyed a good one night stay at this well located hotel. Check in was efficient, however I do not feel it is acceptable that the Receptionist starts the process then leaves you to address somebody else which leaves you waiting to to complete. We checked in at the advised time, 3pm and she phones through to housekeeping and informs me "I have good news, your room is ready". it should be!!
We had the afternoon tea which was very average, sandwiches were dry, cheese and pickle, ham and mustard both of which my wife dislikes, I suggest they should offer a choice. We had to ask for the jam to go with our scones and there was no butter.
The room was nice, we had a view of the garden, and it was clean. There was no air conditioning which surprised me for a 4* hotel. The bathroom was OK, but could do with updating, Our sink was blocked, the shower screen does not stop water hitting the floor thus making the floor very slippery. A comfortable bed though allowed a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was good, however mixed service. It was difficult to get a second pot of coffee, two requests needed.
£13 for the car park is expensive, however it is worth it in my opinion, your car is secure on site.
We first stayed here 30 years ago and wanted to visit Bournemouth again so elected to return, we did enjoy our stay and would return in the future if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJohn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have been to the Norfolk twice and enjoyed it on both occasions - the family suite we had was spacious and very clean with a lovely bathroom, the food was for breakfast and dinner was always good and catered for well enough children with their own menu, access to the pool and a garden area with a small playhouse. Its within a 2minute walk to the city gardens which also leads to the main pier. If i had a minor niggle i did begrudge paying full price childs menu for a 11mth old, perhaps cold finger food or a jarred food option could be available at a smaller cost. The staff are friendly and i like the fact they engage with the children. I certainly will return for a 3rd time soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suite_escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Well located for beach, shops and gardens. Nice hotel with small but attractive rear garden and indoor pool. Common areas showing signs of age but rooms have modern décor and are spacious. Nice bar and restaurant directly opposite is highly recommended (the dining room), although didn't sample the hotel restaurant it looked nice. The breakfast buffet was good quality and well stocked. Good for couples and families alike, would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

stayed for 1 night only. nice room, nice front desk stuff. TV in the room was hard to work out. the pool was quite small, but OK. unfortunately there were some some stag parties had booked in as well. breakfast wasn't very good, especially the staff there couldn't be bothered. got 1 slice of toast for each us and when we asked for another slice we got a really annoyed look. needless to say didn't ask for more butter :-) - altogether breakfast not worth the £15.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takoka72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing