We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyeable return visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Westcliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #51 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Redruth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyeable return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here a while ago and had a very pleasant stay, and thought we would come again. On check in we were met by the very welcoming receptionist who recognised us from our last visit which was very hospitable.

There have been more improvements since our last visit, and they are obviously spending a lot of money on the hotel.

Food, as always was excellent and we really enjoyed the evening entertainment. We even had the entire leisure facilities to ourselves during our early morning swim!

If you want a friendly, relaxed service with excellent facilities then I can't recommend the New Westcliff enough. We have already booked our next stay and can't wait!

Room Tip: Ask to see the Branch Suite. Best room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks for the 5 star review Bill and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    115
    71
    44
    41
See reviews for
83
194
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
maidstone
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here last year and this hotel still represents good value for money. The food is excellent quality and service efficient if not always cheery. Choice perhaps could be a bit better. The only downside was the removal of the "happy hour" in the bar. In my opinion this is a retro step because guests using the bar whilst we were there was minimal. Apart from that all was much the same.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coopermanloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are looking into the happy hour and what we can do.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very run down and the room I stayed in was quite poor. Mattress was stained with blood and urine, could feel every spring in the bed. Food is good although some catering staff have poor attitudes. Quite a lot of mould and desperately needs replacing carpeting. There is entertainment on and is OK.. Cinema suite isn't worth bothering with. Pool is tiny jacuzzi is good. In general not the worst. But shop around.. Much better hotels in the area for the same money or less.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Reviewman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Sorry you did not enjoy our newly built 18 seat cinema or the choice of over 200 films neither did you enjoy our Leisure Facilities apart from the Jacuzzi. All our mattresses are brand new and orthopedic memory foam mattress so do not really understand where the springs come from but will investigate it and look into it.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonbridge kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Attended a concert at the BIC and booked an overnight stay at the New Westcliffe Hotel. Large car park was a bonus. Check in efficient although the reception area is tiny and the receptionist sits in the back office. All staff we met were charming and friendly. Room was very compact and tired looking but well equipped and clean and comfortable. Five minute walk to seafront but did get a taxi back as a steep hill and high heels were never going to work! Nice breakfast perfectly adequate for the very fair price we paid. Common areas appeared well worn but clean. Didn't try the pool but it looked fine. Considering the number of hotels in the Bournemouth area our google pick proved good enough but personally would not consider more then a night at this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you Rob and Sue for your comments. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcome you back to see our progress with the updating of the hotel.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just returned from a very nice stay at The New Westcliffe.We paid extra to get the best room and it didn't disappoint,brilliant.The food was excellent (thank you Alistair) as was the entertainment.We have visited this hotel on many occasions and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Ask for the branch or honeymoon suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 999wildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks for your superb review and delighted you enjoyed another break with us.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

On arrival everything was in hand and we were given our key. The room was spacious, but the bathroom was unwelcoming and a bit tatty. We asked if we could change rooms and this was done straight away. This room was very pleasant and overlooked the Bowling Green.
The food is very good, tasty, hot and varied. Breakfast also good, but would have liked some fresh fruit.
Entertainment was provided on 2 of the 3 nights we stayed. There is a swimming pool and sauna in hotel, but I have not tried them yet, maybe next time.
I would recommend this hotel, which is clean and comfortable, although rooms are gradually being updated. Staff are all very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the gardens are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely 4 star review. I am pleased we managed to find more suitable alternative room for you and glad you enjoyed our entertainment and food, maybe next visit you will be able to experience our Leisure facilities like the Jacuzzi, Swimming pool and maybe the sauna.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just had a lovely stay at this hotel - ideal family room size, handy pool, easy walk into town and to the beach. Ideal for us with a coeliac toddler as they provided gluten free bread and even gluten free sausages for breakfast without any trouble - thank you, makes it a treat to be able to have a full English again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlutenFreeToddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your great 5 start review. We do try and cater for all diets and i am glad we could make things a little easier for you.

Wishing you all well and hope to see you soon.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#29 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Property: New Westcliff Hotel
Address: 27-29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing