We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made Christmas a lovely time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Made Christmas a lovely time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Visited with a company called Just You (for singles) and can find only good things to say about this Hotel. The service, the food, ambience - all excellent - will definitely visit again. All the staff went out of their way to make the experience a happy one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank step4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend Christmas with us at The Highcliff this year. It was our pleasure to host you and your fellow guests in your group.

Please do come and stay with us again soon - maybe a nice Spring break, or a Summer stay ahead of a return at Christmas?? Thank you for posting your feedback here, we appreciate your comments.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    474
    236
    102
    58
See reviews for
258
581
32
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had afternoon tea on Sunday with the rain and wind beating at the windows but the view over the coast was still spectacular. afternoon tea was fine,the usual sandwiches,scones and cakes. I was disappointed by the cakes, it seemed to be left over Christmas cake and a large piece of brownie, no patisserie or tempting delicate treats. The pastry chef could pick up some tips from the great British Bake off!!
However the staff were attentive and friendly and the champagne delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlottejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Charlotte

Thank you for your feedback and for visiting us for Afternoon Tea, I love the view from the Highcliff Lounge - Whatever the weather it is a great place to sit and watch the sea, so I am pleased that the rain didn't spoil your visit.

Your feedback on the cakes is very welcome. We certainly were not using up Christmas cake; in fact our fruit cake has always been a popular item on our afternoon tea. However we are literally just in the process of sign off of the new season's afternoon tea (tough job all this tasting) and I think that you will really like it, based upon your comments.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we see you again soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

A really great location and a really nicely furnished hotel. I have stayed here a couple of times and was very happy both times. I've said everything I want to so why oh why oh why oh why oh why oh why oh why do I now I need to write more words to meet the minimum requirement.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear RP
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review here on Tripadvisor.

I'm sorry that the system requires you to type a little bit more than you felt you needed to - but I am glad that you did! I appreciate your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed staying with us.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the Highcliff soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
210 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had a very restful stay from midday on New Year's Eve to midday on January 1st.....everything was very pleasant. We were impressed to get our rooms at midday when we were told prior that it would be 3. Used the spa area before the super afternoon tea. Rooms were comfortable. Nice canapés and kir royale before a tasty meal. The band were ok as was the disco, but I would have liked more modern music generally. Nice brunch...did not feel rushed to leave. I would definitely consider it again for new year and maybe other future events.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKKBmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Happy New Year to you - thank you for choosing to celebrate New Year with us and for taking time to provide this feedback.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the atmosphere and pace of the hotel for the duration of our New Year's package.

Thank you for your feedback on the band - we chose them for their ability to play across a range of genres and to try and please the wide age range that our event attracts - we we think they did really well, but we will certainly share your feedback with them. Your timing is perfect as we are in the process of planning our Christmas and New Year package already for Christmas 2014.

I hope that you do join us for NYE again, if not before. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Highcliff.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience! All staff we came across from the concierge, reception, dining, bar and housekeeping staff were welcoming and a credit to the Marriott ethos, nothing was too much trouble. Good to meet with the event co-ordinator over afternoon tea - freshly baked warm scones, delicious cakes and finger sandwiches. Well organised dinner, choices printed on the back of place names ensuring slick service. Food was superbly prepared and served piping hot! Compliments to the chefs and kitchen staff, everyone must be congratulated! Our table was good company and we stayed right to the end of the evening - a first for a while - enjoying the after dinner music. Food at breakfast and dinner the following day were equally excellent, perhaps how the menu selection at dinner is presented might be simplified? Stayed in a comfortably appointed sea-view room, excellent shower pressure! Would thoroughly recommend celebrating New Year here!

Room Tip: A sea view room is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to celebrate New Year "Highcliff Style" and for taking time to provide feedback on both the gala dinner and your stay with us here on Tripadvisor.

We have developed the New Year's package over a number of years, based upon our guest's feedback. It's great to hear more first hand feedback, so that we can be sure to make the right tweaks for next year.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Having never stayed at this hotel we did our research. We looked at reviews on here sorting the chaff from the weed, and made our own decisions based on the opinions of others from a much valued site, and thoughts of our own.

The deal for us, was to take in the New Year's Eve Gala, staying for two nights on the 31st & the 1st of the new year. My wife (bless her) snuck another night onto the stay, coming a day earlier which with a bit of hindsight ( of which I do not have) made lots of sense.

We arrived later in the afternoon on the 30th which was our intention to give us ample time to settle in. The reception staff were welcoming and attentive, along with the concierge who were only too willing to give us a hand if required. The room was superb with all that you could wish for - tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, with a sea view (almost within touching distance). to die for.

Arriving the day before NY, we were then able to enjoy a relaxing evening in the restaurant, the food was absolutely tops and remained the same throughout our stay. Afterwards we took a short taxi ride into town, it is well within walking distance, however with the weather being what it was, a taxi was a more sensible option.

New Years Eve was for us the best ever. We were among 170 people in the gala room, some in groups known to each other, others (us) were couples put on tables seating 10. Our table did not have one couple who were off/out of place, having said that (maybe it was us), we were so lucky to be surrounded by nice people.

One couple who have been for the last 4 years on the same table, having heard that we will book for next year, have requested our company, so I guess we are not too bad.

The food was of a very high standard and could not be faulted, the staff throughout were brilliant with smiles + is there anything else that you require. The bar service was of the same high standard, as were the staff.

The band "5th Avenue" were absolutely superb, they were professional throughout, catering for all ages, they are gems and would hope that they are there next NY's eve.

The staff throughout the Hotel were probably the best we have ever come across with nothing too much trouble. We are not the type of people who would want everyone running about for us, but they were there if you want that kind of thing.

Looking at the ratings, we did not use the spa, breakfast/food could have been a bit hotter and the same with coffee, but very edible/drinkable, and a very small moan, the staff once again excellent.

Thanks to everyone for a truly wonderful time - we will be booking again for NY's eve 2014/2015.

Room Tip: We had room 308. It is across the wide corridor from the lift, we never heard any noise from it at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear John

Thank you for choosing to celebrate New Year with us and for taking time to provide such detailed feedback - we appreciate it!

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the gala dinner. It sounds like you were in good company and have made some great friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Highcliff for this year's celebrations if not sooner.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putney, London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was our third stay at the Bournemouth Marriott, visiting for a long weekend in August 2013. Rather than using Marriott points, we pre-booked a room with a sea view. The result was the best room we have been given so far - a very spacious corner room with great ocean views.

The location is pretty central - it's an easy walk downhill to the town centre, although walking back up takes longer. Breakfast is very good although it can get busy. Make sure you get a table in the room which overlooks the sea front. We also like the bar area for drinks and nibbles before we head out for the evening. I used the outdoor pool for the first time which was relaxing (and fairly quiet) after a long walk during the day.

Service is very good - whenever we asked for extra tea or milk for the room it arrived quickly. We had bathrobes, which is always a nice touch. The only slight negative is the car park, which can run out of spaces quickly.

We plan to return in 2014 for our annual visit. It's not a cheap hotel - but it provides a lot to justify the cost.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are nice - our corner room was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay here at the Highcliff on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you consider the Highcliff to be your favourite hotel in Bournemouth.

You are quite right, our carpark can become busy at peak times, however our concierge team are here to ensure that we manage this and will park your car for you so that you can relax and check-in to the hotel without concern, I hope that you found this to be the case.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for your feedback. I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing