We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEW WESTCLIFF HOTEL BOURNMOUTH.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NEW WESTCLIFF HOTEL BOURNMOUTH.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Completely endorse DAVID R review. We have stayed at the New Westcliff several times, and the food, service, and friendly atmosphere seems to get better each time. Paul is offering a very good package for the price. We would advise anyone who needs a central position in Bournemouth for a relaxing good value holiday to give the hotel a try. My tip! always ask for a annexe room for a bigger bathroom,and quiet location. Many thanks Paul and staff, I think you have got your business plan as good as possible in a difficult financial climate. DEREK M.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEREK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay & will look forward to welcoming you back to the New Westcliff Hotel whenever you can get the chance to visit Bournemouth again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    117
    72
    44
    45
See reviews for
86
199
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Really excellent with a first calss service. Nothing call be faulted with attentive service and good food. The quality of the rooms is good to excellent. Nothing too much trouble to the staff and management. Well done Paul and Rubina plus staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank You for your review on staying at the New Westcliff Hotel.We are pleased you enjoyed all the facilities & the cuisine that we have to offer.On behalf of the Management & Staff we would like to wish you a Merry Christmas & a Happy,Healthy prosperous New Year.We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit over to Bournemouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a fantastic night at the hotel the staff were wonderful and the food was fantastic, we would certainly go there again when we go to Bournemouth.For the price we paid we thought it was very good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank You for your review on staying at the New Westcliff Hotel.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here.Since your last visit we have made even more Improvements to the Hotel so customers can relax & enjoy its clean & comfortble surroundings.
On behalf of the Management & Staff we would like to wish you a Merry Christmas & a Happy,Healthy prosperous New Year.We hope to see you again on your next visit over to Bournemouth so you can see for yourself on how Bang On we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The food was great, the staff bent over backwards to be helpful and yes some of the rooms and reception areas are in need of redecoration....but the areas which have been refurbished are bang on. We hope that they can continue to improve .

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay_barnwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your visit,we are pleased you thought the Hotel was good value for money and enjoyed the service, meals and the facilities .We have made even more Improvements to the Hotel since your last sleepover and we hope that we will get the chance to show you around on your next visit to Bournemouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed there a couple of times now and have to agree with some previous comments good and bad.
The staff are friendly and the restaurant is efficient with good food.
Portions are small, especially the tiny breakfast.
The rooms I have stayed in are too small for the furniture or vice versa. In the rooms I've had a double bed, bedside cabinet, desk, chair and wardrobe all shoe-horned in with no space to walk round them.
The wi-fi is a bit hit & miss.
Old portable TVs have been replaced with small flat screen TVs but you can't see them unless you're standing up as they are perched on the old style bracket which blocks the screen when you're viewing from anywhere but the back of the room.
The bathrooms are tiny and it is best to leave the shower running whilst you clean your teeth or something before climbing in.
I have heard the cabaret echoing around the car park every night in all the rooms I've used.
I stayed in one room for a week and on arrival found an empty Haribo bag under the window behind a bedside table. It was still there when I left.
There's a guy with crazy hair works in there and I still can't decide if he's ok or if he's really irritating, clueless and rude.
The downstairs gents toilets (next to reception) are the finest part of the hotel and quite possibly the best in Bournemouth.
I think the hotel is quite average over all, in a good location but given the cost of the restaurant on top, probably a little overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yicker_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your 3 star reviews. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and your comments have been passed on to the staff and head chef. I noted your comments about the TV's but you will be pleased to know that once the rooms are being decorated and televisions are being fixed on the walls and a complete make up to bring it into line like our new public toilets by reception which you have approved so hopefully our new rooms will be to your satisfaction. The refurbishment is a working progress as we would like for it all to be of high quality as you have noted from the present work carried out so please bear with us till all it’s done as it’s a two year project.

We do offer FREE Wi-Fi in the reception public areas and depending which room you are in you are also able to get it in your rooms but this is not guaranteed.

Sorry that you felt the Breakfast was small given that we have a choice of cereals as well as a full English breakfast however in future is you require any additional please do not hesitate to ask where the chef will be willing to help.

Thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great Party for 40 people with Great food and fantastic staff everyone served quickly and seamlessly with no delays, well done to Head Chef Alistair and Eddie in the Restaurant. Stayed in Branch suite top quality well on the way to 4/5 stars standards which is the model for the rest of the hotel. Thanks to Annie Shepherd the Entertainer she made the night perfect for my partners 70th Thanks to everyone. Breakfast was just right plenty of choice for everyone.

Room Tip: Try the Branch suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulh742013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our room was rather tired, with a tiny shower room (no room for cat, let alone swinging one). Within these limitations the hotel staff were friendly, helpful, and the restaurant was excellent, with wholesome food, well-prepared. The owners are clearly trying hard to update, as and when they can, but vey difficult in these older buildings

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpha1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#30 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Property: New Westcliff Hotel
Address: 27-29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing