We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
south wales
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Nice place, could be so much better”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed for two nights £25.00 per night single B&B wow. for that price i was expected rubbish?
thats not what i got, I had an upgrade to a double room. R157 large room enormous bed, and bunk beds in the corner aswell, flat screen tv with full free view, was broken to start, so checked around and found ariel had come out of the wall behind the bed. twinnings english tea in the room, new kettle. clean bathroom, shower pressure a little rubbish but it worked. clean bed, clean sheets, clean fluffy pillows. bright clean towels. Water broke on day two so was given a key to another room, 243 room was ok, but was almost a single with double bed? glad i had my room.
Booked and stayed a third night, but had to book online to get discount price, as reception couldnt do it.
Breakfast?? uuhhmmmmm
first morning was shocking, no one taking control, set my own table, bacon was stone cold, appeared the hot ring had gone out, so as a member of staff walked past i said.... Excuse me the bacon is cold? stone cold? he said and i quote. " yes i know " " im waiter " and walked away. i complained with other customers who said thats what he does? he saw me talking about him and came over rather aggressively and said if you have problem with food you need go complain at reception, i am waiter not kitchen staff, food not my problem. SHOCKING
So i did complain, and pointed out the idiot with no manners. maybe thats why things got better.
Day 2 a little better, tables set and ready food appeared hot and was rather nice, on day three, they run like a well oiled machine, some one to take room number, someone to check tables set, a waiter to help top food up and check all was good, a waitress walking about clearing dishes as you went, WOW after the first days this was now being run by people who appeared to know what they were doing.
On the third night they had a Thai boxing tournament, full of idiots. sorry not full of, some were very nice people, BUT at the end of the evening it all kicked off in the bar/lounge. blood and teeth everywhere, shouting and screaming fighting in car park and out onto the street. Had to leave and retire to bed before getting caught up with idiots who couldnt control themselves or there drink. spoiled my evening of quietly getting drunk.
Free parking. approx 10min walk to nearest beach. and i would say 20mins brisk walk into the town. £7.00 for a taxi back from the town, although i had a taxi driver who thought he would rob me, and charge me extras?? 80p ? why?? because council tell them to add 80p to ever journey? why? instead of starting at £2.80 just start at £3.60 then? he explained 80p for first customer and 20p for each additional customer? POPPYCOCK.
Big question would i stay there again?
Hell yessssssssss
well worth it.

Room Tip: room 157 was great. R243 was very small. will upload pictures soon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allen2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    235
    289
    183
    323
See reviews for
257
393
50
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

To anyone thinking of staying at this hotel I must warn you..don't. Or if you do take a lock and key as the staff can't be trusted. Just got home from staying down there for best mates 21st party and woke up in the morning to find £200 worth of items stolen from our room. Little to no sympathy from Manager Monika (Manager of hotel- awful woman) and very little co-operation. Cops got involved, she continued to not disclose any information that they found to us i.e use of key cards, what time etc. Upon leaving she was seen smirking at us on the way out. Disgusting human being. Also previous night huge fight in the lobby absolutely no security anywhere. One woman was seen (I'm assuming she was security) got caught in the middle of the brawl. It took the cops to arrive to stop the fight. Blood everywhere. Staff just stood there getting a good look at what was going on. Oh yh and the showers are crap. Happy holidays!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I'm so glad I didn't read the trip advisor reviews before I booked this hotel! Let me start by saying this was amazing value we paid £29 per night for two people including breakfast. We arrived early, the girl on reception was very friendly and had the room ready within a few minutes. It was clean and tidy with a large wardrobe, plenty of hangers and a several drawers. The double bed was comfortable, there was a flatscreen tv with all freeview channels. Bathroom would benefit from renovation but was perfectly useable. There's no fridge. We only used the restaurant for breakfast which was buffet service with a good selection of hot food, cereals, fruit juice yoghurt etc. Its in a quiet area, I guess its a mile or so from Bournemouth town centre but Boscombe is much closer and there is a nice half mile walk through Boscombe chine gardens to Boscombe pier (try the Urban Reef Bar and restaurant). This was exactly what we were looking for and we would happily go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJohnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This has to be the worst kept hotel I've ever been to, we had an executive suite, this is a huge stretch in the description, yes it was large, but every wall had wallpaper hanging off & holes where "something" had once been fitted. On the first night we got an extra blanket from the top of the wardrobe, as the room was freezing cold because the heating hadn't been put on in the room, the first blanket was covered in black mould, the second had huge holes in it, so we settled for the third blanket which only had small holes. The bathroom had dirt & mould in every corner, the taps were disgusting with rusty water for some reason when they were first turned on, apparently this is completely normal according to the sign in the bathroom? The rest of the hotel was very dated & looked unkempt, it needs a lot of modernisation to bring it up to date.

Believe it or not I was actually enjoying the break & was willing to overlook all this as it was a cheap getaway until....... the Saturday night from hell. There was some kind of salsa dancing in the function room which started before we went out for the evening, around 6pm ish, no problem we thought, it'll be over when we get back, this noise went on until 1:30 am, the noise was relentless & seemed to get louder, I can live with loud music up to a point, but the bass was horrendous & rattled the windows in our room, at no point during check in or booking were we advised that this was taking place in the hotel. There was absolutely no chance of getting to sleep while this racket was going on. On top of all this some inconsiderate person set the fire alarms off at 2:30 am by smoking in their room. Even though the lift was out of order we could still hear some kind of lift going up & down during the early hours of the morning.

My only tip to anyone thinking of booking this hotel would be to avoid at all costs, if you do book it though, the breakfast was good :)

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank g1nga_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I booked the hotel for me and a friend as we were going to the Jessie j concert because It looked lovely on the website and was a good price. When we arrived at the hotel there was a lady on reception and we went over to check in, she sat at reception for longer than 5 minutes before she said "name" then "room 18" .. No other words from her. No smile or anything. So rude. We made our way up to our room and unpacked our things. We opened the window for some fresh air and there was a dirty nappy outside it!! We then noticed a hole in the wall and went to turn the tele on which did not work! Next my friend hung a towel on the rail which fell straight down! And then the shower did not work!! After all this we went to reception and explained to the lady that this was not acceptable for us to stay in, she said "you can use the pool shower" as we have no available rooms .. which would result in us having to drag all our stuff up and down to get washed. She wasn't sympathetic one bit so we asked for the manager. She then went out the back and came back saying 'I have given you room 152' So she had lied to us saying there was no rooms!! She then went on to say "bring me your old keys" very rudely. We went up and packed our stuff and moved rooms (which was actually very nice and smelt lovely) in the new room there was a plug socket hanging off the wall but that's it. At 2.30am the fire alarm went off and the hotel DID NOT evacuate the building!!! It was a false alarm but This is extremely disgusting as it could have been a real fire! The next morning we spoke to the manager who repeatedly just said 'sorry' and that she is working on getting the receptionist sacked. She didn't actually do anything about it and on her notes wrote nothing more than "18/152". Great note taking that was. Around the hotel there is open fuse boxes (we have taken pictures) which is extremely dangerous when allowing children to stay in the hotel!! Wallpaper hanging off, major smell of damp, broken Plug sockets and much much more. Overall this hotel was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and would not recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GCRC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Executive room what a joke was not shown when our rooms were or even directed had to navigate ourselves. No lights no bulbs in lamp. Reported to reception went to dinner came back late 11:20 still no lights. Bathroom was the only light working No tv in room very disappointing. Lift not working had to lift pram up and down the stairs. Bar ran out of most drinks and were quite rude about it bar closed because of this. Service very poor to no existent. Music extremely loud until 1:30am. Fire alarm activated at approximately 2:15 no procedure in place and manager incompetent. Will not stay again a seriously terrible weekend that will never be forgotten.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Letitia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

hotel is officially ratted 3 star and it's about right. Hotel is very large and rooms are spacy but the letdown is the quality of beds.We stayed ina twin bedroom where one of the matresses was broken so I've had a painful first night. Next day we were moved to their premier room with an excellent super king size bed. Breakfast excellent. Stuff is very kind. Quiet hotel location between Boscombe and Bournemouth town centre

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zak0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
1.7 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Property: Carrington House Hotel
Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing