We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not represent value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Cotswolds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Does not represent value for money.”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Firstly, the TV remote didn't work (although claimed to be checked daily). Limited menu and food of average quality only. First evening meals arrived cold. Even as residents we were unable to book into the restaraunt and had to eat in the longe/bar. Room very noisy as it overlooked the rear car park and porter's trolleys were going to and fro until the early hours. Objected strongly to being charged £10 daily to car park. Day visitors were allowed to park (at a charge) - priority should be given to residents. Room not worth £180 per night. We are regular "short break" takers frequently in Hotels all over the UK and suggest far better value might be obtained elsewhere.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Emporer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    486
    242
    113
    65
See reviews for
267
598
36
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Great hotel in terms of location and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warwick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

A party of us visited this hotel at the weekend, and had a thoroughly good time. The staff are trained well and present (mainly) a friendly ambience. Breakfast could not be better if you like the traditional English! The position at the top of the cliff is extremely impressive and exhilarating with the breeze and sunshine. Goos health/leisure facilities too. A really good break for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolcrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We booked this hotel using Marriott Reward Points .. but werent sure what we would get with a UK Marriott . We should not have bothered worrying !
When we checked in we were greeted with an upgrade to a 1st Floor Seaview Cottage Room . The room was lovely ! We had a lovely view of the sea, overlooking the outside pool and tennis court.
The only minor moan about the room was the design of the shower nozzle in the bathroom .. I managed to soak the whole bathroom ! However, the water pressure was good !
We did not manage to fit in time to use the SPA , but we did have a quick look inside the building and the staff there were very helpful and pleasant.
Breakfast was standard delicious fare !
This is a great Hotel to use as as base to see Bournemouth . I would highly recommend it !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DISAPPOINTED122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2011

A grand entrance lobby welcomes you at the Marriott. You know you have arrived, when you whizz past the revolving doors. The barside banter on the left, and couples sharing dinner at the right - are a welcome sight to the day-long-worked-up business traveller.
The bright blue sea sprawls right in front of the hotel. Being a mostly residential area, there are quite a few pubs around the corner and a few good restaurants too. But otherwise, this place is quiet and meant to drop into the ooooh-so-comfortable bed for a good night's rest.

Extensive spread on the breakfast, and a good selection of wines and champagne albiet complemented by a niche but limited menu on dinner - is a welcome change compared to others in the area like the Carlton and the Menzies. Just walk down the ramp to the sea, and one comes across a lavish sea-food restaurant that serves phenomenal lobsters and other sea food.

The rooms in this Marriott are the standard comfortable, largish rooms. Digital LCD TV is standard. However internet usage is charged! A hefty 15pounds for a day worth usage - too expensive. The hotel has two parts - the front (and the newer side I believe) facing the sea and the older one behind the newer one.

Getting to your room, if in the backside part of the hotel, is a challenge. A lift here doesnt go all the way to the ground floor, and the one that does is at an extreme end of the hotel.

Rooms are comfy, with typical Marriott style beds that are soft, warm and ooooooh-so-comfortable. An iron and ironing board + hairdryer are standard fitments in the room. Telephone calls from the hotel are expensive - avoid using the phone. The bathrooms boast of aroma therapy suite of soaps and oils.

Separate smoking area and I believe complimentary parking, are provided. The hotel is about 10mins drive from the town center and the business hub. The folks at the reception and the waiting is warm.

A good halt for a few days for both - business travellers and for leisure.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New_Face_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed for a valentines break, we live in bournemouth so we know the hotel had a good reputation. We recieved a really warm welcome and the staff were really helpful at all times. We went for a swim in the pool, sat in the jacuzzi and had a really relaxing time the facilties are great and we had some treatments as well. We ordered room service which was served really quick, only qualm was the bread on my partners sandwich was a bit hard so we asked for it to be changed which it was no problem. Our stay included breakfast which you can have served to your room, it was the best breakfast ever served on the time we requested. The room was great with a sea view. overall we had a brilliant time and would reccomend to all next time we will bring our children.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahandelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Stayed here for a Valentine's Special weekend deal. Hotel lovely, room nice, food in the HCG (High Cliff Grill) excellent and staff very nice and professional. The hotel was also the quietest I have ever stayed in. I know it is off season but we had a peaceful night's sleep. The bed was like a huge marshmallow.

Only let down was that we had to dust our TV cabinet's top - the air con seemed to gradually blow dust over it. Also, parking is a bit of a nightmare - this hotel needs alot more parking for its size. If you are worried about where to leave your beloved car like we were, it can be a problem.

Prices are about £25 for a reasonable bottle of wine (we laughed because the wine we asked for we recently bought in a store for £6) and cocktails are about £8 each so a bit pricey but what can one expect? We go on alot of cruise ships and some of our stay reminded us of them. Great location and would we go there again? Yes of course we would.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencerallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing