We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An expensive disappointment”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We had booked a ground floor Garden room by phone, and paid a deposit, but on arrival we were told we had asked for a 'garden view' and were given a third floor room! We did manage to change to the room level we asked for, but the receptionist made us feel it was our mistake. She then took a full payment which we thought odd - never been asked to pay upfront in full before. Room was equipped for disabled people - that was ok but the shower/wet room flooded the bathroom floor each time. On the first day the room was not serviced and I had to go to reception at 2.30pm to report. Restaurant staff helpful and bar staff superb, but the ambiance of the place is that of a cafe not 4 star dining luxury. Big TV on in the bar all the time, same music each night, bright lights, no tablecloths, tables too close together and cutlery that didn't match and looked cheap and well used. We had to ask for a drink, water glasses to be refilled, etc. every time and the staff, although pleasant, needed instructions. We had two good meals, then it was downhill. The final straw came when we ordered medium steaks, with a peppercorn sauce, as the Table D'Hote choice was not to our liking. 3/4 hour after finishing the starter the Manager came up and said chef had burnt our steaks and was doing two more. Another wait - steaks arrived but were so chargrilled on the outside and still rare inside, no sign of sauce, and chips and extras had obviously been sitting around as they were cold. We asked for the sauce, then were told chef had ruined that and was making more - and this is a 4 star hotel? How can a chef ruin 4 steaks? Sauce arrived and I can only say it was BISTO - not a sign of a peppercorn and the consistency of water. Even I can make a packet sauce. I walked out. We were so upset by the whole experience that we returned home a day earlier. We could not stand any more. Something was horribly wrong. We were reimbursed but no-one from Management available to speak to. We have stayed here many times but this was a disaster. It was a longed-for break from work and we were looking forward to a relaxing time. Some hopes!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TREMETHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRHBournemouth, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
We are sorry that the problems with your steaks overshadowed your stay. The Restaurant is in a brasserie style with no tablecloths to suit the brasserie style menu. I do hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    666
    278
    121
    67
See reviews for
422
810
40
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a family party and get together, we were surprised by some very good points, but some not so good. Eg :

- Food was excellent , service very good, rooms very well cleaned and tidy, chambermaids very polite professional, lovely view from our third floor window of the gardens, reception was okay but the young man behind of the counter his mind seemed to be somewhere else but not in the norfolk royale, service at the bar was excellent we have to point out the barmaid ''nidia'' who was lovely girl and also the night porters who kept their cool and professional manner when a group of noisy stags started to spoil the evening, morning all in all good staff but hotel is more a 3 star than 4 star. we would stay again as price was good and central location was a bonus...

Thanks for everything norfolk royale!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrard68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRHBournemouth, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Thank you for your comments and we have passed your review to Nadia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed for two nights part leisure and part conference. The hotel was reasonably convenient for the BIC and for the beach, and the town was close by, and that is part of its problem. The hotel is within 100 yards of many bars and nightclubs, with Richmond Hill being the main approach and with a room at the front we were kept awake on Friday and Saturday nights to 4.00 am by noisy drunken youths, cars revving engines and fights. Not helped by the room which was very hot (even the mirror was heated) and no way of turning heating off, so windows had to be opened. Car parking also excessive £12 per night. We found out that there is an NCP nearby whch is cheaper, but less secure. Others in our group who had rooms at the back were untroubled and thought it good value. Rooms themselves were comfortable and clean. We did not eat at night, but breakfasts were perfectly acceptable. Noticably, the queue to check out was lengthy with nearly everyone querying items on their bills

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed for two nights and found the rooms of good size and well furnished. It is just a one minute walk from the town centre and less than 10 minutes to the beach and BIC conference centre. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean and staff helpful. Minor points of irritation were the faulty socket for the iron and the unreliable card reader on our door. A Car Parking charge of £12 per day was rather high (try NCP parking). If staying on a Saturday night ask for an inside room as noise from the street was a problem for some of our group.
We didn't eat in the evening but the choice and presentation at breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

stayed here last minute deal for just under £500 3 nights deluxe room with DB&B in room 210.including use of the pool. This room overlooked the gardens and was a nice pleasant room. It was however terribly cluttered with nearly all the surfaces covered with adverts for other properties in the chain. There were also 6 pillows and 2 cushions on the bed and nowhere to put them except on the floor at night. Having said that the room was finished to a high standard, and the bathroom nice and big. Breakfast was good, the usual choice of hot items and cereals, bread etc. Dinner was included and therefore we did not pay the full rate of £29.95, however it was still poor. YOU FELT THAT THE CHEF HAD BEEN TO THE SUPERMARKET AND BOUGHT THE CHEPEST INGREDIENTS AVAILABLE THAT DAY. The first night the vegetarian option was pasta with a tomato and cheese sauce. For this kind of price I do not expect store cupboard dried pasta and a cheap bit of mozzarella on top. A turkey steak which I had on the second night was dry and insipid. The pork on the third night was tasteless and difficult to cut. Several other diners on adjoining tables who had also ordered the pork at the same time as us left theirs and some did not even bother ordering pudding and just left,, yes it was that bad. By the way we had a lovely 3 course meal at west beach locally sustained and good quality fish and steak for just over £60.00 If other restaureants in the neighbourhood can make a profit at these prices why can't the Norfolk, without serving cheap nasty food? Having said that if you get a good deal for B&B at the Norfolk it is good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
268 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I started to feel ripped off when I checked in having paid £144 on line for the room and a guy walked in off the street and was offered a single room with breakfast for £60!!!! The room - if I'd paid £60, would have been okay, but having paid such a high price then things like flaking paint on unopening windows, broken towel rail and rubbish tv reception just aren't acceptable.
Four star? Abosolutely not! Bar prices were sky high (£6.50 for a glass of wine?!) and the breakfast was poor. Even being first in the hot food was dried (rubber eggs anyone?) and unappetising. Everything self service; not a nicely fresh cooked plate that you'd want (ah, unless you pay "extra - yup another £2 if you want kippers or even higher for an omlette!)
Much much better value at other hotels in Bournemouth

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2010

What can I say about our stay at the Norfolk Royale in Bournemouth other than fabulous.
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times but this was definitely the best stay yet.
The location of the hotel is perfect. It is near all of the amenities, the beach and the lovely gardens but still has a quiet location. The hotel itself looks beautiful and we were lucky enough to have a balcony which is the perfect place to sit and relax after a busy day on the beach. The weather was also perfect and the children thoroughly enjoyed the beach hut provided by the hotel (it really did make a difference to the beach experience).
The staff were very friendly and made us feel very special, bending over backwards to meet our needs.
The food at the hotel is fantastic and they have a great childrens menu.
If you feel like a treat ask Krystian the wine expert to make you his very special sangria. Which he serves with a warm smile.
We will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28Jasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing