We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new beds please”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“new beds please”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have been a few times to this hotel the food is good the waters hot the hotel is clean but the beds are awful we slept on a mattress that was like sleeping on floor boards so please get that sorted apart from that everything was fine

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gloria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    119
    75
    44
    47
See reviews for
88
202
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stay at this hotel at least once a year and consider it excellent value for money. The staff are pleasant and friendly, nothing seems too much trouble. The rooms we have stayed in have always been clean and tidy obviously rooms are better than others as with all hotels. The food is good and service quick and efficient.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe room - we have found these rooms bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stay at this hotel 4/5 times a year.The staff are great, hotels clean food good with a in house cinema .I have never paid £70 a night .A few of the room are small ,so just ask for a family room . The indoor pool is good and the hot tub always clean. you get a lot for the price.Many other hotels in Bournemouth are more money, but still have problems. The refit is looking very smart. Well done to the owner and staff .see you soon.

Room Tip: ask for a family size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaD4479CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We look forward to seeing you again Anna and many thanks for your “clean ,great value for the money” review.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just completed our forth stay at this hotel and found it most enjoyable. Good food and some areas recently redecorated. Rooms were clean and staff friendly. We had a problem with the TV but this was sorted within a quarter of an hour of it being reported. Excellent service! unlike a certain hotel in the Isle of Wight who took four days last year to rectify a problem with the TV. We will most certainly be staying at the New Westcliff Hotel again and would recommended it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks for your superb review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I was glad to hear that we sorted your tv problem staright away.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Have stayed here many time's and still come back every year. The staff alway's friendly and helpful.The Hotel is undergoing refit but doing it very well. the best value for money, will be back again soon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks for the 5 star review Anne and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have stayed at the New Westcliff regularly for many years and have always had great service and found staff to be very friendly. The hotel is great for families or couples of any age. The swimming pool, jacuzzi and cinema offer things to do on a rainy day especially if you have children. You can easily walk into Bournemouth or go for a walk along the sea front from the hotel. I am suprised to read that some visitors have found problems with the staff as we have never been treated with anything other than kindness and helpfulness. One of the attractions for us has been that the staff are permanent and we see them year after year and have always received a genuine warm welcome, although I have heard some guests could perhaps learn some manners! We have had one visit so far this year and hope to make another two visits. Our daughter is booked in for October
to celebrate her wedding anniversary as she has done for the past several years. She was in fact panicking that her favourite room might have been booked as this is her only respite from caring from her 2 autistic children, and is the highlight of her year. We wish to thank the staff for all the happy times we have with them, and hope they have a busy summer as we feel this is the best value hotel in the area .great food - great staff-great hotel - great times

Room Tip: There are upgrade rooms available for a small extra charge, and we would recommend these. The Branc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosalynne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Rosalynne Thank you for your great 5* Review. We are pleased that you enjoy and appreciate our hotel facilities and approve of our refurbishment so far. Hope to see you in the summer and your daughter in October.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Dreadful, horrible, awful hotel. Everything is mismatched, cheap and old.
I would never, ever stay here again, food bad, service terrible, rooms old and ugly.
A really nasty hotel that doesn't even deserve the 1 star rating I had to give.
For £70 a night this was an utter rip-off.
Avoid, avoid, AVOID!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LauraAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you Laura for your feedback.

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and that our bedroom matching Italian furniture and the handmade curtains were not to your satisfactions. We are under a 3 year refurbishment program and have brand new Porcelanosa tiled public toilets and Suites together with brand new bedroom doors and Lockilock keycard locks which sadly are not to your liking and standards.

We take your comments into consideration, quality is our number one priority during this refurbishment program and standards are also very important.

Many thanks and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#53 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Property: New Westcliff Hotel
Address: 27-29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing