We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Anniversary treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norfolk Royale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Anniversary treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

With parents that live in Bournemouth and are happy to look after our kids for one night, our annual wedding anniversary celebrations are now focussed on picking a top hotel close to Bournemouth. Last two years we've stayed at Chewton Glen (special anniversary!) and The Haven on Sandbanks, so the Norfolk Royale had a lot to live up to - and didn't disappoint. Right from the first phone call to the time we left, we received service that consistently went the extra mile - and really made our stay a treat.

On phoning to book, I was offered the honeymoon suite when I mentioned it was our anniversary - and would recommend anyone to try to trade up to that suite (room 220). Contemporary furnished, huge sunken jacuzzi bath, massive bed and walk-in wardrobe.

Half price champagne (on Fridays), tasty menu at Dinner - service was great - with our petit fours plate having "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate piping around the edge. All the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help - for instance I asked James on reception if we could have some more milk cartons for the room. Housekeeping was closed so James went to the kitchen, got a jug, filled with milk, and took it up to our room and put into the mini bar for us (with some extra biscuits too!)

After a morning swim in a deserted pool, breakfast was freshly cooked to order and even better than dinner. We asked if we could extend check-out til midday - no problem said James again. Eventually, having checked-out, left the car in the car park and gone shopping in Bournemouth, we finally left the hotel at 3pm - to smiles, and "hope we'll see you again".

Only negatives - 220 doesn't have much of a view - perfect for winter trips - but maybe not summer. Pool was actually a bit hot! And lighting in the restaurant was a bit bright at dinner - how about dimming main lights & having candles on the table? Some of the hotel was being refurbished - and there are a few parts that are showing their age,

However, positives were far higher - service was fantastic - matching Chewton Glen (& so much better than The Haven), room 220 is wonderful,the hotel location great for walking easily into Bournemouth, and the room rate was awesome value. Stay here!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite room 220
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MesoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    628
    263
    110
    63
See reviews for
387
758
38
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times on business and although you can't fault the hotel in any major way, it's still lacking in avoiding that school-like building feeling when you walk through the corridors and in the bathrooms in the rooms. The rooms are clean and nice but cold. The radiator wasn't working when I last stayed but yet the time before it was boiling in the room as it was spring time but yet there's no air conditioning. Bed comfy. Breakfast good. Staff on reception very helpful. Staff in restaurant slow and not very attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzabelle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We came to Bournemouth to surprise our eldest daughter who lives there as she is about to travel to New Zealand with her boyfriend.We decided to stay at the Norfolk as it is quite centrally based and it looked really nice when we viewed it online. On arrival we weren't disappointed. The rooms were adequately sized and my younger daughter who was in the room with us had a bunk bed type bed .The only negative about that was because it was fixed,the overhead bunk was pushed up against the wall over the lower bed and this made her feel very insecure. I was actually worried she was going to sit up i the night and bump her head on the metal bed above. However all was well and nothing happened thankfully. The breakfast was very good and the spa facilities were an added bonus.The only draw back to this is that there is a walk from the changing rooms down steps to the pool area .You need to remember the access code to get into the pool. If you forget you are going to look pretty stupid hanging around in your swimwear.My daughter in law thought it would be nice if there were blinds or something round the pool area.It is rather like a conservatory and people go outside the hotel to smoke,sit and drink coffee etc and you feel a bit like you are in a goldfish bowl!
Overall though we had a really lovely stay here .The hotel is very attractive as it is quite old, and has bags of character. The staff were on the whole very friendly. We had a lovely weekend and the weather was so favourable for October.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grantclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Norfolk Royale. Our room was big and with a huge comfy bed, and the location of the hotel was excellent for eating out, shopping and seeing all the sites in Bournemouth. We also LOVED the pool, the jacuzzi and the sauna. We chose to go for a swim during the middle of the day so for most of the time, we were the only ones there. Very relaxing! Breakfast was also quite good, even though the service was a bit slow. My only complaint would have been the £13 per day to park the car, but we were able to park the car literally right outside of the hotel, which was quite convenient. Overall, we had a great stay and I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, Guest Services Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Kassie C

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the hotel, I really am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I know the team will be equally delighted!

I think we are so lucky to enjoy the location we have here in Bournemouth as we really can offer the best of both worlds in terms of proximity to both the beach and the wider town, unfortunately of course that does drive up the price of parking in the area.

I am disappointed to hear that you found the service slow at breakfast and I will be discussing this with our Restaurant Manager to see what measures we can put in place.

Overall though thank you once again for your lovely review and recommending the hotel on Trip Advisor. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

James Barrett
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hove
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Lovely room 305 , breakfast service especially slow on Sunday , but I guess this is the norm, waited for tea and coffee for some 15-20 minutes after being seated. Monday and Tuesday breakfast service much better. Hotel in a great position, bar staff and reception staff most helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, Guest Services Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear keithmyles

I see that you are a senior reviewer on tripadvisor and have been to some amazing places all over the world, I must say I'm very jealous! Thank you so much for posting your review on tripadvisor, I will pass on your kind comments to the bar and reception teams.

I'm sorry that the service at breakfast was slow on Sunday and Im particularly upset to hear that you had to wait so long for Tea and Coffee. Sundays are our busiest breakfast of the week and it can be difficult to judge when everyone will come down. I will discuss this with our Restaurant Manager with a view to improving our response at the peak times for Breakfast. I am glad to hear however, that we were able to improve on this on Monday and Tuesday.

I also see that you enjoyed dinner at La Strada, I do hope that was a recommendation from one of our Receptionists, It is my favourite Italian restaurant in Bournemouth.

Thank you once again for your honest review, and I do hope I can look forward to welcoming you back again.

James Barrett
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Norfolk is my home on Bournemouth. I have stayed here on average 3 nights a week for the last 12 months. Loyalty like this is a good indication of quality... That is the tip... I hope it helps!
I have stayed in other Bournemouth hotels but the welcome and friendliness of the staff at the Norfolk keep me coming back.

Room Tip: Room to rear and garden facing are quieter. As a resident you also get the use of the West Hants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, Guest Services Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Mr Lamb

I cant thank you enough for writing this review, your comments have made the team and myself very happy. We are very proud of our staff, they are a great team and it's feedback like this that make it all worthwhile.

Thank you for your continued loyalty and for recommending the hotel on Tripadvisor. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards

James Barrett
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We just love this hotel. Yes tired in a few places but just like a comfy pair of slippers !!
Great food... even better at our last visit in August.Attentive staff. Large rooms with everything you need... and now the old fashioned TV's have been replaced by very large flat screen....
Excellent location... what more could you want apart from good offers on their room prices... which you can get through Trivago etc.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smiff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, Guest Services Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear smith99

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us.

I am extremely happy that you were well looked after by our staff and find our rooms offer everything you could need. We are particularly proud of our evolving menus and our Head Chef will be delighted to hear your comments.

What a wonderful way of describing the hotel, we are continually working to maintain and restore the property whilst being careful as you say, not to lose its charm and familiarity.

I do hope we have the pleasure of your company again in the near future and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again

James Barrett
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing