We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No excuse!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrington House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #63 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No excuse!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I know we had a cheapish deal but that is no excuse for the appalling condition of the bathroom of room 104.

The shower curtain was dirty, the basin had a huge black crack across it and was also blocked.

Room Tip: One previous comment has remarked that there is no clear signs for the upper rooms. We went up in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    230
    285
    176
    316
See reviews for
250
387
50
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel last week, NEVER AGAIN ! It is dirty unkempt & a health & safety nightmare. Carpets poorly taped down, fire doors propped open, cooking oil stacked outside under steps, grounds overgrown , building work going on , food terrible, curtains in our room filthy, bathroom fittings all broken, shower unusable, Toilet badly stained, very little choice in room for tea & coffe & no choice of milk. I could go on , continental breakfast doesn't exist , restaurant & bar staff treat you as if you are invisible & all look really fed up ! Only one saving grace a lovely & extremely helpful receptionist called Ava she was a star, very professional in difficult circumstances, well done Ava. Possible guests beware this place is not what it looks !!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Tired and dated. Rubbish plastic shower that had given up the ghost years ago and taps that sprayed your clothes every time you turned them on. Labyrinthine corridor to first floor rooms but no clear signage for finding your way back again. There could be pensioners lost in there as we speak!
I did have a balcony complete with two plastic chairs but the view was, shall we say, resistable.
Don't go.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Timtee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

In reference to our holiday as detailed above 02/06/14 to 06/06/14 at the Carrington House Hotel Bournemouth.

Having previously booked with Ukbreakaways, we obviously had certain expectations from your four star hotel listed as and I quote, “Excellent standard of accommodation, usually offering and increased range of facilities,” The Carrington does not in any way shape or form live up to its star rating or your brochure description.

When we arrived we could not get on the car park, while I understand community cohesion, it shouldn't have a negative effect on hotel guests, examinations in progress meant that the car park was unavailable until early evening, meaning my wife and I couldn't enjoy an afternoon glass of wine.

The hotel itself is currently undergoing renovations on a major scale, which is not a problem if you intend to holiday on a building site, however the aim of our break was to celebrate fifty years of marriage, so again was left disappointed.

To say the bedrooms were tired looking is a vast understatement, the décor was outdated and in need of repair, the bathroom was substandard and in need of attention from a plumber.

Our evening meal provide yet more cause for complaint, the food was bland and unappetizing, I have eaten better at our local hospital.

On to our evening of entertainment, again I will reiterate what your brochure states that you offer, “Accommodation offers some entertainment,” except that the Carrington doesn't offer entertainment at all. When booking our holiday I doubled checked that evening entertainment was on offer as advertised and was given every assurance that it was. Fearing I had made an error and booked the wrong hotel, I consulted the brochure only to find that it was the company at fault again, just quick look at the symbols you can identify what is happening at each venue. My choice of hotel was based on entertainment.

I did not mind the work men coming in the bar with their work clothes, although I did expect a dress policy in a four star hotel, and to find chair covered in builders dust was not what I expected.

Upon chatting to other guests I was not alone in my concerns and am sure that you will be hearing from many more people. I was horrified to discover that the coach party that stayed the same time as us only paid half what we did, and am sure that they didn't have issues with an oversubscribed car park.

The whole holiday was not only a huge disappointment, but was not what I had paid for, in a time of mis-selling scandals I firmly believe this is what has happened, before I take matter further I would be interested in your response to my complaint and am looking forward to a full refund of the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrdbarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I travelled as part of a golf group staying at this hotel for 4 nights on a dinner, bed and b/fast basis with single room occupancy. This was our 4th visit to this hotel. We make our own booking and have received a very favourable rate on each of the occasions we have stayed there. We'd been more than happy to return based on previous experiences. Unfortunately on this occasion our experience has resulted in a group decision never to use this hotel again. From the moment we arrived the whole experience was simply awful. Some of the group were assigned to rooms that should not have been in use. I was assigned to a room that was already occupied and was given a key which gave me access. I'm sure the occupant must have been somewhat alarmed when I entered the room. The dinner on day 1 was almost inedible and we only saw a very limited improvement after the group organisers had met with the Hotel Manager. In fairness to him he did his best to rectify the situation. We know that the hotel had been taken over by the Britannia group since we last stayed. It was very disappointing to return and find that the systems in place for serving guests had deteriorated so badly.
The hotel is in need of a major overhaul. The standards of cleanliness in the public areas (hallways and corridors was abysmal. The decor is desperately in need refurbishment as is most of the plumbing. It was noticeable that there were considerably fewer staff members than on previous visits and except for the last night we had to queue at the bar to be served drinks.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Booked in here by mistake and was pleasantly surprised, took the dinner bed & breakfast option, fantastic value, food was superb, no its not the Ritz but nor is it Ritz prices. Near to the beach, great staff, would use again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here over the Bank holiday weekend. Clean enough but needs a big revamp! Bedrooms dated, swimming pool and sauna facilities not pleasant enough to get us in them!! On the up side, breakfast was great and our room was lovely and peaceful.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet one at the back! Other people were complaining of noise at 3am but we slept so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowysheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#61 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#58 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
1.7 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Property: Carrington House Hotel
Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing