We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real good Location and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Real good Location and Hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This was a great Hotel with car park in the centre of Bourmouth...

Booked a two night stay at the Norfolk. Very nice time the staff are very nice and make you feel at home.
Our room was great had everything you needed and the bathroom was great. Also had a very large Hd TV

Food was good but expensive

But on the whole we had a great time cant fault the staff and would recommend the Hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John Chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear John Chapman

Many thanks for giving us 5 out of 5. It's important to us that our guests are made to feel very welcome and at home and I am so pleased you had a great stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Rachel Painter-Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    666
    278
    121
    67
See reviews for
422
810
40
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Lots of mixed reviews regarding this hotel so we were unsure of what to expect on arrival.
The location is fantastic. No more than 10 min walk from the beach. 1 minute from the town centre shops.
We stayed in room 326, a suite. We were upgraded from a family room. So that was a bonus with a 2yr old. The suite was lovely. Clean. Crisp and airy. Housekeeping clearly do a fantastic job.
Breakfast was amazing. A huge selection and the waiting staff are constantly refilling and refreshing.
We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but from what I saw the food looked and smelt delicious.
We used the swimming pool probably twice a day throughout our stay.
It was warm and is a good size.
The cleanliness of the pool area needs a bit of attention. Dirty tiles, some broken and dirty drainage gullies.
The decor is dated, as mentioned in some other reviews, however I felt this added to the charm of the hotel.
The staff were friendly and the very few, small issues we had were dealt with quickly.
The housekeeping staff did/do an amazing job and were very friendly.
So. Would we stay here again?
Absolutely.
With a doubt and as the suite was a lovely bonus we would even opt to have a suite.

Thank you Norfolk Royal Hotel for making our family holiday amazing!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Opro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Opro

What a fantastic review! Thank you so much. I'm delighted you had an amazing family holiday, particularly enjoying the food and of course our friendly professional staff. I will pass your comments onto the team.

I'll have our maintenance team look at the swimming pool area to rectify any issues there.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for your kind comments.

Regards
Rachel Painter-Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for one night in the Norfolk Royale over the May bank holiday weekend and had a great time. Aside from the slightly dated decor, everything else is pretty good. We stayed on the 3rd floor over looking the pool area which was very quiet. The room was spacious and clean, beds were comfortable. We ordered room service when we came back in the evening and although over half of the menu was not available as "the burners had been turned off" the cold sandwiches were excellent. Staff at check in and out were efficient, friendly and helpful. The only slight moan was that the shower wasnt very powerful and washing longer hair took forever! Having said that there was plenty of hot water and the Molton Brown freebies were a nice touch. Note: the car park costs £13 per night but we had no objection to this as the hotel is so well situation, a few minutes from central town, park and beach. Breakfast was good. We didnt use the pool or spa so cant comment. Overall, If i could rate this 4.5 I would! :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily1973Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Lily

Thank you so much for your positive comments after your stay with us over the May Bank Holiday. We're fortunate to have such a great location close to shops, restaurants, bars, nightlife and of course the beach.

I was particularly pleased with your comments on how friendly you found the staff here, and how spacious and clean our rooms are, and that you like our Molten Brown products! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Rachel Painter-Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covent Garden
Level Contributor
163 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I feel that for a lot of regular returning guests, the Norfolk Royale probably suits their every need, as the hotel is in a great location, our room (suite) 219, was very, very good, particularly the bathroom and the majority of the service was fine. That being said, we have visited many hotels in the UK, Europe and beyond and although it is a 4 star hotel, (it has a sign depicting that it is), this hotel does not behave like a 4 star hotel. It was the final May bank holiday weekend, so it was pretty busy, but there is no excuse for keeping us waiting until 4.00pm before we could check in (they guarantee 3.00pm very latest), we wouldn't normally have minded, but had to be at a concert for 5.00pm. The poor people on housekeeping, who were lovely by the way, were clearly under resourced, as each day our room was not attended to until after 3.00pm, why not put £1 on each room tariff to provide more help and pay the existing housekeepers more money?. Also no excuses for coming down for a pre dinner drinks to find that none of the tables had been cleared from afternoon tea. No excuses for charging residents £13.00 per night to park in their own car park and certainly no excuses for having a swimming pool generator right outside our room (reminder 219). We asked when it would be switched off and was was assured by staff...10.00pm, on again at around 7.30am, on all 3 evenings, I had to go to reception just before midnight, to ask for the machine to be turned off. As you can imagine, although our room was warm, there was no chance of keeping cool, with the windows open and sleeping, as it was still annoyingly loud with all the windows shut. When we checked out (a day early) and gave our reasons for doing so, the lad on reception said that the generator noise was a constant complaint by guests in and around our room. Management, if this is so and you do not want to receive negative reviews, you really must do something regarding, your staffing issues, charging for parking and that awful generator.

Room Tip: Not sure about good ones I am afraid, although 219 is really nice...the noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked 2 family rooms & a double deluxe for party of 10 to celebrate my Dads 70th birthday over bank holiday weekend. Every single part, from booking to check out was great. We booked with the hotel direct and turned out to be cheaper than with discount websites. When we arrived, which was very early at 8am, the manager and staff were very welcoming, and asked if we would like breakfast (and we could have this free of charge...as it was such a miserable day!)...what a great start!
The restaurant is light & airy, the breakfast was good quality, with plenty of choice.
Our room was also ready so we could check in straight away, we had room 120, which had 4 poster bed and 2 z beds for the children, it was very clean and spacious.
The hotel has many public areas to sit & relax, with comfy sofas. There is a nice garden area, and indoor pool & jacuzzi, which the children all enjoyed.
They have a car park under the hotel, which costs £13 per day, and as this hotel is so close to the town ( 2 min walk to shops, 10 min walk through very pretty park to sea), there was no need to use the car until we went home.
We all had a fabulous weekend at the Norfolk Royale, would definitely recommend to others, and would love to return another time.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Booked a two night stay at the Norfolk. Very nice time the staff are very nice and make you feel at home. James the bar man was very polite and nice, but we did not like one incident were the manager was "telling him off" in front of paying customers. I felt so sorry for him. Our room was great had everything you needed and the bathroom was great. We had afternoon tea which was lovely, so we then booked a evening meal. My partner had fish & chips which was very nice I had lamb not so nice not worth the 42 pounds we paid.
But on the whole we had a great time cant fault the staff if anything I would say the food needs improving but would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a beautiful bank-holiday week end with my husband and two children.
We were promptly given our room on arrival. Staff were friendly and happy to help. Our room was clean and a good size. The only small problem I had was the top bunk of the bunk beds. It had not enough bed rails around the bed and I was a little worried that my 8 year old would roll off when sleeping. I feel the top bunk would be un. suitable for children under 8. Otherwise everything in the room was pretty good.
We loved using the pool and spa in the evenings. It's was lovely and warm. The jacuzzi was more like a hot tub... Perfect way to relax after a busy day in Bournemouth. The pool area could do with a bit of an update but it was spotless so we didn't mind and didn't stop us having a great time.
The best part of the hotel was the location. It was in the town centre and 2 minutes walk from the beach. Just perfect. We would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehtap B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing