We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value if on a gold voucher” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norfolk Royale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great value if on a gold voucher”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit using the gold voucher offer that is available every year.
Check in staff were friendly efficient and helpful.
We stayed in room 304 which was clean roomy and well equipped apart from the lack of WiFi but there is a Lan cable if you have a mobile router.
Evening meal and breakfast was included in our deal and was well presented and of good quality.
One gripe I do have was that we were not offered a table in the main restaurant an were instead put in a room the other side of the reception area (there were 6 of us)
This was not a problem in the evening as the meal was full table service.
But at breakfast it was a problem as the staff tried to encourage you to have a set English breakfast rather than the buffet. If you wanted a buffet breakfast, which we did. You had to walk across reception with you breakfast!
Parking was expensive at £13 per day but in line with local prices , still does not excuse high price for residents
Bar had limited choice and was expensive, try one of the plentiful bars in town 5-10 minutes away
Would return but only on a special offer

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iprodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    628
    263
    110
    63
See reviews for
387
758
38
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked a family room for our two night stay between Christmas and New Year. Spacious room with sturdy bunk beds, good breakfast selection and nice to make use of the indoor pool and jacuzzi. Corridors a bit dated, with very squeaky floorboards. The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants and shops. One word of warning, be careful of the narrow parking spaces, walls and pillars when parking in the underground car park.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We had booked a 'Gold Voucher' stay for New Year, but had to rearrange, which was handled really well by central reservations. Even though we had to pay more for staying later in the year, it was still a good value break, and our expectations weren't too high. It started well in being very easy to find just off the ring road, with ample, if fairly tight parking under the hotel. Virtually all the guests appeared to be on the same deal gauging by the reservations list as we walked into the restaurant, and this being said we were really pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. The wine list was priced as you'd expect for a hotel, and the portions were more than sufficient, with a lovely cooked breakfast, with black pudding, hmmmm, to set us up for the day.

What really impressed us was the staff. Without exception they were all keen and friendly, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Our ground floor garden room was quiet (other than the white noise hum of the generator that was easy to phase out), spacious, and very comfortable. All as requested. We loved the small pool, jacuzzi, and steam/sauna, with complimentary bath robes and towels on request from reception.

We had some great weather and so got a lovely early bus to Studland, across the ferry, and a stunning walk to Old Harry and down into Swanage. On returning to the hotel, even though we'd checked out, they were more than happy for us to use the leisure facilities to freshen up, ease our slightly aching muscles, before heading home. A lovely short break, and no hesitation in recommending it.

All the best. Marcus & Tracy

Ps, do try Expresso Kitchen, a brilliant independent coffee shop 10 mins walk from the hotel, up the hill passed the shops and well worth a visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Journey-Man-StA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had a nice little break here in great position.Food was good and nice rooms.Staff very nice and helpful.Everything is close by,parking is £13 for 24hrs,which is not bad as NCP next door is £16.Would go back,And if you pick up a good deal its a must.Has a nice little indoor pool as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmitch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Having made a booking for a party of 14 friends, I was slightly apprehensive that the Gold deal would prove to be too good to be true. However, I can only say that all of us thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in this comfortable hotel with 'old fashioned' values. All of our rooms were spotless and while some were larger than others, they were all comfortable. The staff were always smiling and friendly and the chef and restaurant staff went out of their way to ensure that our vegetarian and pescatarian needs were well catered for. We certainly hope to return to this well-situated hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights in late January. Paid for an upgrade to a suite but the room was a little disappointing. Some of the decorations are looking a bit tired and the tv was ancient. Nevertheless I would say it is a really friendly hotel with good and efficient staff. Restaurant meals were good. Overall good value for money, centrally located, friendly and comfortable. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexBusinessowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This is excellent value if you take advantage of the Peel Hotels golden ticket offer which gives you 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast. The staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms were a good size, comfy bed, large TV with lots of channels including some Sky Sports. Not all the rooms have wi-fi yet though.
The dinner (we ate out the second night) was fine, nothing exciting but very well-cooked and presented. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a large choice of items.
There is also a small spa which we didn't have time to use but it looked nice. There is a secure car park which costs extra.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karenh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing