We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Highcliff for four nights from the 13th 0f April, to celebrate my husbands birthday and had a wonderful break. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, a special mention to Rebecca on reception and concierge Steve but all staff made our stay memorable. We had a sea view room which was very comfortable and clean. We particularly enjoyed the buffet style breakfast which offered a wide choice to suit everyone.If you have never stayed at the Highcliff Hotel you will not be disappointed, this is a great Hotel with views that are stunning. We look forward to a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the Hotel to take advantage of the stunning views across to the Isle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

927 - 933 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in January for an anniversary treat. It was fabulous. We had a beautiful room with a bay window overlooking the beach and as its name suggests, its on a cliff so the views are spectacular. All the expected Marriott comforts, easy check in and great service. Although the parking was quite difficult - even with their own car park, we were lucky to find one space. Its close to the town and there are some fantastic places on the beach to have breakfast. We had excellent weather and the walk along the promenade was busy but wonderful. The pool area is big and and although we never used the gym/spa - it looked great.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and the food we great. A little bit pricey, but then it is a hotel. A really nice, romantic place to stay in Bournemouth, I would most definitely go back.

Room Tip: One of the deluxe rooms at the front, its worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizveall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Lizveall,
Thank you for your post, it is always great for the team here at the Highcliff to receive such fantastic comments.
We look forward in welcoming you back to sunny Bournemouth very soon.
Next time let me know when you’re coming and we will organise that spa experience for you, we have an outside gazebo that we do massages so if the weather is nice maybe something for you.
See you soon.
Tony Edwards
Director Of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for an evening over the easter break. I must say that all staff were helpful and have a smile on their faces. The indoor and outdoor pools were fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. If one is to stay at a hotel in Bournemouth then this is the place to stay.

The only reason why I won't give the hotel an excellent rating is in regards to the breakfast set - up. There isn't a smooth flow of guests at the buffet. We did not know where to start at the buffet and weren't the only guests who were grumbling about where to start. The cereal area is hidden behind a pillar. The entire buffet is crammed in to a small area. There was an overflow area near the buffet which was empty. The entire buffet should be in that area with the exception of cereals and fruit juices. Alternatively some excess furniture should be moved to create more space.

Overall we had a good trip and plan to stay at the hotel again next month on a business trip

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakermidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

All the family just had a wonderful stay in Bournemouth the hotel was brilliant and the lead concierge Steve Pini was extremely helpful his advises and places to visit gave us the opportunity to spend a fantastic time... The region is amazing especially the Jurassic coast...
I do strongly recommend this place to stay and the food is excellent too...

Room Tip: The rooms were probably too warm so I would suggest you leave the window slightly open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Christophe M,
Thank you so much for your post, Steve is fantastic and it is great for him to hear of your experience, he certainly is passionate about making sure every guest leaves with a smile.
We all look forward in seeing you again at the Highcliff.
Tony Edwards
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for one night as as a treat. Spending two days in Bournemouth we wanted a hotel which offered spectacular views, central location and leisure facilities and this hotel fitted the bill. As always with Marriot the service was excellent with friendly, helpful staff and the level of service you would expect. My one small criticism would be noisy children playing ball games in the swimming pool. In fairness the pool staff did try to get the children to stay in one half of the pool but as their father sat and watched without comment they were fighting a losing battle. Aside from that the leisure facilities were super with a lovely view of the beach from the jacuzzi. All in all a lovely treat with a superb breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for just one night due to a business trip, I would defiantly recommend staying there for ether business or as a holiday stay. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the hotel itself was situated in a wonderful spot overlooking the sea and the views were a delight. The rooms were spacious and very clean and the hotel itself was within easy walking distance on the centre of town. The only thing I would say is that it is easy walking sown into town but it 'situated on a hill and it`s quite a walk back up to the hotel. If you do not fancy the walk back up the hill the cabs are quite plentiful and cheap enough to not have to spoil your evening. If you needed anything done Steve Pini the Lead Concierge is at hand to make sure that runs smoothly I would defiantly recommend this hotel and when I return to Bournemouth will book my stay there.

Room Tip: As for a sea view stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed at the Marriott for a Masonic Ladies Festival for two nights and I must say I enjoyed it tremendously. The food was excellent, the staff attentive and the hotel well maintained and comfortable. If I had any criticism at all it was that the rooms were a trifle too hot! Having said that, the who ambiance was an excellent experience. The hotel is very close to the town centre with spectacular views across the Solent. We would certainly stay again

Room Tip: Choose any room they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohawk1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Mohawk1946,

Thank you for your fantastic comments! It is great for the team here at the Highcliff to hear about your experience.

We look forward in being able to welcome you back to the sunny Bournemouth Marriott very soon.

Kind regards

Tony Edwards
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £76 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing