We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be returning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Wynyard Teesside
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will be returning!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night along with our almost 2year old daughter. We also used our Marriot rewards points for this stay.
We arrived before check in time but thought we would ask on the off chance if our room was ready which it was! We where also upgraded to a junior suite which Was very much appreciated . The reception staff where exceptional good and nothing was too much trouble!
Our room which was in the Dorchester wing was very big! Split into a seating area then double doors which opened into the bedroom area. The bed was so comfortable and provided us with a very good nights sleep. The only slight criticsum I would have wAs that the bathroom good do with modernising.
All the communal areas are lovely and modern and very relaxing with fantastic views!
The leisure facilities are superb and again have amazing views over the beach! We can't wait to return in the summer to use the outdoor pool.
We ate in the bar area on the evening where service was slightly slow however the gentleman did apoligise for this on serval ocasions and when the food came it was nice.
Breakfast the next morning was really good too! Everything you needed to set you up for the day ahead.
Overall we where really impressed by this hotel and the staff , the location is excellent and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank charlotte852003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback here on Tripadvisor Charlotte.

I am pleased that you enjoy your stay here at the Highcliff. As I write this response the sun is coming up over the bay and it looks like we are in for a great spring - so don't leave it too long before making that return trip!

Thank you again for your feedback and choosing to stay with us, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Highcliff.


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    502
    264
    125
    72
See reviews for
292
622
36
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A great place to spend a long weekend.
I traveled with my family down to Bournemouth. We arrived with at 10.00 am in the morning and did not expect to receive our room before 3.00pm. The reception instantly said that they have our room ready in just a few minutes. The concierge took great care of my son and gave him a couriering book and I felt that all the staff was very warm.
Breakfast was outstanding!
Pool is nice and warm.
My son asked already when we will come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moritz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We took a two-night break during February half-term - lusting after a warm pool, a steam room, and a comfortable bed.

We had all of that! Views out over the stormy sea, from our Cottage room. The gym is small, but very well-formed. Breakfast is superb.

The two stand-out offers? The comfortable and stylish lounge overlooking the seafront - a G&T has never tasted better.

And the staff! I know the UK is not celebrated for its 'service', but the team here take it to such a great level. I've never seen such positive professionalism.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Location is great, just a five minutes walk down the cliffs to the beach; the convenience shop and pub on the corner, ten minutes from the pier and twenty minutes walk from the middle of the shops in the town centre.

There is plenty of parking on site, at £10 per 24 hours. Slightly harder to find is on-street parking. There is free 24 hour on-street available on the same and adjoining roads, although all the spaces get taken very quickly and you may have to resort to daily restrictions of 2 hours between 10 am and 6 or 7pm. If you choose the free option, be prepared to hunt for the space and have a short walk, though. Over three nights, including the weekend, we did manage to find a space each evening.

The room we stayed in was in the Dorchester wing. This was a bit of a walk along a few corridors from the main building, involving going up and down one floor if you wanted to stay inside. The room was spacious, with a fridge, sofa, armchair, coffee table, tea and coffee making and a shower and bath. Other reviews recommend requesting a room in the main building. We didn’t see any rooms in the main building, but the reception staff were more than happy to move us when we asked if there were any available.

Facilities in the hotel are great. There’s a gym, indoor swimming pool, big hot tub, sauna, steam room and solarium. The swimming pool and hot tub have great views over the sea, so even if it’s a cold, wet day, you can be comfortable on a sun lounger by the pool.

Breakfast was very good. A great selection of cheeses, fruits, yoghurts, cereals, a hot buffet, pastries and muffins.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

On the 8th Feb my husband and I had a wedding reception at the hotel. The hotel staff provided fantastic service, including the fact that the reception was organised in only two weeks (another venue let us down). The wedding coordinator responded promptly to our enquiries and requests, provided great advice on logistical issues and made sure the room and staff were well prepared and briefed prior to the event. During the event the staff were extremely helpful and professional. our guests could not believe that we managed to organise it all in only two weeks. We would like to thank Nichola and the hotel staff for making our special day really special and I would definitely recommend the hotel as a great venue for this kind of events.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Congratulations again on your marriage!

We are pleased that we were able to help you to turn the situation around and ensure such a fantastic day for you and for your guests.

We hope to see you back at The Highcliff for your first anniversary and many more after that.

Thank you for your feedback and congratulations once more!


Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Parley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel along with our friends on my husbands birthday. Check in went smoothly and the staff were so helpful and willing to please.
The room was of a high standard , we booked this last minute and Marriott had a special offer on and we got the room breakfast for £90. Excellent value.
Breakfast was of a very high quality and ample to choose from.
The location of this hotel is literally a 5 mins walk along the seafront to the pier. Parking is available at the hotel for £10.
We would definetely stay there again .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked a night here for Valentine's weekend - paid £99 B&B on a Sunday night. We paid £30 to upgrade to a top floor sea view room on arrival, which was well worth it. Unfortunately, the hotel's crowing glory - it's sea view - was marred by the poor state of the window in our room; it was moudly, dirty, damp and poorly patched up (see photos). The reception staff were all excellent: extremely welcoming and helpful at all times. There were problems with the lift which meant we had to keep walking up and down to the 4th floor. Didn't like having to pay £10 to park; other 4* Bournemouth hotels offer free parking. The room itself was nice: a huge, comfy, king-sized bed; a clean, modern bathroom; plenty of pillows & cushions. The decor is a bit dated I suppose and some furniture a bit tired. But, more significantly, there was thick dust on the bed valance and large stains on the fabric armchairs. The communal areas of the hotel are lovely with the exception of the hideous carpet! The 'library' area is particularly nice. The leisure facilities are good but it is open to non-hotel-guests and was full of young children, which didn't make for a restful experience. The leisure staff were not friendly or helpful either and no robes/slippers are provided. Breakfast was fantastic - a huge range of food available and no supplements for menu dishes. Again, the waiting staff were very attentive. All in all, a mixed bag: we loved the unrivalled sea view but would not stay again, having had a much more positive experience at newly-refurbished Connaught Hotel the previous night.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DEA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear DEA26, thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us at the Highcliff Hotel, it is so disappointing that we have not met all of your expectations at the time of your visit.
You can be assured that today I have reviewed all of our rooms on the top floor and the room that you have stayed in is now currently being rectified.
As you have stated we are very popular within the local area in connection with our Leisure Club however moving forward we will be monitoring the number of persons we have in the Club more closely.
I would like to sincerely apologise for the level of service and product in which you have received across the hotel, you can be assured that I have personally celebrated your comments with the relevant teams as necessary and we will be learning from your other comments to ensure we are consistently meeting our guests expectation across the hotel.
It is disappointing that we were unable to resolve your challenges before your departure from us however I would like the opportunity to restore your faith in the Highcliff Hotel.
If I can request that you contact myself directly when your next looking to stay with us so I can personally oversee all necessary arrangements, please call me on 01202 557702.
I look forward in having the opportunity to welcome you back to us again in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Tony Edwards
Director Of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,026 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,993 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing