We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We got a room in the basement. Funny smell, worn down room and bathroom, very thin walls and a loud bang every time one of the neighbours closes the door. There must be better hotels or b&b's for £100/night in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdLibitumTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
As the owner, I take all reviews, good and bad, most seriously and I try to deal with them in the most appropriate manner. This review bears little resemblance to our hotel – the description of the basement room as the hotel has no such rooms. I can find no trace of this Guest from AdLibitumTravel in our records. I can only assume that it is not a genuine review. If the person would like to contact me I would be delighted to have the opportunity to discuss their review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    117
    72
    44
    45
See reviews for
86
199
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

sorry the review is a little late but it was worth the wait.
i stayed at the hotel the weekend of 19/07/13 to the 21/07/13 and i can say the hotel was worth the money the room was clean and the bathroom. the staff were friendly and the facilities were good ( pool and Jacuzzi ). the entertainment was a laugh. all in all it was a very comfortable stay.
very pleased

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Like they say "better late then never" :-) ... Glad you have enjoyed our fantastic facilities and hotel and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Having decided to make the most of the good weather I booked a mid week break at The New Westcliff hotel having stayed there earlier in the year when the weather was not quite so nice (thats an understatement).
We enjoyed our visit so much before that we didn't think the hotel could improve but the weather of course had so it was going to be a great week.
Well I was amazed. We arrived and were given a newly refurbished suite in the other side of the hotel as my partner is on crutches at present having had a little accident in the car. This suite was so beautifully refurbished and good impression was immediate as we walked down the newly decorated hallways and noticed all the rooms had stunning new Walnut doors with those electronic card operated locks. Opening the door our suite was superb with a luxury bathroom and balcony, flat screen TV etc etc. We had paid the extra few pounds for this room but trust me it was worth every penny. We made ourselves at home and then decided to celebrate with a drink in the bar. As we passed reception we met Rubina, the Manager who was so helpful when we last stayed. Rubina was thrilled with our reaction and later that evening when we had enjoyed a beautiful meal in the restaurant and returned to the bar for the evening entertainment the owner Paul made a point of finding us and thanking us for our feedback.
I can see why this hotel is so popular with the guests I have met when I have enjoyed their hospitality it is run by a caring team that go out of their way to make your holiday memorable for all the right reasons - Thanks you Paul, Rubi and your staff

Room Tip: Stretch your stay over the weekend if you can Bournemouth has so much to do and The New Westcliff is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Many thanks for your very complimentary review. We are always working hard to bring the hotel back to its formal glory if not better and is always nice to receive such feedback and appreciations. Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I returned on the 20th after a very enjoyable 7 night stay. We had two rooms, a double for ourselves and a single for my wife's cousin. All three of us were very pleased with the rooms and delighted with the standard of the menu in the restaurant. Without exception, the staff were pleasant and helpful and there was a general happy atmosphere. The public areas were pleasant and comfortable and the air conditioned entertainment room was a bonus in such unusually hot weather. We will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_brian_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, which is very much appreciated and i am pleased that you had the opportunity to support our evening entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

To fully appreciate the content of this review you will probably firstly need to refer to my previous poor review dated 21st September 2012.

We have just had four nights staying in the brand new Branch Suite which for those who know the hotel is situated where the cinema used to be, a new cinema is being built but has yet to open.

It must be said that the Branch Suite is absolutely lovely, all brand new and built to a very high standard with a nice bathroom with Jacuzzi bath, separate shower etc. The bedroom is large with a comfortable bed, separate sofa bed, and all very smart in terms of furniture and soft furnishings, sadly although virtually brand new, previous occupants had already stained the carpet and chipped one of the mirror style bedside cabinets.

The balcony is still very much work in progress but once finished will be a pleasant place to sit and relax.

The rest of the hotel is still gradually being updated and although most of the public areas are fine the dining room carpet is very grubby and needs changing as soon as possible.

The food is excellent, the staff are fine and owner Paul is doing a great job updating the hotel, it certainly needed it.

To sum up a great break at a very reasonable price, keep up the good work Paul and we will be back!

Room Tip: The new "Branch Suite" is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawnandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Many thanks for your generous review. We have taken great pride and effort in refurbishing the Branch Suite into a fantastic modern room with all the comforts from home. Unfortunately the Carpet got damaged by our first customers but you will delighted to know that is in the process of being changed together with the new balcony being fitted to which some garden furniture is awaiting to go there.

The dining room will be decorated before Christmas when hopefully we should be able to close for two weeks given the amount of work required but in the mean time we do try and carpet clean as much as we can but intense stains are hard/impossible to remove.

Glad you have enjoyed our fantastic food and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a great 3 night break. Lovely hotel, good food, nice staff and great facilities. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi are highly recommended. We stayed in a honeymoon suite which was nice, if in need of a little updating. Didn't partake of the evening entertainment as we were so tired after spending the days on the beach (which is a nice walk from the hotel). Staff were very friendly and a special mention has to go to Eddy who seemed to be everywhere - a real asset to the hotel. Having read some negative reviews I was apprehensive, but there was no need and we will definitely be going back sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Many thanks for your generous review, and your 5 star award. I am delighted that you have enjoyed some of our exceptional facilities and hopefully next time you will be able to dance the night away with one of our fantastic cabaret acts.

Have passed your comments to all the staff especially Eddy who was taken by your kind comments. The hotel as you know is going through refurbishment and the honeymoon suite is definitely on the list :-). Pleased to know that you will return to see us soon with hopefully some sunshine.

Many thanks and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldkflower
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

My 3rd visit to the New Westcliffe, highley recommend for all ages. Great facilities, bedroom and location. The breakfast are good along with good choice of menu for evening meal. Good service and frindley owner who takes pride. More alterations will I'm sure lift the star ratings to 3-4. Pool, sauna, etc... excellent and clean. Will be going back again.

Room Tip: Room 27 was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldkflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the trouble to write your excellent review and we wlook forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#30 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Property: New Westcliff Hotel
Address: 27-29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing