We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 17 March 2014

On arrival everything was in hand and we were given our key. The room was spacious, but the bathroom was unwelcoming and a bit tatty. We asked if we could change rooms and this was done straight away. This room was very pleasant and overlooked the Bowling Green.
The food is very good, tasty, hot and varied. Breakfast also good, but would have liked some fresh fruit.
Entertainment was provided on 2 of the 3 nights we stayed. There is a swimming pool and sauna in hotel, but I have not tried them yet, maybe next time.
I would recommend this hotel, which is clean and comfortable, although rooms are gradually being updated. Staff are all very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the gardens are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely 4 star review. I am pleased we managed to find more suitable alternative room for you and glad you enjoyed our entertainment and food, maybe next visit you will be able to experience our Leisure facilities like the Jacuzzi, Swimming pool and maybe the sauna.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just had a lovely stay at this hotel - ideal family room size, handy pool, easy walk into town and to the beach. Ideal for us with a coeliac toddler as they provided gluten free bread and even gluten free sausages for breakfast without any trouble - thank you, makes it a treat to be able to have a full English again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlutenFreeToddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your great 5 start review. We do try and cater for all diets and i am glad we could make things a little easier for you.

Wishing you all well and hope to see you soon.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Thank you very much to Paul and Robina for making my special birthday one to remember. I had booked 3 rooms for my family and myself. The rooms were roomy, clean and comfortable. I loved the pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The children really enjoyed the cinema. The entertainment was first class. A big thank you also to all the staff who were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I will definately be staying again in the very near future.

Room Tip: The branch suite was fabulous, large and modern with excellent en-suite facilities which included a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you Warren for your lovely comment. I was pleased to hear that you all had a fantastic time and enjoyed all of the many facilities the hotel has to offer.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Spent three nights for birthday celebrations. My bed was really comfortable, the room was very clean. All the staff made us feel very welcome and were very accommodating. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Many thanks for your review and delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel was ok. The room was small but clean, the beds comfortable. I stayed with a friend in a twin room. We went out in the town (not wishing to avail ourselves of the cabaret singer in the lounge or the screening of cocoon in the cinema) came home late only to have to hammer on the front door and repeatedly press on the door entry buzzer before we regained entry to the hotel. The night porter accused us of failing to press the buzzer correctly. My friend had breakfast the next day, not cooked to order, hard egg, nasty sausage. Check out is at 10 am which is too early in my opinion. I wouldn't stay here again, nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Glad you enjoyed the new beds. Our night porter buzzer is connected to the night porters pager and we don't seem to have had any problems with it but maybe that night there was a connection fault which rectified itself. I am sorry you did not enjoy breakfast in the morning as we pride ourselves in our fresh local products which is cooked to order like all our dishes, which is why we are able to cater for all diet requests as we can easily change sauces etc.

Check out is at 10.30am as we have to get rooms ready for check in at 2.30pm which is the average of most hotels.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the New Westcliff Hotel.The staff were always ready to help and accommodate us to the best standard possible. We had a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. The food was excellent and well presented. The night porter was a great asset and was one of the excellent staff that we had some interesting chats with, as was all the staff. I would recommend the hotel for value for money and the enthusiasm and courtesy of all the staff.
Thank you all and no doubt we will see you all again in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Many thanks for your superb review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Came with my sisters and mum combining relaxing and fun. We got exactly what we came for! Singer rob Roberts excellent performer combined with Eddie the reception/ barman/ Tina turner!! Laughed so much my stomach hurt! Well done great service, rooms cleaned and ready whilst we had breakfast! Swim sauna and jacuzzi made it a truly girlie time! Def come real value for money! Food was excellent could not fault!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babydolltaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Eddy sends you his very best and thanks you, as do we all, for your most generous review.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Montague Hotel
Best Western Montague Hotel
#45 of 66 in Bournemouth
500 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Address: 27-29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing