We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time in Bournemouth”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My disabled husband and I stayed at the Highcliff Marriott last weekend. This was the first time we'v visited Bournemouth and the hotel's position is absolutely perfect. It was great for my husband as we were able to get right down to the promenade and beach via the funicular railway. I had booked a wheelchair accessible room so I was a little disappointed to have to move two chairs into the corridor to get my husband's chair to the bed! (Try reading the guest profiles housekeeping!)
We ate in the bar on the first evening and as the mussels weren't available I joined my husband in ordering the salmon. The French fries didn't appear until we were halfway through the dish which was pretty dismal! Soggy stir fry and under seasoned salmon. The next night we had a room service steak burger - dreadful bread and chunky chips straight from the freezer! Good fruit plate and my husband enjoyed his brownie.
The staff were all very pleasant and efficient despite computer problems and overcharging.
We would give the hotel a return visit but next time only eat breakfast which was excellent. Particularly the freshly prepared omellet!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Jane

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for making your first trip to Bournemouth.
I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay, but I am sorry to read about a couple of things that we could have clearly done better for you.

Our accessible rooms are often used by fully mobile guests at some point during any given week, when additional furniture is often requested. You are completely correct, that this should have been removed in readiness for your visit and I am sorry that you had to do this yourself.

I was sorry to read your feedback about two really popular dishes on our menus, both of which are chosen with some frequency by our regular guests and are currently the No1 and No2 selling dishes on our room service menu. I am really sorry that your personal experience was no so positive; We have recently reduced the soy based marinade for the salmon based upon recent feedback, whilst seasoning is a personal thing, we had perhaps gone too far the other way with the batch that was prepared during your stay, this is great feedback – thank you. Our burgers buns are brioche based, supplied by a local artisan bakery and have been well received, I am sorry if this was not to your liking.
Thank you again for choosing the Highcliff and for your feedback which I have shared with our chef today. I am delighted that you intend to return to the hotel and we look forward to being able to welcome you and your husband back to Bournemouth.
Kind regards

Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    494
    257
    121
    70
See reviews for
278
619
36
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife I and our 21 month daughter stayed at the highcliffe for a long weekend in April. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, everything was perfect. We have stayed at many nice, top hotels throughout the world, but the service at the highcliffe was the best we have had. Charming, attentive staff in. Every department. Our room was huge, great for a cot. The restaurant food is superb, we had lunch twice and it was delicious. We stayed in the bar in the evenings and it was very relaxing and a good atmosphere, we plan to come back many times in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
RupertM,
Thank you for your post, it is fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward in welcoming you back to us again soon.
See you again back at the Highcliff.
Tony Edwards
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Highcliff for four nights from the 13th 0f April, to celebrate my husbands birthday and had a wonderful break. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, a special mention to Rebecca on reception and concierge Steve but all staff made our stay memorable. We had a sea view room which was very comfortable and clean. We particularly enjoyed the buffet style breakfast which offered a wide choice to suit everyone.If you have never stayed at the Highcliff Hotel you will not be disappointed, this is a great Hotel with views that are stunning. We look forward to a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the Hotel to take advantage of the stunning views across to the Isle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in January for an anniversary treat. It was fabulous. We had a beautiful room with a bay window overlooking the beach and as its name suggests, its on a cliff so the views are spectacular. All the expected Marriott comforts, easy check in and great service. Although the parking was quite difficult - even with their own car park, we were lucky to find one space. Its close to the town and there are some fantastic places on the beach to have breakfast. We had excellent weather and the walk along the promenade was busy but wonderful. The pool area is big and and although we never used the gym/spa - it looked great.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and the food we great. A little bit pricey, but then it is a hotel. A really nice, romantic place to stay in Bournemouth, I would most definitely go back.

Room Tip: One of the deluxe rooms at the front, its worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizveall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Lizveall,
Thank you for your post, it is always great for the team here at the Highcliff to receive such fantastic comments.
We look forward in welcoming you back to sunny Bournemouth very soon.
Next time let me know when you’re coming and we will organise that spa experience for you, we have an outside gazebo that we do massages so if the weather is nice maybe something for you.
See you soon.
Tony Edwards
Director Of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for an evening over the easter break. I must say that all staff were helpful and have a smile on their faces. The indoor and outdoor pools were fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. If one is to stay at a hotel in Bournemouth then this is the place to stay.

The only reason why I won't give the hotel an excellent rating is in regards to the breakfast set - up. There isn't a smooth flow of guests at the buffet. We did not know where to start at the buffet and weren't the only guests who were grumbling about where to start. The cereal area is hidden behind a pillar. The entire buffet is crammed in to a small area. There was an overflow area near the buffet which was empty. The entire buffet should be in that area with the exception of cereals and fruit juices. Alternatively some excess furniture should be moved to create more space.

Overall we had a good trip and plan to stay at the hotel again next month on a business trip

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakermidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

All the family just had a wonderful stay in Bournemouth the hotel was brilliant and the lead concierge Steve Pini was extremely helpful his advises and places to visit gave us the opportunity to spend a fantastic time... The region is amazing especially the Jurassic coast...
I do strongly recommend this place to stay and the food is excellent too...

Room Tip: The rooms were probably too warm so I would suggest you leave the window slightly open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Christophe M,
Thank you so much for your post, Steve is fantastic and it is great for him to hear of your experience, he certainly is passionate about making sure every guest leaves with a smile.
We all look forward in seeing you again at the Highcliff.
Tony Edwards
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for one night as as a treat. Spending two days in Bournemouth we wanted a hotel which offered spectacular views, central location and leisure facilities and this hotel fitted the bill. As always with Marriot the service was excellent with friendly, helpful staff and the level of service you would expect. My one small criticism would be noisy children playing ball games in the swimming pool. In fairness the pool staff did try to get the children to stay in one half of the pool but as their father sat and watched without comment they were fighting a losing battle. Aside from that the leisure facilities were super with a lovely view of the beach from the jacuzzi. All in all a lovely treat with a superb breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,001 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing