We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs knocking down and re-building!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs knocking down and re-building!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The place is a bad and is way over due major repairs inside and out! Rooms are damp, smelly and un-useable! The service was extremely bad, I would never go back in a million years! Reception didn't care when you made a complaint! This is not a hotel but more like a slum!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    237
    295
    187
    333
See reviews for
264
402
54
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was actually initially disappointed that I couldn't get into the Carrington for a weekend charity event but by the end of the weekend I genuinely felt that the hotel I ended up in - the Travelodge - was an upgrade. An upgrade that actually cost me less than if I'd stayed at the Carrington.

This isn't going to be a review on what I heard, but what I saw when I attended.

1. The hotel was massively understaffed for the event. They had barely any serving staff there to cope with the several hundred people that attended the Saturday night meal. The small staff that they did have were fantastic but they needed more support from their management. I think I counted just five people serving. This just isn't good enough. The bar staff were also woefully undersupported by the management and queues at the bars were common over the weekend.

2. I know we're going through some terrible weather right now, but the damp ceiling at the bar couldn't have been because of this. The ceiling was cracked and water was coming in, requiring the use of buckets in the main bar. Initially I thought they were getting in on the 'cowboys' theme of the Saturday night by giving us spitoons, but no they were there to catch the leaks. This not only made the bar look like amateur hour but caused a major trip hazard.

3. The quality of the meal on the Saturday night was poor. The soup was bland and the roast beef dinner was cold. And what were the Yorkshire Puddings? Did someone go around the back of a Lidl and rummage through the rubbish? They were cooked so hard that it knocked out a filling. I also had a meal on the Friday night in the restaurant and it was terrible. Again cold - I didn't think it was possible to get a burger wrong. I was mistaken.

Our event is moving to a hotel in Southampton next year. Goodbye Carrington. I hope you treat your staff and customers better in the future, but I doubt it.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank retroEnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

What this hotel needs is owners who will treat the building, it's staff, and it's guests with respect, instead Britannia have chosen profit above all.
* The hotel is woefully understaffed.
* It's structure is decaying from years of neglect.
* There is water coming through the ceiling in the bar area and there is plenty evidence of other water damage throughout.
* The lights in the bar area flicker, probably because of the water ingress.
* Only one of the electrical sockets in the Windsor Suite works (it's a large room with many sockets.)
* There are missing panels in walls exposing wiring looms.
* There is peeling paper and staining throughout.
* Carpets are patched with gaffer tape, including stairs.
I understand that Britannia have plans for the place, but I don't think service to the customer will be top of the list. Take your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JanTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just spent an extended long weekend here, used to be quite a nice hotel, but since last Lear (February 2013) it has really let itself go ( Also taken over by Britania Hotel Chain in this period)'.
None of the lights worked in our room, 2 of them had no shades, 2 had shades but were broken. A large mirror that was supposed to be on the wall was propped up by the door, shielding the fact that the Mains distribution box had no cover. A meal we attended on the Saturday night consisted of pea soup (palatable but dull), Roast Beef ( cold) with vegetables (carrots not cooked), and a new take on 'Bread and butter pudding' that seemed to consist of just bread soaked in egg custard, with chocolate sauce spooned over...... No sultanas or currants in evidence... Breakfast in the morning was serve yourself buffet style, something was tainting the tast of all the fried options, I suspect the oil possibly?, and the hash browns were more like Hash near blacks. Mains wiring hanging from uncovered conduit was seen at floor level, The swimming pool was cold and in need of cleaning. I even spotted some ceiling light held in place with Blue Tac. I shall NOT be returning whilst the current owners are in possession, nor shall I visit any other Hotels they own!

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJordan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel during a charity event for the last 5 years. It has never been particularly sharp, but never has it been as bad as it was this weekend.

The bar had buckets on the floor. These had the intended purpose of catching the drips issuing from the water-stained ceiling but were far more successful in providing a trip hazard for both staff and guests.

Speaking of drips, the shower was woefully underpowered and could only be described as having a comfortable temperature if you took an average over 10 minutes.

In my room, forgetting that curiosity killed the cat, I touched the door to the adjoining room which was slightly ajar. Not being fixed to the frame, it fell on top of me. Admittedly there was another door behind it, but I decided not to check that that was locked in case it was propping the hotel up.

On Friday morning I tried the 'heated' pool. This needs to be rebranded as the 'hypothermia pool' and recommended to stag parties as a way to prove their manliness. I managed to get in up to my knees before I decided that full immersion would probably induce a heart attack. (For a gentleman, full immersion would result in you not seeing your nadgers for a month.) Within a few seconds of removing my flip-flops and padding across the changing room afterwards, my soles acquired an attractive coating of grey grit, which then had to be washed off in my scalding/freezing room shower.

Then we move on to the staff. Don't get me wrong, I think all bar one or two were lovely and doing their best in difficult circumstances. None of them seemed happy, and many of them appeared to have had only minimal training. Basic equipment (who ever heard of a bar without a corkscrew!) and leadership were often not in evidence. The staffing levels were extremely low given the number of people moving through the hotel, rarely was there not a queue in front of the bar or reception. Such a lack of preparation speaks volumes about the hotel management. I would also doubt that the hotel would pass an HSE health and safety inspection.

I understand that Brittania (they own the hotel) plan to convert the conference rooms in the Carrington House hotel into bedrooms. That being the case, they may well justify the poor service this weekend by saying that they won't be hosting this sort of event again anyway. However, if you're thinking of staying here in one of their cheap rooms, you might consider this: If they couldn't be bothered to provide even a basic level of customer service to a charity event that has been loyal to the hotel for 18 years AND brings in a lot of money for the Carrington, will they care about a couple of people who are only spending a few pounds there?





















Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Went for a weekend convention and i must say i have never had such a bad experience in my life,from the food to the service it was absolutely diabolical. One bar person to serve at least 250 people and by no means am i slating the staff i actually felt sorry for them and 5 or 6 staff trying to serve a 3 course meal to 500 people was beyond a joke. The soup was inedible and the beef for the main course actually looked like it was boil in the bag. The owners of this hotel should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves. The only plus point to the weekend was we managed to raise £4,000 for teenagers with cancer and i personally think the hotel chain ought to match this amount as compensation for the terrible stay myself and my friends had. I would never recommend this chain to anyone, so i hope they do the decent thing by donating what i have suggested and maybe can give themselves a bit of damage limitation!

Room Tip: Don,t even go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clifford J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

One bar staff to serve over 200 paying customers. Food was inadequate, decided to go elsewhere and pay for it. Will not be going again, glad next year the event will be held in Southampton, Southampton's gain is The Carrington's loss which is sad as we have used this hotel numerous times for this event; should have been better prepared.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,719 reviews
1.7 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
1.5 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Property: Carrington House Hotel
Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing