We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a great 3 night break. Lovely hotel, good food, nice staff and great facilities. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi are highly recommended. We stayed in a honeymoon suite which was nice, if in need of a little updating. Didn't partake of the evening entertainment as we were so tired after spending the days on the beach (which is a nice walk from the hotel). Staff were very friendly and a special mention has to go to Eddy who seemed to be everywhere - a real asset to the hotel. Having read some negative reviews I was apprehensive, but there was no need and we will definitely be going back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Many thanks for your generous review, and your 5 star award. I am delighted that you have enjoyed some of our exceptional facilities and hopefully next time you will be able to dance the night away with one of our fantastic cabaret acts.

Have passed your comments to all the staff especially Eddy who was taken by your kind comments. The hotel as you know is going through refurbishment and the honeymoon suite is definitely on the list :-). Pleased to know that you will return to see us soon with hopefully some sunshine.

Many thanks and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

My 3rd visit to the New Westcliffe, highley recommend for all ages. Great facilities, bedroom and location. The breakfast are good along with good choice of menu for evening meal. Good service and frindley owner who takes pride. More alterations will I'm sure lift the star ratings to 3-4. Pool, sauna, etc... excellent and clean. Will be going back again.

Room Tip: Room 27 was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldkflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the trouble to write your excellent review and we wlook forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Fabulous food, great staff - all friendly, efficient, helpful and so polite and pleasant. We upgraded our room and it was great! The cinema was being refurbished so we didn't get the opportunity to assess this, although as the weather was good we probably wouldn't have bothered anyway! The leisure facilities - indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna were great, we don't play bowls but the facility was there if we had wanted to. We shall definitely be returning and would certainly recommend it to our friends and family. The position was ideal, we used the buses and the bus stop was just a short walk away, walking to Town Centre was easy and pleasant. Far better than you'd expect from a 2 star hotel. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: ROOM 7 IS BRILLIANT. Most of the rooms have just been refurbished, I'm sure they are all mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you Terry and Trish for your fantasic review - our team were really delighted to be mentioned in such glowing terms. Glad you enjoyed the experience and we hope to see you again soon. I am also delighted to inform you that our new cinema is now fully refurbished and running.

Many thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

food is excellent, very friendly hotel, well equipped rooms, very clean, friendly staff have spent lots of holidays here over the years, highly recommended,hotel is totally being refurbished to a very high standard, excellent pool and jacuzzi, for a 2 star hotel it is very good value and exceeds expectations ,also offers good deals throughout the year

Room Tip: honeymoon suite highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Many thanks Jean and Ken for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review. Looking forward to seeing again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I have just got back from a stay here, We booked via telephone and was an easy process. All staff were efficient and friendly. The food was lovely and presented to a standard far higher than the 2 star awarded. Our bedroom was dated and a bit flouncy for my liking, but as the hotel is getting refurbished so i'm sure it will be fantastic when finished, It is a great base for local attractions. I wouls recommend going to Swannage on the bus(sit upstairs and take in the lovely views and gorgeous houses. We also took the steam train to Corfe Castle which is also a must.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesHuntingdoncambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Many thanks for your review which is very much appreciated. The hotel, originally The Duke of Westminster Summer Residence, dates back to 1851 but I hope you will agree that the new refurbishment works brings the hotel well into this century but yet keeping some of the original features. So pleased you have enjoyed a few of the local attraction.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Friendly and efficient service from telephone booking to check out. Without exception all staff very friendly, polite and helpful. For a 2 star hotel this exceeded our expectations. Food good and dining room service swift and efficient even though there was a coach party staying at the same time. We opted for a superior room which had flat screen TV (freeview channels)usual tea/coffee making facilities. Bathroom quite large with shower in bath. Did not use swimming pool etc but looked clean and inviting. Will definitely return.
Steve L K

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Have passed your comments to all the team Steve and they were really happy to read just how much you enjoyed your stay with us - a big thank you from all of us . We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

The staff were nice and friendly esp the man on reception .
The free use of the pool, sauna and hotub is lovely and I enjoyed it very much
Breakfast was good .
The bedroom 1 was very small and very old decor but the place is being refurbished so I think people should give them a chance
Before posting bad reviews about decor when everything else is very good and they clearly state the hotel is being refurbished slowly - very good budget place to stop overnight in my opinion :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMH1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for the review and very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's facilities, especially our leisure facilities. I was sorry however to read that you were disappointed with the size of your room and decor - hopefully you will enjoy all the ongoing refurbishments but of course we are happy to move a guests subject to availability of course. Look forward to welcome you back to the New Westcliff Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#34 of 67 in Bournemouth
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#45 of 67 in Bournemouth
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,026 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,568 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Address: 27-29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £31 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing