We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot on the South Coast - pity about the beer.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 28 August 2011

There is always something comforting and reliable about the Marriott. We are Marriott junkies and the brand is usually our first choice wherever possible. We have stayed at Marriott hotels all over the world and the Bournemouth Highcliff did not disappoint. It is superbly located on Westcliff with magnificent views over the sea and beach. The building is a beautiful historic mansion and has been sympathetically and elegantly decorated especially in the public rooms. We did not dine at the main restaurant but the menu indicated that it was of a high end standard. We ate at the Thai restaurant in the hotel where the food was authentic and delcious. Our room was huge, decorated in the ubiquitous Marriott style with those trademark super comfortable beds and crisp 300TC bed linen.

The only quibble we had was in relation to the choice of beer at the swimming pool. We though we would have a cool beer mid afternoon but the pool surround was very crowded. We decided to order a drink anyway but the only beer (lager) on offer (this is England, remember!) was BUDWEISER!! Now we appreciate that Marriott is an American brand but this was too much. Budweiser is the worst lager in the world so we did not order. The excuse offered was that it was the only one available in a plastic bottle………hmmmm……

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJL1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,323 - 1,329 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

Spent 4 night D,B&B ...
Really disapointed in the room that was provided, the small window looked out onto a wall; we had enqired about upgrade to a sea view, but not granted to us.
The dining room carpet was filthy every morning,
The smell of raw surage was strong in the corridors.
The fire alarms went off at 0145,
Most of the staff were kind and caring,
Food was good,
No draught beer for 3 nights

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We have just returned from staying here for the weekend of the Bournemouth Airshow. We have been twice before so know the set up. 5 mins walk into the town shops, lift the beach if required, nice bars and restaurants nearby. It was very busy but they would have known that already...
Good Points
1. Excellent location, great views, lovely pool area indoor and out
2. Breakfast was excellent and fresh
3. Reception staff were friendly and helpful
Bad Points
1. We found a used bar of soap and half used shower gel in shower on arrival and windows needed cleaning inside.
2. Asked for cheapest internet charges and they sold me £10 for 90 mins when after I found out that they did £3.00 for 15 mins.
3. Bar staff/food quite slow - ordered a cream tea and recieved the tea 10 mins before the scone - so had drunk the tea already!
4. Unfortunate fire alarm bell went off at 1.50am and continued for the next hour or so - apparantly a fault but most customers went to reception/outside. So not much sleep that night! Received a letter from the management through the door the next day explaining the situation but not an apology!
5. Room was not hoovered in 4 days and it needed it with two kids!
6. In our party - one room was not available until 4.45 for check in. They had a baby so found this most unacceptable.
Overall we would stay here again but I think the housekeeping needs addressing to make sure Marriott keeps the up to the standard we are used to.
Its still a fab spot in Bournemouth with great views.

Room Tip: Higher the better - room 324 or any corner room which has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We booked a 2-night weekend break through Marriott own website and got a great rate for a bb+dinner package. Not disappointed when we got there. Good location, slightly west of the pier on the cliff but very close to the lift and zig-zag road to the beach. Staff are friendly and helpful, and our room is basic but with all the facilities a 4-star should have so no complain here. Fitness facility is great including both an indoor and outdoor pools, both heated and we enjoyed on both days. Dinner and breakfast at the nicely decorated restaurant, good quality food. Last but not least, we requested late checkout but didn't expect to get it, the staff at reception said they can do 1pm as complementary and that's really really helpful for us, and a good gesture from the hotel which just makes us want to stay next time.

Only annoying thing is my keycard didn't work on both days therefore I had to go back to reception desk to get it checked and reprogrammed, but that's probably the only complain I had.

Overall a very satisfied stay, considering the money we paid it's beyond our expectation actually. Next time may get a cottage there :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Great view, the rooms are recently renovated with Marriott bedding.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas199023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Liked the hotel, I found most of what I wanted in the breakfast, location was excellent.

Most staff were awesome but both receptionist and manager somewhat careless (they became aware of issues I had with accessing wireless internet but did not reach out to
me for clarification, courtesy, etc.)

Lowlights: (1)no wireless internet in the room, and even for Platinum members, access from hotel lobby
is not for free (2) gym machines are a bit old

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Good weekend stay. Room service sandwishes were horrible but the restaurant was Excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Traveller051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £78 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing