We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in Southbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Larder House

The Larder House
Ranked #24 of 736 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$31
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Southbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

I've passed the Larder House so many times and always thought I must visit one day and now I wished I had done it a long time ago.. It's a wonderful place! Love the sharing platters and tapas selection, coffee is delicious, the drinks menu looks amazing (so much choice and things you don't usually find around here), lovely staff and seamless service. Not to forget the cozy fireplace at the back - perfect for a chilly autumn night. Cannot believe it's taken me so long to find this wonderful place. Well done Larder House!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_fernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    105
    40
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Recently visited this restaurant during a short break to Southbourne. We were looking for a restaurant that was walking distance from our guest house and did our research. We noticed that the Larder House was consistently getting good reviews on Trip Advisor so booked a table.

My wife and I are not adventurous eaters so we were a little concerned that the menu would not be quite to our taste. We need not have worried as indeed you can try some adventurous dishes if you wish but you can also play it a little safer which we did. We both had an excellent steak and dessert and were pleasantly surprised at the modest bill. Excellent value, brilliant atmosphere and staff and all the boxes ticked.

Whilst having your dinner you may notice a locked door which when opened up by the staff reveals a bare staircase most intriguing. We noticed during the evening customers being let upstairs by the staff which spiked our interest. We discovered that there was a bar upstairs that you ask to be let into. Once there you are magically transported back to 1920 with a cosy inviting themed bar right down to the 20's music playing. The barman can whip up a mean cocktail and all in all a perfect end to the night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect dining experience. WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Had heard good things about this place, also had some Oh! You're dining at the Larder House reactions. We almost cancelled, because we thought perhaps we were not adventurous enough to appreciate the offerings. We had the best time. Our waitress was polite, knowledgable, and very attentive. The atmosphere & decor were excellent, only to be equalled with the best dinner I've had out for quite some time. Steak, with capers sauce, followed by a strawberry pastry ice cream affair, The chef is a genius. Well presented food. The only shock of the night was the bill, fabulous value for money. We ended the evening with cocktails at the best kept secret, the 1920's themed cocktail bar upstairs. Again the staff, extremely knowledgable. I wasn't sure which cocktail to choose, so I was asked, what sort of flavours I was in the mood for, the bar tender then whipped something up, which was perfect! Needless to say I had more than one!! Well! They were so reasonably priced!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wishes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Best coffee in southbourne , friendly welcome , decent Spanish beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Been using this place for a few weeks & its bang on every time, Fantastic enthusiastic staff !
Only problem is we have to have 2 coffees as its so good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful place every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Treated amazing by staff, day or night, keen attentive table service. Brilliant food, brilliant drinks, brilliant decor and surroundings. Staff dressed fabulously to suit the theme. Everything so authentic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim_oooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Larder House also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Larder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing