We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good clean cmfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
hayling island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good clean cmfortable hotel”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed recenlly for a two day gold break.Friendly efficient staff,large well furnished comfortable room.Breakfast buffet well stocked,english cooked breakfast fresh hot and well presented,with good supply of fresh coffee.Dinner menu limited but well cooked tasty food.The two day package was excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    652
    272
    116
    66
See reviews for
408
794
39
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Myself, my partner and our two girls aged 6 and 12 stayed here for a weekend in Aug 2012. Booked through LateRooms we got a good deal and were given a surprisingly large family room. The room itself was gorgeous. Beautiful decorated and furnished with good quality furniture/linens etc. we had a large king size bed and the addition of another double for the girls which fitted nicely in with the room without feeling like it was 'just there'. The bathroom was full sized and very clean and the Molten Brown products a nice touch. A stocked mini bar was also provided though I was disappointed that the bottled water wasn't complimentary. We used the pool facilities and the girls loved it. My only concern was how deep the water was but this is very clearly signed. We didn't have dinner but had breakfast each morning and it was very nice indeed. The staff were lovely and we would definatly return again if the price was right.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

we stayed on a prepaid voucher as dont think we could afford the regular price lovely hotel,staff very helpful you need to be very careful entering and leaving the underground cat park lots of marks on the walls i would go again if we saw the offer.only small moan the vegetables are hiden under the meat perfect location for shops and pictures 4 mins walk

Room Tip: cant help there our room was on a side road the rooms facing the main road may be noisein season
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Overall we had a lovely 2 night break. However, there were a couple of niggling points. The hotel was not full and I know someone has to stay in room 307 but this was on the top floor, the last room on the corridor and as far away from the main facilities as you can get. This room was not equipped with Wi-Fi due to the floor/distance and it felt as if being on a gold voucher, we were second class residents. On our second night the meal was quite disappointing - the soup was only luke warm, the risotto was very sticky/inedible, the "peach and almond tart with clotted cream" was actually pear with ice cream and the panacotta with "very cherry" ice cream was actually pistachio. After complaining about the risotto we gave in. The service was attentive, the breakfast was hearty and the main lounge area very relaxing. This was our second visit to the Norfolk Royale and it was not as good as the first.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quiet but wired internet only - not for phone/iPad users
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buncha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Not 4* - Friendly staff and comfortable lounge - new dining room cramped and noisey and service a little slow. Overall very hot in corridors etc. Ask for a room well away from the leisure spa - it's very very noisey at night. We did enjoy our stay though after moving rooms at 12.30 am and then back into another room the next morning. 3 rooms in 2 nights - is this a record?

Room Tip: Room 219 is over the leisure centre with noisey fans going all night. Room 220 is better although s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel18Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Our return visit to the Norfolk for a quick weekend away.
We enjoyed the Friday fizz again, what a great idea. The only complaint was that the table we chose had the remains of another's afternoon tea still left out. We sat for an hour and it was still uncleared.
The hot tub was out of order and the pool still has mouldy seat covers? Why are these still in place Norfolk?
The room was a deluxe but to be honest, we wouldn't want a room of any lower standard for a four star, the bed was very nice.
It had a hole in the wall and It was also dirty in places. The TV reception was terrible.
On a positive though, the food for both dinner and breakfast was absolutely fantastic, very well recommended.
Reception handled our complaints very well.
We still love the Norfolk but they need to be careful not to let standards slip any further, we can't recommend it until those little niggles are rectified.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pau1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We visited the Norfolk at lunchtime on Saturday - two or three years ago we used to pop in regularly for lunch and found it a peaceful haven in the town centre with good quality food and service. Unfortunately it seems to have gone downhill. On Saturday we waited at the bar and ordered one drink which we were then charged for without the barman asking my partner if he wanted a drink, or if we wanted food, despite standing there talking about the menu with no other customers around! The food came out and half or my order was missing. I waited for it to arrive which resulted in my partner finishing his lunch before mine turned up - I had to follow this up at the bar myself, but the barman chose to serve the queue of guest behind me before bringing out my lunch. I feel he was poorly trained and should have offered us complimentary drinks to make up for the fact I ended up watching my partner eat before eating alone! very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKMS151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing