We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Tamworth, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Arrived at the hotel around 3pm. Car park is at the rear of the hotel and we were lucky to get the last parking space. During the rest of the weekend the car park was completely full with ALL space taken. Had we wanted to move our car during the weekend we wouldn't have been able to. 6 cars were blocking us in. Thankfully on the Monday morning it was back to normal and we could leave around 9am. This problem may have been due to the fact that the hotel had 2 weddings on the Saturday.

Despite arriving at 3pm, our room wasn't available until after 5pm. We were given a free drink for our inconvenience.

The room was a typical Marriott room. Clean, well presented, etc. The bathroom was spacious with a bath and separate shower. The only criticism was that, being on the 3rd floor, it took an age for the hot water to reach our taps.

The hotel itself is very nice and well kept. Furniture and decoration in keeping with the building. We took a look at the pool areas which were clean and well maintained. We didn't get around to using them though. The hotel is a little isolated. The position of it is lovely with wonderful sea views. It is next to the funicular railway which runs from promenade level to the hotel. Unfortunately, it closes around 6pm so is no help after an evening out. The walk from the hotel to the beach/pier area if the lift is closed is down a considerable slope which the more infirm may find a little taxing. (Especially up hill after an evening out). There aren't many restaurants close to the hotel. An Irish bar, a pub (which we did intend eating at but walked straight out again as it was so grotty), Thai and Italian restaurants are around the corner from the hotel. There are a couple of restaurants at beach level, and one on the pier (admission to pier 60p). There is a Harvester restaurant on the beach front in the direction of Poole but it is a considerable walk.

On our first night we walked to beach level and tried to get a table at one of the 2 choices of restaurants but despite most tables being empty at 7pm were told they were fully booked. (So annoying). We walked back to the hotel and ate in the restaurant there. This was not the cheapest option! It is expensive! Food was nice and well presented and service very good.

We got what we expected when booking Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    482
    238
    104
    59
See reviews for
261
587
33
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Bournemouth is stunningly beautiful with lovely views of the sea and the coatline. Marriott in Bourmemout is not that great. It is a old property which has not aged well. The rooms and bathrooms are tiny. I have not stayed in this size room, even in NY. It is quite walk to the rooms and you have to search for it. I had a wonderful view over the parking lot!The gym is very nice. Unfortunately, didn't get to use the pool, which looked inviting.

It is one of our appointed hotels so don't have a choice but I am sure there are much better options

Room Tip: Take a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeKAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Overall a pleasant stay....hotel is in a nice west cliff top location with path/steps or lift down ( all mobilities covered off) to beach level. Very close to international centre also.
All staff we met were polite and helpful. Our room was in the main building and on the top floor (no sea view....did not pay for or request one)...cleanliness and maid service excellent.
Room service prompt with a couple of requests. Breakfast selection fresh....choice good & service pretty steady.
This is a Victorian property which I guess you have to allow for in terms of how it's been converted by Marriott.....our room layout was a little odd with the door very close to the bed...curtains and blinds were rather poor fits.....which meant a lot of light very early.....our bathroom was huge....but with standard fittings which all looked a little lost in there.
Car parking is charged at £10 per day with no space guarantee??.....we got lucky both days but did hear a couple of guests talking about it.
I'll finish as I started.....a pleasant overall stay......the higher rates make me look a lot harder...and a couple of the above sorted would move it to great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vintage66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The welcome from all staff was excellent, Mr. Carsten Baumann was great nothing was to much trouble he was very polite and helpful. The hotel and spa complex was very clean as was our spacious room overlooking the sea. The menu was out of this world and had something for all tastes, asking for soft poached eggs, they arrived as asked for. Having stayed at many 5* hotels all over the world and in this country, never having tried a Marriott i will certainly use them again and plan to go back to Bournmouth Highcliff Marriott late September for another breack. If you like good service and like to feel like a valued customer you will certainly love this special hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucewillisCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for our first wedding anniversary, we were upgraded to a superior room with a sea view. Every member of staff we came across from the concierge to the receptionist to the maid to the waitress at breakfast, all were superb. They could not do enough for you. Parking is limited so you need to leave your keys with the concierge but there were no issues with this. If you use the lift down to the beach you can reclaim the cost against hotel bar / restaurant bills. The best restaurant we found nearby was called the Westbeach, we wanted to use the Print Room which looks great but was shut on Sunday night. We did not use the leisure club but it looked really good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Rooms are average, service is slow but friendly, serious staff shortage in my view. The same guy was at the concierge, housekeeping, bell boy and room service - amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful but lacked skill set and co-ordination. The guy at the concierge had absolutely no clue on sight seeing and places of interest. Was traveling with my daughter and needed minor customization in the menu like adding a topping on the pizza - the chef outrightly refused to this and all other requests. The location of the property is good but look and feel and service standard are surely not Marriott Standard

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacations056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here with our 3 young children and booked 2 inter-connected rooms. The rooms were fantastic, clean & comfortable. The swimming pool too is great for kids. The only slight let down was that we weren't informed of car parking costs in advance (£10 per 24hours or part thereof) and the long queues at checkout time. We loved it & will surely be back!"

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyeKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing