We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #61 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 25 January 2014

my first impressions when arriving for a overnight stay was oh no....
the front of the hotel is very run down and one of the front windows piled with furniture. the reception area is very well placed and helpfull staff. the bar area was clean and spacious although understaffed. the dining area again clean and spacious -our room 206 was big but so so dated black tape on the worn carpet to hide the holes,the nets were filthy the wallpaper was hanging off the wall,the bathroom was clean and tidy but mould all around the tiles. brekfast good but would have been nice to have been served the tea and coffee.
would not go back and would not recommend

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Obviously this cannot be compared to 5 star hotels in any way, shape or form. It was some scruffy bits, equipment that doesn't work properly and damage to some furniture; cosmetic stuff that these prices do not allow to be rectified quickly.
That aside we had two £25 a night rooms, one of which was huge. Reception were polite and helpful. Sometimes it's a matter of getting what you give I guess looking at some of the other reviews but all staff were very helpful to us, particularly reception. We slept well and having many high class restaurant experiences was pleasantly surprised that breakfast was so good considering what we had paid. For a B&B it couldn't be beaten for value! Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a voucher. Hotel was generally fine. Room was spacious and bathroom good. Lovely, plentiful breakfast. Great value. Only 5 mins to beach and 15 to city centre. We walked to both. There was a ball pit play area for my 2 year old. Pool was not open though. Maybe people don't realise how difficult it is for these hotels to keep going in the winter?!! It was fine for £29!!! And a nice free bottle of wine

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saffydaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a nice weekend, in spite of the weather. I was a Groupon deal so we didn't expect too much. The room was okay, it was tired and needed decorating, the net curtains needed laundering.
The food was pretty good for a buffet style.
The major problem was, coming back hot and sweaty from a dance, I needed a bath. I ran it half full and it was like orange juice. I emptied it and ran another.... same thing. Tried calling reception, no answer. As my partner needed to take some essential tablets, I went to reception who gave me 2 jugs of water, not the bottled I requested. He said he would get it sorted in the morning, I had to offer my room number, so suspect they knew the problem. We got to bed about 1am. The morning meant both trying to bath and get ready for breakfast and check out, The water being clear by now. Due to the rush, some things got left in the room, they are not answering the phone so cannot arrange to retrieve the things left.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I suggest that the manager sorts out the staff, we have booked to go in a couple of weeks as a cheap get away for a night, we haven't even gone yet and all i done was call to ask the walking distance and the price of a taxi and the lady was very rude, I couldn't quite believe it! If when we arrive if anyone is that rude to us! We will be asking for the manager!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank holidays_4_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Booked this hotel with a 2 for 1 voucher , only to be told there was a problem with the voucher on arrival - we were left to sort this problem out ourselves and were not allowed into our room until the problem was sorted. 2 hours later the problem was sorted and it turned out it was the hotels error . The customer service was dreadful , no one seemed to be bothered or sorry about the issue
The room was tatty - with a ripped divan , cracked, chipped paintwork and mould around the bath - never will I visit this hotel again !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Warning to any one who is looking at booking a room in this hotel. I warn you please do not stay at the carrington house hotel. I stayed here on the 11/01/2014 on a christmas party from my work. My room plus 6 others got broke into, damaged windows and broke into my room and decided to take perfume, after shave, electric razor plus my ipad and my girlfriends GHD hair striaghtets, i was down stairs with every one else in the hotel. I come into my room at around half 12 at night to find my room had been robbed. The police got called as it was other rooms that got broke into aswel. Finger prints and foot prints have been taken from police so ita just the matter of time to wait and here back from police after handing over a few details. The manager of the hotel said this is not the first time this has happend. The hotel manager put up abit of an arguement with the police when he was akses to show them cctv which makes me think it could have some think to do with the hotel workers. No one got a warning on goods not to be left in hotels rooms but once rooms had been broke into the manager tryed telling every body he left a note in the room saying any goods that are left in room are under your own problem which was all lies as there was nothing saying that. Any body should feel safe enough to leave things in a room if staying in a hotel. I think this hotel should be shut down as its just a complete joke and makes me feel sick the fact the manager really does not care about it. I have nothing good to say about the carrington house hotel but please i warn every body and any body please do not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karlbray1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,569 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,119 reviews
1 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#47 of 67 in Bournemouth
681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £23 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing