We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, family friendly hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Like others on here my wife and I were beginning to wonder if we had made a huge mistake booking a nights stay at the Norfolk Royal. We booked via LateRooms.com so had paid less than £100 B&B for the two of us plus our four year old son.
Upon arrival we were quickly checked in by friendly and helpful staff in a clean and well presented reception area. We were advised of the £13 parking charge and duly parked up.
Our room was a spacious family room with Queen size bed and adjacent bunks. The bathroom was clean, fresh mould free and had clean towels as well as an array of toiletries. There was a well stocked mini bar which we didn't use, as, with all hotels the prices were high. However we did make use of the complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. There was also I turned access available in all rooms. The only criticism I had by that point was the TV, which was probably 20 years old... I'm sure the hotel could stretch to Lcd flats creeps by now! Nonetheless, an antique TV is not the end of the world so everything hinged on breakfast.
As it was a Bank holiday breakfast was served slightly later (0800) which actually suited us. We were shown to our table and offered tea or coffee. Breakfast was buffet style but everything that was supposed to be hot WAS hot and what should be cold was cold. All cooked perfectly in my opinion... I especially liked the sausages which appeared to be superior to sausages I have had in other hotels. All in all we had a great stay and will definitely be back when next in Bournemouth. Incidentally, there is a very small pool ideal if you have kids or just want a splash around but not if you're looking for an aqua workout. Also, as mentioned elsewhere on here the hotel does have some creeky floorboards in places, but it is a converted edwardian Manor so what do people expect? It was nice that the place had some character and the floorboards by no means kept us awake! There is also a nice walled garden if you fancy sitting out with a cold beer. My only other small criticism us the £13 parking charge... You could actually Park elsewhere in Bournemouth for £5 a day so you are paying a big premium for parking on site.. Though it is secure underground parking.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Kevin H

Thank you very much for posting this excellent review on Tripadvisor, I am most pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

The TV's are in the process of being updated but as you can appreciate having 95 rooms can not all be done at the same time, we have currently completed three floors and only have one floor left to be done now.

The Norfolk Hotel is a beautiful building, has a lovely peaceful garden, and a pleasure to work in. I very much look forward to welcoming you back here at some point in the future.

Rachel Painter-Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    669
    279
    121
    67
See reviews for
423
812
40
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Room was ok although a little old fashioned however the staff where excellent very friendly and helpful also facilities wise more than made up for any shortfall in room I would defiantly return, only issue is that it seems more geared towards older guests

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear David E

Thank you for your recent review on The Norfolk, I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and found the staff friendly and helpful, the staff price themselves on their customer service.

We do have a refurbishment programme in place at the hotel, but with 95 rooms and public areas this can be a lengthy process but this will be completed and will update some of the more old fashioned rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Norfolk in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Painter-Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

we had a lovely room very friendly staff. food was brilliant in the evening and at breakfast would certainly go again.The pool was lovely and well looked after. we were served coffee and hot choclate at one in the morning in front of a log fire in the lounge after a night out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear natjake

Thank you very much for posting this excellent review on Tripadvisor, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.It appears we took good care of you and I will pass your kind comments on to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Norfolk in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Painter-Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Norfolk Royale proved to be a competent "family" and couple friendly hotel situated close to Bournemouth city centre. We used the disabled parking facility, were given a quiet double bedroom without difficulty by an attentive and cheerful reception staff. Meals were of a high quality without being "fussy". All food was delivered promptly by an obliging team of waiters and waitresses. Nothing proved too much trouble. Our room was spacious and came equipped with a very large TV, WIFI, mini bar, tea and coffee tray and a generous supply of toiletries. All in all we do not hesitate to recommend this medium priced but well appointed hotel.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask reception for a room facing the rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Isabel G

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this excellent review on Tripadvisor, Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff looked after you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Norfolk in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Painter-Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

"Lovely Hotel, friendly management and staff".
We were greeted by a friendly face at reception who informed us of which rooms had free wifi access. Eventually all rooms will have access to the facitlity.

The management and staff were both friendly and accommodating. I was given complimentary coffee while the staff prepared a table so that we could sit together with other members of my family for breakfast.
Pool reasonable size with spa - warm. Ate in restaurant twice different menu each time. Good food. Would recommend to family and friends.

Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Michael G

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Norfolk, the staff pride themselves on being friendly yet professional and offering excellent customer service to all our guests. I will pass your comments onto the staff as its always good to receive praise from guests.

Wi-Fi is scheduled to be completed so all rooms have access by the end of this Month.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Norfolk in the future

Kind Regards

Rachel Painter-Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here mid August with 2 friends and a 18 month old baby. Booked a family room with breakfast. Arrived at 11am and hotel allowed us to park the car even though check in isn't until 3pm. We returned back to the hotel at 4pm and check in was very quick and problem free. Room was spacious and they provided the baby cot. Nice big bathroom, comfortable beds, TV quality was ok. The Wi-Fi worked well and had strong signal. We had no problems with noise or traffic during the night and our room was front facing.

The pool is very nice, quite a good temperature and in nice surroundings. Didn't use the sauna and steam room but they looked nice. The Gym isn't on site but is only a 5 min drive away and well worth a visit. Really good facilities and great equipment.

Breakfast was delicious. Quite a good selection, was always hot and re-stocked quickly. The restaurant area was clean and spacious. Pleasant surroundings to eat breakfast.

Finally all of the staff we helpful and friendly. They all interacted with the baby and all seemed very happy and willing to help.

If I had to pick some feedback to provide it would probably be to have tea / coffee making facilities in the room. Also maybe have one extra person on the reception desk at check out time to reduce waiting times. But these are only small things and they had very little impact on our stay and our satisfaction.

Great location, 5 min walk to the town centre. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine0386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear sunshine0386

Thank you for your wonderful review on tripadvisor, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be so friendly, they do pride themselves on offering excellent customer service.

I am sorry that you didn't have tea/coffee making facilities in your room, as all rooms should have this in, if not out on the desk then is sometimes in the cupboard with the mini bar.

Once again thank you for your time in posting this review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Norfolk in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachel Painter-Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Really disappointing. We visit friends and family in Bournemouth/Poole all the time and often stay in local hotels. We had to book last minute this time round and as this hotel had quite a bit of availability and the photos looked nice, we opted to stay here.
This place was pretty much the same price as Harbour Heights and The Haven in Sandbanks yet we may as well have stayed in a 2-3* hotel.
Every element of the 'service' was poor from start to finish. We arrived late in the evening on a Friday and ordered room service as we were tired and didn't fancy going out. We had a phone call 15 minutes later asking us to repeat our order as it needed to be taken again, then another ten minutes after that another member of staff called back to say that only cold food could be served from the '24-hour' room service menu because the "gas had been switched off". When I asked why they had a full 24 hour room service menu in the rooms when that was a service they didn't provide, I was told, "we do room service, we provide cold sandwiches". The 24 hour room service menu had more than cold sandwiches on it and said nothing about the gas being switched off after 10pm....?!
It was like staying in a hotel from the 1970's. We ordered a paper for the morning, it didn't turn up. We were charged for our cancelled room service and the newspaper that never appeared and then when we went to check out and order a taxi, the queue was full of people complaining about various things.
The room itself was dated and old and our sleep was completely disturbed by the fact that none of the doors, corridors or rooms are particularly sound proofed. All in all this is a hotel to avoid and we will never stay
there again. Such a shame as the photos on the website make
this hotel look pretty.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rach6891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing