We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 5 November 2012

On the whole this weekend just gone was very good. But a few points for the hotel as there were no comments forms to fill in.
The ladies toilets on Friday night smelt awful which was the sanitary bins, the hand driers were not working and ordinary hand towels had been put out to use, but with 2 of the 3 function rooms in use of probably around 200 people this was not at all hygenic. On Saturday night all 3 function rooms were in use and the toilets had not been cleaned and the same hand towels were in use, so by this time they were too wet to even use. Sunday morning we complained and they were cleaned.
The bar in the function room was not stocked very well and coke and lemonade were in jugs, I had a barcadi and coke on Friday evening which tasted peculiar obviously because the cola was flat and a cheap one taken from the pump system in the main bar.
Do you train your staff, we ordered afternoon tea, 1 small teapot (which had not been wiped when it came of the dishwasher was water stained), two miss match cups and saucers, perhaps was supposed to look like shabby chic, shabby definately but not chic, no teaspoons, no hot water, and he did not know what Earl Grey tea was.
On Saturday afternoon I ordered a lemonade from the main bar what this was I do not know it tasted awful, I don't know if it was cheap flat lemonade, soda water or even cleaning fluid.
In the evening we ordered white wine there was not any chilled the lad offered to put in an ice bucket, some 20 minutes or so later we ordered our wine, which he took from the Chiller quickly placed in an ice bucket for a few seconds, so it was not chilled and white wine needs to be cold.
The food was slopy and not at all professional anybody could have plated it up, admittedly we were on an all inclusive and ate in the room were dancing in, so had a choice of 3 options, the chicken was like a cheaper breast that you can buy in any supermarket or cash n carry, the swede was sloppy with a few pieces of sliced potato, not effort had been made, it would have looked much nicer had the chicken been sliced they probably could have made it go further also, and more veg would have been welcomed, the next night was not much better. The vegetarian options rissito and stroganoff were like baby food, bland, mushy boring.
On the bright side our room was clean, tidy and warm, although the bathroom was in need of some tlc.
We hada great time due to our hostess' brilliant dancing, and company.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kazpezzlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,083 - 1,089 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Just back home from a 2 night Group on stay with evening meal for one of the nights. We stayed in room 85 which was clean and nicely presented. The indoor pool was of a nice size and quite warm for a swim. The evening meal in the restaurant was good quality and the breakfast in the morning was excellent. All in all we had a very relaxing break and would recommend trying this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We go regular trips with Urquahart tours , but to keep the price down there selection of hotels are sometimes iffy , so when i read the reviews of this place it was fifty fifty, the answer maybe is that the hotel seems to have two sides as if at one time it was 2 hotels, the room we had was very big and clean , the hotel was excellent for a 3 star , we have been in worse 5 star,some of the adverse comments look like folk who want 5 star service for 3 star rating , the food was ideal and as a group we were offered only a small selection , but each evening we could not fault it , great selection for breakfast, i have to comment on the restraunt manager , i over heard him explaining to an older couple from our group who turned up late, that he would place them in the main part of the restraunt as our group would be finishing there meal and therefore they would be left eating in a large area on there own , a nice touch at no cost, good thinking, it looks as though the hotel was top class at one time and over the years has simply just got old, but we were pleasantly surprised and WOULD recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlacknessGaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Just returned from a 5 day/4 night break with David Urquhart Tours to the Carrington House Hotel on a DBB basis. The hotel is nice and clean, good food, great room (113) and excellent, friendly and helpful staff.
Really glad we went. Even the weather was good considering the time of year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyanderson1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Staff very nice and helpful. The lift is very old and broke down twice while we were staying and we were only staying for 2 nights. I think that the heating and plumbing needs to be updated, the radiator could not be turned down and was full on, the pipes under the floor boards were also heating the room so it was like being in a Sauna for the whole time, I ended up feeling very unwell. The cold tap water came out warm so I could not have a shower as it was scalding.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here for one night break including dinner, bed and breakfast. The room was lovely with a huge & comfy bed. There was a large bathroom that was nicely finished.
The staff were very helpful and all had smiles on their faces. You could see that the hotel catered for disabled travellers too as where there were steps there were also ramps and a lift.
The meal was lovely with ample portions.
There is an indoor heated swimming pool and a childrens play area.
Whilst you can see that this is a hotel that caters for business functions you can also see that it suits the needs of families, couples and a business worker.

Room Tip: We stayed in 154 which was large and quiet, the view was of the neighbouring flats but it suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AggieMacB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I booked this hotel via a Groupon offer for £120 (inc. Saturday supplement). I was expecting it to be awful from the previous reviews I read but it was not as bad as expected. I arrvied and parked on the road but was informed that parking was available at the back of the room. The staff were helpful and friendly which made it easier. The room for me was a very large, plenty of room, not a WOW room but clean and spacious. The main downfall was the noise. You could hear the doors slamming in the corridors which was annoying. The walls are not exactly soundproof and I could hear a bit of noise from the other rooms but it wasn't unbearable and did not last long. I didn't go down for breakfast but as I left it was extremerly busy when I walked past. The location was not too bad. It was a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the East Cliff part of the beach and about a 20-25 minute walk to the city centre. Easy checking out. I would not pay full price for the room but would pay the price I paid via Groupon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunkyMiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,566 reviews
1 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#47 of 66 in Bournemouth
678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £23 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing