We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Outstanding Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Restaurant

Garden Restaurant
Ranked #316 of 729 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: US$13 - US$47
Cuisines: British, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The last word in seaside chic, Bournemouth’s Cottonwood Boutique Hotel is home to The Garden Restaurant, a stylish dining room in a sublime setting. Atop the cliffs looking down on Bournemouth’s seafront, The Garden Restaurant is the ideal combination of timeless elegance and contemporary charm. The bold wallpaper, antique furnishings and understated but glamorous use of chandeliers makes the room feel bright and modern while maintaining a sense of classic cosiness. Excellent value for money from start to finish, The Garden Restaurant’s menu is an experience in flavour with ideas from all over the world blended in inventive and exciting ways and bold British additions providing that touch of familiarity too. A fine wine list is offered alongside with hand picked selections representing both quality and affordability.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were staying the weekend at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel. The hotel has a restaurant underneath named The Garden Restaurant. In the dining area upstairs of the hotel, near the bar there was entertainment on the Friday night. We viewed the menu & asked if it was possible to eat the restaurant food upstairs so we could listen to the solo guitarist (Paul) who was very good. They kindly said yes. The menu offered 2 courses for £14.95, add a 3rd for just £3.50, with the offer you were also given a glass of house wine, an excellent deal. I had Smoked haddock risotto, Chargrilled minute steak & Sticky toffee pudding for £18.45. My partner had Buffalo mozzarella & Sautéed wild mushrooms for £14.95 in all £33.40! We had been told at reception when checking in that the food was very good. It was late so we'd decided not to venture too far & give it a go. It was the greatest decision as our meal was absolutely fantastic, we were amazed with every mouthful. I've not added each of the dishes descriptions, however they were exactly what they promised & more. The bar waitress Gemma was also outstanding as her service to us was first class with a warm friendly attitude. So this was night one & we could have gone anywhere in Bournemouth on our 2nd night although we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant again. This time we went for the A La Carte Menu. 2 courses for £19.95 or 3 for £23.95. I had Ballotine of chicken and oyster mushrooms wrapped in Parma ham, Roast fillet pork & Baked New York cheesecake. My partner had Cod cakes & Braised lamb shank. This time we were honestly blown away with the outstanding presentation & exquisite flavours. We both agreed it was one of the best meals we'd ever had the pleasure of eating. Let me just add that the restaurant had allowed us to eat upstairs again where a woman was singing songs to suit the mood. After the meal we felt compelled to find out who was the creator of such fine food. We boldly went downstairs & marched into the kitchen where we found an entire team of well dressed chefs. They were in a huddle observing paperwork for what I presume were details of future meals? We asked who was responsible for the food? A man proudly stepped forward, I apologised for storming into his kitchen & explained why. He introduced himself as Gary, thanked us for our compliments & told us that all food is prepared from scratch in the kitchen. The other men were cleaning as we spoke, this kitchen was large & immaculate. Gary then kindly gave us 4 of his special hotel cookies, oh my god, the amazement continued, the cookies were devine, this man is very talented. I seriously wouldn't bother writing this if I wasn't genuinely impressed. We live near Romsey & will be driving down to Bournemouth sometime in the near future to experience the taste sensations again. I will also check beforehand if Gary is still there delivering his mastery. I highly recommend visiting The Garden Restaurant in The Cottenwood Boutique Hotel, you will not be disappointed, this is not an opinion, it's a gaurentee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edsta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review on your two experiences at the Garden Restaurant at the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel. I am delighted to learn that you had wonderful experiences and enjoyed both the wine and dine and a la carte menu's.

Gary, our Executive Chef, is truly passionate about the ingredients, dishes and menu's that he puts together. He is a Chef's who enjoys tailor making bespoke menu's; if you don't see anything that takes your fancy on the menu - then just ask and the team will create something for you; dietary requirements - the majority can be catered for; if you have an event to arrange, maybe a wedding for example; tell us what you would like and Gary and his team will create it.

Gary and his team will be delighted with the feedback you have taken the time to put on Trip Advisor, it is very much appreciated. Thank you.

A great time to enjoy the hotel is during Bournemouth's Air Festival; spend the day watching the displays from one of the best locations on the East Cliff. Enjoy a full day of hospitality including reserved seating on the terrace or gardens, a cocktail on arrival, 2 course BBQ, afternoon tea and live music from 5pm. We would be delighted to see you there.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious Cream Teas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I love this place! We had a really lovely cream tea on Saturday afternoon. The bar was beautiful, clean and friendly. The view over the bay was not bad considering the awful weather. Will definitely be going back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentines evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We went to The Garden Restaurant for our Valentines meal, and could not have been happier. The decor from the moment you walk into the hotel is wonderful and we felt instantly that we were somewhere special. The bar area is beautiful, and the staff very helpful. Once seated at our table, things only improved further, with a plethora of helpful and friendly staff, in another beautifully decorated part of the hotel. Our meal was sublime, with each course being exceptionally well cooked, and with good portions. Upon leaving the hotel, the friendly receptionist ordered us a taxi, and we left feeling extremely satisfied. Everything was very reasonably priced, and we would definitely recommend going here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentines evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We went to The Garden Restaurant for our Valentines meal, and could not have been happier. The decor from the moment you walk into the hotel is wonderful and we felt instantly that we were somewhere special. The bar area is beautiful, and the staff very helpful. Once seated at our table, things only improved further, with a plethora of helpful and friendly staff, in another beautifully decorated part of the hotel. Our meal was sublime, with each course being exceptionally well cooked, and with good portions. Upon leaving the hotel, the friendly receptionist ordered us a taxi, and we left feeling extremely satisfied. Everything was very reasonably priced, and we would definitely recommend going here.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, price and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

The food here was great - we had delicious starters followed by steak. Each of us had them cooked differently and each was perfect!
The desert was absolutely AMAZING!!!
The young lady serving us was lovely too... would definitely recommend this to everyone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CriticalLis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden Restaurant also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing