We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service fantastic”

The Durley Inn Harvester
Ranked #253 of 742 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Durley Inn Harvester in Bournemouth food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Bournemouth, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Branksome, Westbourne and Charminster, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service fantastic”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We went in saturday night and yes there was a wait for our table. The waitress Claire was excellent, management material definitely.
The service we received was second to none, she really looked after us. In regards to our food it was excellent, I ordered gammon, egg and chips and it was lovely. I just want to thank claire for making us feel welcome. Thank you .

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Durley Inn Harvester, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    183
    121
    96
    138
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Run down and dirty”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Awful experience. Shame as the breakfast at this Harvester & the waitresses are really great!
Service - one waitress was okay...the other one had holes in her leggings and appeared at our table just shouting out a number. The tables don't have numbers. I wondered if she was shouting out my age?!
The sausages & Yorkshire meal arrived without any Yorkshire...the restaurant had run out of other food and a drink we had ordered!
Restaurant needed plates etc tidying away...male staff - shirts hanging out...some wearing white trainers...some not.
Not offered any discount on our meal - pretty bad considering the Manager came over to speak to us.
He did, however, replace the plate of cold, dried up food served to one member of our family.
They were clearly finding it difficult to cope with the business of the influx of people coming in from the beach.
What is going on!
We're not in the restaurant industry - but looking around, we decided that the place needs a jolly good sort out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MarathonMum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Durley Inn Harvester, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have replied to you personally, as we are working hard at getting it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 693 helpful votes
“Not a good advert for Harvester.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went into this particular Harvester on Easter Monday afternoon after spending the day having a great day along the front. We saw The Durley Inn and thought lets have a meal and a drink. After waiting for a while at the entrance to be seated we finally decided to sit down around the corner and located a table for four with access for my mothers wheelchair. The place is perfect for access with Wheelchairs. We decided to get some drinks and then peruse the menu afterwards. I went towards the bar and found a very disorganized situation. There appeared to be two queue's one for just drinks and one for drinks and food. Some people were obviously in the wrong queue and this seemed to be an ill fated shambles which caused many people to get very upset. I joined the line for drinks only and after 20 minutes I finally got to the front of the queue. "Yippee I thought" however, another man decided to push in between the two queue's and was very annoyed at the service he was receiving!! He wasn't the only one I can tell you! The young barman to my amazement left me waiting without saying anything and started to serve this other person with his large round of drinks. This was the final straw!!! I walked away and several others behind me obviously decided that enough was enough as well. What made me angry was that there appeared to be many members of staff behind the bar not actively joining in to assist the customers. They really need some serious leadership at this place, as with the summer months coming and this absurd serving system in place, they will remain low down on the trip-advisor reviews list in Bournemouth, with many negative reviews. We wasted 30 minutes and at the end of this we left disgruntled, thirsty & hungry. I am sorry to say we will not be going back here again. I can't comment on the food or drink only the lack of service we received.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travellerclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Durley Inn Harvester, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Found by chance”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Found this place as we were walking along the beach in the evening - after snaffling a bottle of champagne on the way - it was time to eat! My goodness, we hadnt booked admittedly - but it was so very busy. Eventually got a table - but the staff had clearly had enough by the time we were eating. Adequate food - excellant location.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IDRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Durley Inn Harvester, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Harvester Durley Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not that good”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We only popped in here for a coffee however consistently heard a waitress walking with food orders, shouting the name of the dish and also shouting at customers to move out of her way. Bar staff could be friendlier if they want repeat business. There was a communal teaspoon left directly on a table for everyone to use to stir their teas& coffees with - not hygenic. Toilets not that clean either. If you are thinking of visiting, I suggest that you consider elsewhere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bakermidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Durley Inn Harvester, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
We are very sorry that you left disappointed, following your meal at The Durley Inn Harvester. We have emailed you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best service possible and your feedback can help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Durley Inn Harvester also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Durley Inn Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing