We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“what a let down”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a let down thaime went to check in was moved as wrong room given room key given didn't work...... no English speaking staff had to go to reception 3times .... bath panel hanging off shower didn't work just strait down the wall so ended up having to hold it..... as I have chron's disease can't have certain foods asked for the gammon with no sauce had muttering and being talked about as I was special.... m not.. ..! Then to hear the room next door was burgled taken few bits ..... won't be going back so massive thanks to carrington for ruining my reason I stayed and my ability to enjoy my self with worrying all night

Room Tip: Don't go on the first floor at the back near the stair well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambi301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    235
    289
    183
    323
See reviews for
257
393
50
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GUIDFORD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had added on one night either side of a planned group weekend with a Dance Party starting on 14th March . On arrival no lifts. Window lock not working in room, although temporarily repaired when we heard that there had been a burglary earlier on in the week, apparently not the first!!!! On leaving on the window lock was again faulty.
We were part of a group in a booking that had been made two years earlier. Rooms had been double booked so part of the party had to be moved elsewhere and only join us for dinner in the evenings which should have been served but turned out to be buffet style on one of the evenings.
Staff argumentative when requests made, no decaff coffee, no ice, no late bar on Fridays. Evening meals all pre prepared food choice of only three options. Staff blaming one another for problems
The organiser of our party had been using this hotel for the last 7+ years with very few problems, not using it anymore.
On our last evening there was a knock at the door at 10.50 pm to ask if we'd moved from another room as room 19 had ordered drinks and didn't have enough credit on the account. We were in room 26 for the four night stay. Strange that it couldn't have waited until the morning or someone could have made a phone call, and it was one of the staff who had been in the bar chatting to the barmaid earlier in the evening whilst we were talking to friends about our day.
We had an executive room as previously requested. The top sheet and the blanket were too short for the bed and the blanket was also torn, you also have to run around in the shower to get wet!
The best bit was when we were leaving (trying to sort out our bill as we‘d been over charged by £99.00, as our extra night bookings had not been linked up to the original booking) I was waiting for my husband in reception music playing Perfect Day to the sound of staff arguing in the office. Classic!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJBGuidford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, because some of the reviews I had read were not good.
The reception area is spacious with lots of seating. My room was clean and comfortable, but could have done with a few minor things being dealt with. Food was good and the dining room was pleasant. The staff were excellent, very friendly and obliging. I spent a lovely weekend here and would be very pleased to come here again as it represents good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

After reading the reviews i thought oh god what have we booked however its not as bad as you think it will be. Friendly staff,pleasant rooms,good breakfast and they have a nice dining area. They also do a 3 course dinner for £10.00 in the eve (its not greeeat but its cheap). However...... the corner of our bed was broken, pool did not look great. I did not see one person use it and there are no staff watching the pool either which i thought was bad. One night we went to the bar and they did not have any coke or lemonade (basically any mixers) as they had a large party of people in one of their event rooms, this left everyone else a little short of choice and staff did not go out and replenish anything :(. Someone's name was also pencilled in on the wall but this was behind the curtain.. Its very old fashioned/tired looking but with some tlc could be a great hotel. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

great overnight deal at only £25 for a room for the night, including parking, wi-fi, the fulll english buffet breakfast and use of the pool. But the main light in the room didn't work, nor did the TV remote, I couldn't turn the tap from shower to bath as it was broken and there was no soap or toiletries at all in the bathroom. Comfortable bed, plenty of space and very friendly staff, so what more could you really expect at this price?

Room Tip: check everything works before you unpack, and if not ask to change rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I booked this hotel two days in advance and paid £35 B&B for a family room on a Saturday so I wasn't expecting too much and was ready for a dive of a hotel. I was therefore very surprised to find that the reception staff were polite and helpful, and our room was clean and neat and spacious for three of us sharing. Yes there are some complaints - the smoking area is right by the entrance, the pool was freezing cold, we waited for half an hour at the bar because it was understaffed and the hotel grounds were untidy and could do with a clean up. However for £35 I wouldn't let this put me off staying again and with breakfast included is good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellerz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

At £27 for two people including breakfast it is hard to find fault. Yes the rooms feel a little tired and there is NO soundproofing but the staff are really friendly and the location is perfect with ample parking.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
1.7 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Property: Carrington House Hotel
Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing