We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Bad hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Had to use this hotel for 10 days while working ..all i can say is dont go here ..first room i had was terrible full of dirt and the shower didn't work,,to top it off the roof was leaking and all they could say was what do you expect its raining..well after being moved to another room which at least it didnt rain in ,,again shower was crap wall paper coming off the wall but at least it was warm n dry lol...all i can say is since Britannia have taken this over they don't bother about the guest my advice is don't use

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank si2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    232
    287
    179
    321
See reviews for
255
389
50
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed here for a girly night with my 6 yr old and although very dated décor (pretty shabby looking) it was a good price. For just under 50 we got room with basics. Pool in the morning, mini soft play, full buffet breakfast and parking included. Its pretty much a straight line if walking to town. The only negative worth noting was that reception hadn't registered us to the correct room so early evening 2 large gentlemen nearly entered our room. Luckily I had the chain on but issuing a swipe to an occupied room was a bit naughty. The receptionist did apologise in the morning and the staff were all helpful. If you want luxury perhaps go elsewhere but be prepared to pay a lot more.

Room Tip: Perhaps opt for an end of corridor as the walls aren't that thick, we only had noise from 1 side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dooglepoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked this as a last minute romantic get away and ended up being very dissapointed with the standard of this hotel (I should have read the reviews before I booked) !
Upon arriving at the hotel I found it very difficult to find a parking space anywhere on the grounds, which wasn't a good start. I was given very little information about the hotel by the receptionist (infact had to ask for information regarding breakfast & use of the swimming pool), this is the only hotel I have ever stayed in that doesn't have a welcome pack or information pack in the room.
The room was of a poor standard decoration wise (tiles missing off the bathroom wall, wallpaper hanging off the wall, along with the holes in the wall). One positive thing about the dimly lit room was that the bed was quite comfortable.
We decided to venture out of the hotel for a couple of hours and upon arriving back could not find a parking space anywhere which was quite frustrating and so I had to park the car up the road from the hotel, I was then greeted by a bunch of very noisey guests across the hall from us and what can best be described as a rave (extremely loud music from downstairs, which went on for a couple of hours and found it impossible to sleep through as the walls and ceiling was vibrating), some mention of this prior would have been nice!!!!
We were greeted the following morning by a man from maintenance knocking on our door asking 'Do you have a leaking bathroom as there is a ceiling dripping downstairs' (we had no idea what he was talking about?), the shower itself was very poor (hardly any water pressure).
Breakfast was pretty average considering the rating of the hotel and I have had much better at a 2 star hotel/bed and breakfast!
I would definetley not recommend this hotel to anyone and if I was one of the people who had to pay full price for the room i would definetley have asked for a FULL REFUND

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Hotel doesn't look great from the outside, but inside it has old world charm and there is an extra bonus that there is good parking at the hotel, and free parking on neighbouring streets. Had a delicious meal in the restaurant with very attentive staff (beautifully cooked steak and chips). Breakfast was excellent. My room was beautiful with a very large bed, excellent bathroom complete with complementary toiletries. Altogether a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston super mare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

this was our second stay at this hotel,room was clean,breakfast was great,staff were helpful and friendly.read trip advisor comments i dont know what some people expect yes the rooms could do with a lick of paint but as long as they are clean thats what maters realy enjoyed our stay and have booked again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The list of complaints I can think of could quite easily fill the Encyclopedia Brittanica of the hospitality list of no-no's.

(1) The housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. Despite numerous complaints - 'issues' arise. This includes waiting an hour for staff to help - then 3 failed calls to reception - waiting nearly 10 minutes.

(2) Management unconcerned about complaints - and don't help at the bar when staff overwhelmed.

(3) Bed linen either thread-bare - or had cigarette-type burn marks.

(4) The TV's aren't fully functional - not all the channels are available.

(5) Asked the receptionist(s) for head office contact info. - but played ignorant - I had to look them up online.

(6) Men's room near reception - part of roof had given way - electrical wires hanging loose.

(7) Floorboards creak - doors can only close with severe thud - the lift often malfunctions.

Heed my advice - avoid like the plague!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNKOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Booked 2 rooms, they were on the first floor. Both were very shabby but one was very damp, very smelly and actually a health hazard. The staff moved the guests in this room to an alternative which was much better but still very tired with wallpaper coming unstuck etc..

The public areas downstairs were comfortable and spacious and the breakfast was OK. The Hotel was reasonably priced and we only needed a place to sleep but I would never stay here again for while it appears some rooms may be just about acceptable it is obviously a lottery as which room you are put in.

Room Tip: View the room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
1.7 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Property: Carrington House Hotel
Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing