We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews were spot on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reviews were spot on”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Should have listened to previous reviews. Hotel located in nice area and not far from sea or town. That is as good as it gets. Waiting staff miserable and one waitress was rude not just to us but the table next door. Really felt uncomfortable and in the way. Spoilt our break. People coming in late at 2 am banging doors and laughing and talking kept us awake but you could get this anywhere. Hotel in need of redecoration and modernisation. This could be a really super hotel with a little tender care and improved customer service. Not impressed with breakfast very poor

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sally,

Thank for your comments and I am sorry that you have experienced this,please accept my apologies for those aspects mentioned during your stay.

Your comments about the disappointing service you received have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action has been taken as this was unexceptable.

The Hotel is being refurbished which does take time to get everything done as it is a 3 year project.

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and my apologies once again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    121
    78
    45
    47
See reviews for
90
208
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

just come back from another great week. food was excellent as usual .all of the staff go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable .entertainment was fantastic will be coming back soon.nb some people expect the world for a knock down price

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reginald b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Reginald

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the entertainment,service,food and accommodation that we provide as our main objective is that all our guests have a comfortable stay at the New Westcliff Hotel.

We are pleased we have managed to do just that and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just had a 4 night break for the wheels festival very enjoyable.The hotel was very comfortable room good tea coffee in room if you run out you only have to ask and they give you more.All the staff from the top to the bottom are helpful and friendly.I will stay there again.I would just like to say to the people who complain for the smallest thing they need to get a life.

Room Tip: If you do not like the room you are in they are more than willing to move you if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
A first class review Linda thank you so much. We were all delighted that the Wheels Festival turned out to be such a success. Hope to see you all again in 2015 when they are coming back with even more events and activities.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Its true, the front desk clerk is super nice but overall our stay was kinda scary. The lighting in the room was poor, tiny rooms, and to top it off we left early cause we heard a physical altercation down the hall. Can't really expect much from a two star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Jessica, sorry to hear about the dispute between guests down the hall and was pleased that night porter soon got the situation under control. We pride ourselves into not taking hen, stags etc to avoid such problems from accruing but its unfortunate that rarely they do happen.

Thank you for your kind comments about the front staff and they have been passed on.
Hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future in maybe in one of our larger superior double rooms.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Extremely small, very tatty room with rusty radiators. The shower fell off the wall whenever it was touched. Nowhere to put clothes in the bathroom, holes in the door where there used to be a hook. Tape along the carpet in the hallway. Only good point....friendly guy on reception.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilljnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for your review. Sorry about the carpet with tape in the corridors, i am pleased to say that the new carpet has been ordered a few months ago and we have received a confirmation date of the fitting on the 19th July which has been in the waiting as the first carpet was incorrect. You have booked a standard room which unfortunately they can be on a smaller size but had you mentioned your disatisfaction with the reception staff we would of been able to offer you a superior room for an additional £3pppn supplement or one of the suites.

The hotel is going through updating and modernization and some of the rooms have been done up but others still on the waiting but have requested for this particular room to be looked at as a priority.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

For some inexplicit reason the hotel was not as full as usual, which seemed strange as there was an offer of five nights for the price of four.
We arrived to a nice welcome, It is always nice to be welcomed by name and with a friendly smile, given our key/card and made our way to our room.
It was roomy and clean ready for our arrival with tea and coffee laid out for our use which was replenished daily by a very helpful chamber maid.
The food was really good, with choice and portions, very well presented and served by very pleasant waitresses.
There was even entertainment in the form of a singer on one evening, she was very good too and it was a shame there were not more guests there to appreciate her.
We have stayed in this hotel a few times before and have seen the major refurbishment that has been taking place.
Some can still be seen taking place but no work is being carried out to the detriment of guests so I have no qualms in that respect.
Our dailly papers were placed by our door promptly every morning as requested.
We certainly enjoyed our break and met some other interesting guests which are now friends and will certainly go back again.
I have not selected any particular member of staff for compliments as each did their respective bit to make our stay enjoyable.Thank you all,

Room Tip: All I can suggest is that if you don't like the particular room you have been allocated for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks for your superb review and delighted you enjoyed another stay with us.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, the evening meals where a bit hit and miss, depending on which chef is working, depends on how good your meal will be. The hotel could do with a bit of loving care invested into it, but its really not as bad as some of the reviews say.some of the on suites are on the small side. But over all its a base to stay

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank k j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks for your "Good Stay" review. Hope to see you back soon to see our refurbishments and how far we have moved to improve the hotel - it’s a 3 year project as quality and standards are important to us. I was sad to hear that you experience a bit of a mixture at dinner times and I will look into it as our Chef is very proud of his food and standards and is featured in the Dorset on a Plate Book which showcast Dorset’s Finest Chefs.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
399 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#31 of 66 in Bournemouth
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Property: New Westcliff Hotel
Address: 27-29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing